Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

99 peougeot 206 broken into-HELP

• 28-09-2011 6:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44

hi lads first off i have no idea about cars,soto explain my problem ,car got broken into last night the 99 206 first they pulled out the top of the door and slipped their hand down to unlock it so that will need to be repaired,then they pulled the wires and ignition all out from under the sterring wheel so the ignition is all screwed up and they also tore the middle part of the sterring wheel where the horn is half off, so have ye any idea the cost

for the door to be fixed
    the wiring and ignition
    and the horn bit-will i need a whole new sterring wheel?

also the guards took it down to little island cork, how much would it be to get it towed back to the city centre?

sorry for the long post and help would be great thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 gym bunny

any ideas any at all :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭eurokev

jeez theres an awful lot of this stuff happening in your area, little island/glanmire.

Sorry to say but its more or less a write off to be honest, the money it would cost would be better spent on a different car,probably looking at about 1500 at least, dont know from personal experience thank god but from a friend. Pity. Unless you can get someone handy to do it for you. get parts from scrapyard or something

Sorry op

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 gym bunny

thanks eurokev,well the area i live in is shandon street area in the city thats where it happened the guards took it to little island for evidence,i say its not even worth goin through my insurance i dont wanna lose my no claims bonus for a car worth only 1000 euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

hey hang on, it's maybe not all that bad.

Try bending the door back - you should be able to get it "mostly" right. Failing that, a door from a scrapped car might cost 50 quid.

Does the steering wheel have an airbag ? Sounds like it may not, in which case replace the wheel with one from a scrapped car (20 quid) or a third party item like a Momo (150 quid). If the wheel is airbagged, then you can get one from a scrapper for perhaps 80 quid although there are certain procedures in removing/fitting airbags.

Wiring under the dash... if nothing's broken apart, it might just be a matter of snapping everything back into place; if wires are cut they're easily spliced together. That would be the least of your problems. Unless the ignition barrel has been destroyed etc. Even then, easily replaced with second-hand parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭McP2011

You would get it fixed for a maximum of 350 or so.