Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

EXPOSED - Ireland's Secret Cults - TV3, 9pm

• 26-09-2011 7:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭

Anyone planning on watching this?

As an ex-member of one of these cults, I'm very interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

peanuthead wrote: »

As an ex-member of one of these cults, I'm very interested.

Which would be? and please don't say the Catholic Church because you know well that's not what this show will be about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

tvnutz wrote: »
    Which would be? and please don't say the Catholic Church because you know well that's not what this show will be about.

Em, I'm not sure whether your post is supposed to sound like you're being smart or whether you might just be a little ignorant....

I'm an ex-member of one of the cults being discussed on the show. As already said above.

The Catholic Church are not being discussed on the show as it is, as the title may suggest, about secret cults in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭themadhair

Anyone planning on watching this?
    Yes. Wondering how my ugly mug will look on the screen tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Em, I'm not sure whether your post is supposed to sound like you're being smart or whether you might just be a little ignorant....

I'm an ex-member of one of the cults being discussed on the show. As already said above.

The Catholic Church are not being discussed on the show as it is, as the title may suggest, about secret cults in Ireland.

Ye I know,but I just generally on boards when someone says something like your post,its generally always about the church,not that I'm massively religious or anything but it grow tiresome.

Fair enough,out of interest what cult was it,if you don't mind saying? Going to watch it myself now.

themadhair wrote: »
    Yes. Wondering how my ugly mug will look on the screen tbh.

Wow, fair play, which religion if you don't mind me asking?

tvnutz wrote: »
    Ye I know,but I just generally on boards when someone says something like your post,its generally always about the church,not that I'm massively religious or anything but it grow tiresome.

Fair enough,out of interest what cult was it,if you don't mind saying? Going to watch it myself now.

Palmarian Church.

Wow, fair play, which religion if you don't mind me asking?
    Scientology.
    Palmarian Church.
    I remember when an ex-member of that tried to emulate the anon protests. Looking really scary in a mask in the middle of a housing estate was a really silly idea....
    Found the video:

The opening segment really laid into the House of Prayer. Discussed the apocalyptic conspiratorial messages, the cash and the mansions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Jaysis I've never heard of the palmerians! :eek:

amdublin wrote: »
    The woman on now is really painting the picture.

Scientology.

I remember when an ex-member of that tried to emulate the anon protests. Looking really scary in a mask in the middle of a housing estate was a really silly idea....
    Found the video:

Yeah that was foolish to be honest and doesn't represent what most palmarians are like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

Why are those who are people protesting about scientology calling themselves Anonymous.....

Who is your woman Christina Gallagher :confused: Like where did she come from :confused:

Ha ha ha that steward is complete headcase! :cool:

The Chinese are coming!

Like where did she come from :confused:
    Near Ballina iirc.

The Chinese are coming!

The chinese?

Yeah the Chinese.

Classic :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

There's a lot of "evil" background music on this show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

Lol at how thick these people are

That's grossly unfair. If you talk to any of the ex-members it becomes obvious that they are not thick. Their only crime was being human.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

They both managed to get jobs as TV3 "journalists" though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jay-me

Jobs reserved for the most intelligent in Irish society :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

1. That picture was well worth €250, I'll carry it with me next time I go to the Chinese take-away and see how fast it can make them run.

2. The priest should be sent packing for starters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,016 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Me either

Some nice gaffs that Gallagher lady owns

Are the priests that work with her legit catholic priests?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 dshamrock2000

That is shocking, that priest should be strung up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭MrsG09

That is shocking, that priest should be strung up

I can't believe that man is still being allowed to represent the catholic church. It's absolutely shocking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

The opening segment really laid into the House of Prayer. Discussed the apocalyptic conspiratorial messages, the cash and the mansions.

How does this make them different to any religion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

dorgasm wrote: »
    Why are those who are people protesting about scientology calling themselves Anonymous.....
    Because they are, and because the scientology cult tends to attack you directly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Who knows they might climb to the mighty heights of expose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 JDP123

Yeah that was foolish to be honest and doesn't represent what most palmarians are like.
    I think you're pretty small minded to assume this was silly when you don't know the background of it. I know all people involved in that video and the reason for doing what they did. It was a peaceful protest which ended in a letter of protest being delivered. The masks were simply for aninimaty from judgement outside and inside the Palmarian Church. They have been judged enough by non Palmarians when they were in the church, and now by Palmarians for leaving, so surely they are allowed? The suit was a sign of respect for the Palmarian norms and rules where they insist faithful dress modestly and wear their best when in the church grounds and attending mass?? Surely this was the most dignified protest these people could make in light of their lives and families being torn apart by this cult?

JDP123 wrote: »
    I think you're pretty small minded to assume this was silly when you don't know the background of it. I know all people involved in that video and the reason for doing what they did. It was a peaceful protest which ended in a letter of protest being delivered. The masks were simply for aninimaty from judgement outside and inside the Palmarian Church. They have been judged enough by non Palmarians when they were in the church, and now by Palmarians for leaving, so surely they are allowed? The suit was a sign of respect for the Palmarian norms and rules where they insist faithful dress modestly and wear their best when in the church grounds and attending mass?? Surely this was the most dignified protest these people could make in light of their lives and families being torn apart by this cult?

My post was rushed, but I still stand by what I said.

I too know the people involved in making that DVD.

And I can't help feeling a few things about it:

1. It was done purely for show and for the purpose of making a video or indulging in a pastime, if you get my reference from that.

2. If it was supposed to be a protest, why was it not done as the palmarians were entering or leaving the church? Why when there was nobody around?

3. These lads were going for the shock factor. The mask and the suit? Yes, the mask was for anonymity that's fine, but why the most startling, fear inducing one they could find? The suit was symbolic as a lack of respect? No, sorry I think that was just to heighten the shock factor. All makes for very clever media production.

4. These people involved in the DVD are also supposed to run a group where ex-palmarians meet and talk about what they can do to stop the Palmarians. I tried to get involved with that group and got as far as a phone call with one of the main instigators and I was never contacted again. If they were so hell bent on protesting against the church would they not be interested in our input/help?

I'm not going to attack back and call you the narrow minded one for not thinking that I might actually know more than I let on because, to be fair to you, my post was short and nondescript.

But believe me when I say I know what I'm talking about and as an ex-palmarian myself who has genuinely followed groups claiming to want to go up against this church - nobody does. They're all too afraid and with the greatest respect, I think your friends are angry, angry men who get notions of 'taking this church down' every so often, and when they do, we get a youtube video. But that's it.

And from the one particular member I spoke to, who is a lovely person and to be fair understands the underbelly of that church far more than I do (and has every right to feel the way he does) - he needs to look after himself and needs to actually rescue his own mind from that church before he starts thinking about his family and friends.

It's a rough topic and emotions are high and I commend your loyalty to your friend coming on here and fighting back at things that are said about him. People like him need people like you. Trust me, I know.