Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Northern Irish farmer tells Rihanna to get off his land.

• 27-09-2011 7:21pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2042412/Rihannas-scantily-clad-We-Found-Love-video-halted-disapproving-farmer.html

I don't know whether to laugh or cry or feel embarrassed or what. :rolleyes:

"I never heard of Rihanna until someone called me requesting the use of my land. I knew on Monday who she was. Someone explained she was as big as it gets as far as pop stars were concerned. I am a bit illiterate about those issues."

:pac: What tv channels does he have, rte1 net2 tv3 and tg4? (it probably is seriously) :P

Imagine a mega superstar multi-million dollar shoot being interuppted and told to stop by a farmer telling her to cover up. They could have had millions on the line there. I think that nobody is ever going to shoot a music video like that in Ireland again because of this.

I wonder why they quit with no arguments, maybe the shoot wasn't going too well anyway. Or maybe these people are the type of people who are really creative and wouldn't ever risk get into an argument or getting Rihanna upset or something like that. What a strange occurance. I hope he didn't ruin an amazing video... she wasn't even dressed that scantily.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 687 ✭✭✭headmaster

Who the hell is rhinonna, or whatever she's/he's called? What's more, what the hell were they doing on the mans property without permission? If this star was as big as you say, why didn't they organise the shooting properly? Those people have a lot to answer for, good enough for them if they were shot at, or dogs set on them, all within the law of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭JohnDee

DUP man says "No" shocker :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭emanresu

"I never heard of Rihanna until someone called me requesting the use of my land. I knew on Monday who she was. Someone explained she was as big as it gets as far as pop stars were concerned. I am a bit illiterate about those issues."
    What tv channels does he have, rte1 net2 tv3 and tg4? (it probably is seriously)
    He's a DUP Alderman. I'm fairly sure he doesn't have any of those channels anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭JohnDee

How come Rihanna had to come all the way to county Down to do some field filming anyway?? What's so special about this guys field?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Good grief! such an ole prude.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭SuperInfinity

headmaster wrote: »
    Who the hell is rhinonna, or whatever she's/he's called? What's more, what the hell were they doing on the mans property without permission? If this star was as big as you say, why didn't they organise the shooting properly? Those people have a lot to answer for, good enough for them if they were shot at, or dogs set on them, all within the law of course.

uhh... he did give them permission to use his field and was expecting payment for it. However it was done on an ad hoc, verbal basis. You didn't fully read the article (though I have to admit it's not so easy to read the article when there is a large picture between every two lines in places).

edit: There appear to be conflicting stories, on CNN his wife implies that she went topless first and this is the reason he first complained. If she was topless before that and not after, then I think it makes it very different. However the Daily Mail and others clearly say that it was the top alone that got him riled up... they were there also. http://edition.cnn.com/2011/09/27/showbiz/uk-rihanna-video/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Madd Finn

Fair play to the girl!

Anyone prepared to frolic in a field in North Antrim in late September without so much as a woolly jumper is a tougher man than me!

Brrrrr!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Typical Daily Mail hypocrisy, hype up a story about how outrageous it was for a singer to be frolicking in a field in a skimpy outfit and then just to prove how unbecoming the whole episode was, they print a pile of photos so their prim and proper Home Counties readers can see how offensive the whole charade was.

And of course the DUP farmer stuck around gawking at her to make sure that he was outraged as well. If he never heard of her, why didn't he feck off and feed the pigs or milk the cows?

Its what I would expect from that neck of the woods,its a bit of a bible bashing area!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭IRE60

Only trying to lend her a Red Hand - 'bout ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

headmaster wrote: »

apparently they production team did seek permission and the farmer knew about it , he stumbled :rolleyes: across the shoot while going to fetch his tractor and was scandalised at what he saw , not sure whether his intervention resulted in the negotiated fee becoming null and void , while those scotts presbyterians up north are god fearing puritans , thier pretty worldly when it comes to money

irishh_bob wrote: »
    apparently they production team did seek permission and the farmer knew about it , he stumbled :rolleyes: across the shoot while going to fetch his tractor and was scandalised at what he saw , not sure whether his intervention resulted in the negotiated fee becoming null and void , while those scotts presbyterians up north are god fearing puritans , thier pretty worldly when it comes to money

He did raise the issue about how he didn't know whether he'd be paid now... sort of indicating how he didn't say/agree to anything about the contract being null and void. :o

‘I have not received any payment at this moment in time and I don’t know if I will be paid.’

