Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IRELAND - HOME SWEET HOME

• 27-09-2011 3:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭

The only place where........

• When you were young, you went to bed when Glenroe was over,

•If you die from alcohol poisoning, you're considered a lightweight,

•'**** off' means 'Are you serious?',

•The person that you insult most is probably your best friend,

•Saying 'I will yea' means that you definitely won't,
    "**** it, its grand' means that you couldn't be bothered finishing it properly,

• 'Hes fond of a drink' means he suffers from severe life-threatening alcoholism,

• Saying you're going for a drink means you might not be seen again for 3 days,

• Crisps are called 'Taytos' and fizzy drinks are called 'minerals',

• 'For the craic' is the best reason for doing anything,

• The best cure for a hangover is more drink,

• Nobody can go a day without saying 'Jaysus',

• 'Meeting' has a double meaning,

• Tea is the solution to every problem,

• And water is the solution to every GAA injury,

• "I got stuck behind a tractor' is a perfectly valid reason for being late,

• We eat Tayto sambos for lunch, and ham sandwiches on the way to Croke Park,

• You can insert the name of a gardening tool into any sentence and it still makes sense, e.g. 'I had a rake of drink last night' or "I'll be out in a minute, I'm just shoveling down the dinner',

• GAA is considered religion,

• Its perfectly acceptable to call your mother 'mammy' even though you are a fully grown adult,

• Saying 'Now we're sucking diesel' means that you are happy with the outcome of the situation,

• Drinking 'tae' is everyone's favourite past time,

• You're scared of the wooden spoon,

• The word 'like' goes in every sentence,

• You can say "Any craic' to a garda and you won't get arrested,

• 'The dogs' bollocks' means something brilliant!!..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

welcome to last week on facebook

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Get a blog, take it back to facebook, go away, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

This isnt Facebook. I see that sh!te enough there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Something about facebook and bollocks and feck off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Glenroe?
    who drinks tea, coffee is the best.

I really hate being Irish. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

This thread isn't......shudder...sucking diesel.

An example of why I closed my facebook account.

chin_grin wrote: »
    I really hate being Irish. :(

I really love being Irish.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

Taken from Dumb/Great Facebook Status {merge}thread.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=74619727&postcount=862
    flyaway. wrote: »
    IRELAND - HOME SWEET HOME......... The only place where........ • When you were young, you went to bed when Glenroe was over, • If you die from alcohol poisoning, you're considered a lightweight, • '**** off' means 'Are you serious?', ... ... • The person that you insult most is probably your best friend, • Saying 'I will yea' means that you definitely won't, • "**** it, its grand' means that you couldn't be bothered to finish it properly, • 'He's fond of a drink' means he suffers from severe life-threatening alcoholism, • Saying you're going for a drink means you might not be seen again for 3 days, • Crisps are called 'Taytos' and fizzy drinks are called 'minerals', • 'For the craic' is the best reason for doing anything, • Nobody can go a day without saying 'Jaysus', • Tea is the solution to every problem, • And water is the solution to every GAA injury, • "I got stuck behind a tractor' is a perfectly valid reason for being late, • We eat Tayto sambos for lunch, and ham sandwiches on the way to Croke Park, • You can insert the name of a gardening tool into any sentence and it still makes sense, e.g. 'I had a rake of drink last night' or "I'll be out in a minute, I'm just shoveling down the dinner', • GAA is considered religion, • Its perfectly acceptable to call your mother 'mammy' even though you are a fully grown adult, • Saying 'Now we're sucking diesel' means that you are happy with the outcome of the situation, • Drinking 'tae' is everyone's favourite past time, • You're scared of the wooden spoon, • The word 'like' goes in every sentence, • You can say "Any craic' to a garda and you won't get arrested, • ♥ Proud 2 b Irish!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

hondasam wrote: »
    I really love being Irish.:)

Well good for you!

<grumbles>

Ah just we're not really that special. It's the isms I f*cking hate though. Sh!t like the list above. Makes me cringe.

Well good for you!

<grumbles>

Ah just we're not really that special. It's the isms I f*cking hate though. Sh!t like the list above. Makes me cringe.

It's just a silly list and means nothing to most of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

WIZE wrote: »
    • GAA is considered religion,

Is that because like religion most 'fans' only attend events once or twice per year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Their used to be a group with it being about country folk which was funny enough, But these days idiots seem to want to post any sort of rubbish to get likes, Deleted every friend who posted that this week, Cant stand those or status shuffle posts if its not yours dont post in is my motto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

If you've not joined Facebook you can't be deleted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Well good for you!

<grumbles>

No, were not that special but we are our own favourite topic of conversation, which kind of makes us special.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

What a shower of grumps there is in AH lately, don't mind them OP. Eire abu!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CHealy

Title for this should be something along the lines of "Kerry - Home Sweet Home" cause the stuff in it belong down the bogs.

Iv never watched Glenroe, I never say "Jaysus", i cant remember a time I ever used or heard "I was stuck behind a tractor" as an excuse, I really really hate GAA so that takes about another three off the list. If I ever heard any grown adult calling their Mother "mammy" id be inclined to give them a slap, the only time iv ever heard "now were sucking diesel" being said was when we went to Mayo on a school tour and the instructer at whatever place we stayed was delighted with our football game. And finally, to put the bullet in it, tea is ok, but coffee is far superior to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

I genuinely smiled at this. Then everyone started yapping on about ****ebook. Luckily I dont ever look at whats posted on facebook so I didn't see this, thus it wasn't ruined for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Sooopie

Mega Chin wrote: »
    This isnt Facebook. I see that sh!te enough there

this thread makes me happy i am not on facebook

if thats the ffing sh1te that ya'll entertain yerselves with

jesus christ

Fcuking students.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Edz87 wrote: »
    Fcuking students.....

Only if they're 17 or above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

The word 'like' goes in every sentence,
    That happens in America.
    "I was like 'talk to the hand' and she was like 'don't even go there' and I was like 'not even' and she was like 'oh my God' ".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

cocoshovel wrote: »
    I genuinely smiled at this. Then everyone started yapping on about ****ebook. Luckily I dont ever look at whats posted on facebook so I didn't see this, thus it wasn't ruined for me.

Same here, was gonna say the same thing :)