Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever feel like you're an alcoholic?

• 29-09-2011 3:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭

I don't know what it is but lately I cannot go out without getting absolutely shítfaced.

Now don't get me wrong - I don't mean shítfaced to the point of annoying people or shítting myself, but I just mean getting merry and lashing back the pints.

I'm just at that stage now where I feel that I'm drinking too heavily....am I alone in thinking like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Hasmunch

am I alone in thinking like this?

You're not alone on this. I think you are drinking too much as well!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

How old are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

OPENROAD wrote: »
    How old are you?

I don't think it makes a difference, but mid twenties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I don't know what it is but lately I cannot go out without getting absolutely shítfaced.

Now don't get me wrong - I don't mean shítfaced to the point of annoying people or shítting myself, but I just mean getting merry and lashing back the pints.

I'm just at that stage now where I feel that I'm drinking too heavily....am I alone in thinking like this?

What do you drink, Pints, shorts or mixture?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

I think your username answers the question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

I don't think it makes a difference, but mid twenties.

Actually would have thought it would...would it not? Late teens/early 20's I know that was pretty much everyone I knew....mid to late 20's ..well that is a different case.

Edit: How many pints would you have on a night out and how many times a week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

hondasam wrote: »
    What do you drink, Pints, shorts or mixture?

Pints. Not into the spirits at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Would you consider drinking bottles, this would reduce the amount of alcohol you are drinking.
    I don't mean drink two bottles at a time btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I was finding i was drinking too much, Generally having 12 cans of a friday. So i stopped the every week stuff and now keep it to once maybe twice a month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

To blame so-called alcoholism is the easy way out. Papering over the cracks if you will. If you're genuinely concerned you need to think about why you drink so much more than the fact that you do!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

whats the difference between an alcoholic and an irish person?
    nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

yes, yes and yes.

only social drinking for now on, if ever... *forever_alone.jpeg*.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

whitesmile wrote: »
    Yup, what's the difference? I'm just curious about that.

You have to scratch the grey bit with a coin..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭Rick Deckard

I'm more worried about being a shopaholic with the amount of alcohol i buy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Ever feel like you're an alcoholic?

Felt like it for years, not anymore though :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Alcoholic? No.

But I do feel like there's too much blood in my alcohol system sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 MARTYRYAN

Saila wrote: »
    whats the difference between an alcoholic and an irish person?
    nothing

Alcoholics go to meetings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

I don't drink anymore.

I don't drink any less either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

I never really worried about it, but I was getting concerned about my OHs regular drinking and behavour when drunk in public, but I glossed over it because I knew there was to be a steamy night in store, so kept plying her with triple vodkas instead of single shots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Too old to keep up the level of drinking I was before. Might have a few oncein a while but cant get ****faced on a regular basis anymore. Started to get fat with the booze and started to be ****ed in work. Also Ive had a girlfriend for three years ... which coincides with me stopping drinking..... mmmmm ......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

im the same, no control, **** it enjoy yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

fair play, admittance is the first step :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

I was finding i was drinking too much, Generally having 12 cans of a friday. So i stopped the every week stuff and now keep it to once maybe twice a month.

Your problem was you weren't drinking enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I never really felt it myself as such, but i did get a bit of a shock when my current girlfriend moved in a few years back and pointed out that i drank 7 nights a week! Strange as it sounds, i hadn't actually noticed.
    Only drink at the weekends now, unless there's something on.......like the telly! (only joking, weekends it is these days- charlie sheen, eat your heart out!:))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭billybudd

Upon waking up in a ditch somewhere between newcastle west and castlemahon i did ponder it walking the rest of the way home, no real conclusion reached.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭readmylips

OP, im with ya...been wondering the same myself :)
    dont go out too many weekends but when i do...the next morn is generally...uh, did i SAY that, or did i do that. really?? YIKES.! Then i spend the whole day trying to forget what i dont want to remember :)

in saying that, weekend starts on a friday right ???? !!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

You get pissed - it is the aim of the thing. Avoid the temptation to knock back a stifferener in the morning (avoid the jokes, kids). Unless we're talking dependency on the drug, i.e. you can't leave the house without having a beer on board or severe mood changes then just continue being an average Irish pisshead.
    /Float leaves to find an early house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭herosa

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,875 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

Drink water every 2 pints or so. Makes the nights more fun cos you are on a better buzz for longer and makes the mornings much less harsh. Cereal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 SarkyPr!ck

I wouldn't call myself as an alcoholic but I am currently doing a college assignment in the pub on campus at 10.45.........:(
    Try eating a good bit of food before going drinking, helps not make you a complete mess 2 hours into the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

I've often wondered that myself. Usually the morning after a heavy night out!

Wouldn't call it alcoholism but it is a self control thing. Some people go crazy when they get into a McDonalds, others it's the pub. It's more a case of over indulgence in my opinion.

If you're not dependent on it to get though the day/week then you're not an alcoholic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

psst..i love you..

no never..

mconigol wrote: »

If you're not dependent on it to get though the day/week then you're not an alcoholic.

http://www.alcoholism-and-drug-addiction-help.com/symptoms-of-alcoholism.html

See no 1,2 and the paragraph after no 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Time to get a t-shirt "I don't drink a lot, I spill most of it."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

herosa wrote: »
    Heh according to that im not an alco.... What do i win?

A free pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

I reckon if you start thinking 'I'm drinking too much' then you're drinking too much. Whether you're in any way at risk is up to yourself. If it bothers you try cutting back a bit.

I went mad on vodka once for a few months, not a messy drunk or anything at all but once I started to question the amount I figured it was time to dial it back a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Does your mood alter noticeably? Do you become agressive, maudlin, any mood swings?

Can you get up and be productive after a bevvy?

Are your friends shying away from you?

Are you drinking with strangers/alone?

You know best yourself but you can go through phases of lashing the gargle out of it without it being alcoholism.

the main thing is to get back in charge. If you are waking up the next morning with excessive guilt (I think you are always guilty after a feed of pints because your system has been depressed by alcohol) about being ratted, blowing cash then you need to reign it in. If you think there is an underlying cause maybe talk to a counsellor. I think people are afraid to seek help because they'll be told to stop drinking. Nip it in the bud before you get to the point you have to stop. identify the causes of you getting bladdered and address them.

All of the above advice is personal, untrained unqualified opinion. Other here may profess to have expertise and I'd defer to them. Also they may wish to counter my post, which they are free to do (in a nice way).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Don't do anything drastic.
    Stay in this weekend, then next week when you're out, you can say (before taking a sip of your first pint of the night) "Jaysus lads, this is my first pint in 2 weeks!"

The lads will be seriously impressed.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I did once, but then after a year without drink I learned drink itself wasn't the problem but my attitude towards it. Been drinking again since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Chains

My own two cents on this:

I think that if you can manage your relationships and responsibilities and they don't slip from alcohol usage you aren't an alcoholic.

Otherwise I think you should look at cutting back, and finding out what works for you.

And that you should do at least one 'No pants oclock' a week to keep the craic mighty :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

you know when you are an alco when your mates dont put you into a taxi, they pour you into the taxi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Remember, your not really drunk until you can't lie on the floor without holding on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Woke up in a graveyard the morning after my leaving results. No idea where I was or how I got there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

Wattle wrote: »
    Woke up in a graveyard the morning after my leaving results. No idea where I was or how I got there.

Zombie