Leaving the door open, good man yerself. ;) I think for him to even raise that possibility now... :rolleyes:

'Just as he was passing by on his tractor, she threw off her top and bra for the benefit of the rolling cameras.'

Just coincidentally passing by on his tractor looking out the window... :rolleyes:

So the Daily Mail is now saying that it was after she was topless. In fairness, I don't think it was so bad if it was after she had gone topless. The Daily Mail would be an amazing paper if it just got more consistent and gave the real story more from the start. But the Daily Mail is firmly getting behind him now, so they want to make him look better by making it prominent about how she went topless. Oh Daily Mail, when will you ever learn? :rolleyes:

However the Irish Examiner yesterday said it was just because of her skimpy top. So which is it? The farmer was speaking on the Joe Duffy show, and if he had been saying clearly it was after she went topless, surely the Irish Examiner would have picked up on that and said it? I know these conservative old types... and wouldn't discount that he told to her get off just because of her skimpy top as was reported at first. Maybe he was going up in his tractor to tell her to cover up... and as he was coming up she went topless. :P

The Times also reported the same thing:

Mr Graham, who owns 60 acres at Clandeboye outside Bangor was just about to head for home when he saw Rihanna in her bikini. “I realised things had got to a stage which were not acceptable to me, Things became inappropriate and I asked the film crew to stop," he said.

The plot thickens...

It could be that the farmer didn't want to mention her being topless, as a God-fearing DUP christian doesn't mention such things about ladies. That was probably it. But you'd think the photographers and others on the scene would say it how it happened initially. Also, how come they seem to only have one photo of her topless... >_>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭InigoMontoya

'Just as he was passing by on his tractor, she threw off her top and bra for the benefit of the rolling cameras.'

Just coincidentally passing by on his tractor looking out the window... :rolleyes:
    To be fair, when you're driving a vehicle it's generally good practice to look out the window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2042412/Rihannas-scantily-clad-We-Found-Love-video-halted-disapproving-farmer.html

I don't know whether to laugh or cry or feel embarrassed or what. :rolleyes:

:pac: What tv channels does he have, rte1 net2 tv3 and tg4? (it probably is seriously) :P

Imagine a mega superstar multi-million dollar shoot being interuppted and told to stop by a farmer telling her to cover up. They could have had millions on the line there. I think that nobody is ever going to shoot a music video like that in Ireland again because of this.

I wonder why they quit with no arguments, maybe the shoot wasn't going too well anyway. Or maybe these people are the type of people who are really creative and wouldn't ever risk get into an argument or getting Rihanna upset or something like that. What a strange occurance. I hope he didn't ruin an amazing video... she wasn't even dressed that scantily.

I have hundreds of channels and I have no idea what she looks like. could be black or white. she is only of interest to teenagers.

Fuinseog wrote: »
    I have hundreds of channels and I have no idea what she looks like. could be black or white. she is only of interest to teenagers.

Well, you don't have/watch any of the typical music channels because she is on there all the time (- perhaps literally, ie. on one of the music stations all the time). She is also always on tabloid papers and magazines, and in broadsheets often also.

Have you heard of Lady Gaga? Madonna? Nirvana? The Rolling Stones? Mariah Carey? Michael Jackson? Man. United? MTV? Microsoft? Bill Gates?

I would say at least 98%+ of people over 10 and under 30 have heard of her. I'm not in any way endorsing her or saying you should know about her, just that she's everywhere and the vast majority of people do, which is at odds with your post.