Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mary Davis and her role on Quangos(S. Ross)

• 25-09-2011 7:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭

Shane Ross TD has a revealing piece on Mary Davis and her role on Quangos.
    see link.

Mary (a PE teacher) was on the board of
    • Irish Civil Service Building Society a Bank of Ireland subsidiary till 2010
    • DAA ( 5 years)
    • The Fianna Fail government appointed her as a director of Stadium Ireland, more commonly known as the "Bertie Bowl".
    • post on the board of the Broadcasting Commission of Ireland.

Raises some questions.

Why is Mary ommiting most of this from her CV?
    Was she qualified for these roles?
    How did Mary get these roles?
    How much Money did she earn?
    What did she do while in these roles?
    What are Mary Davis connections?
    As a former PE teacher, Mary is certainly qualified for membership of the Sports Council, but it is difficult to understand why she is not proud of her place on the board of the Irish Civil Service Building Society. It's even more difficult to understand as it is a Bank of Ireland satellite. It fails to merit a mention.
    When Mary departed in 2010, directors of the Bank of Ireland subsidiary were being paid €25,000 a year. As a presidential candidate -- with banking experience -- she could offer priceless insights into the property collapse, the current mortgage crisis and the behaviour of the directors of the Bank of Ireland, which paid her such a fine part-time wage. Instead, she prefers to stay silent about this hidden area of her expertise.
    Probably just an oversight. You cannot fit everything in with a CV as long or as virtuous as Mary's. But funnily enough, there is another important omission. Mary picked up a gig in no less a semi-state than the deeply troubled Aer Rianta (now the DAA). Indeed, she did a five-year stint there -- possibly the most rotten quango in Ireland.
    It is difficult to understand why a PE teacher was a political appointee as a director of the DAA, but she probably helped them with all their verbal acrobatics.
    Mary could surely now give us her views on DAA chief Dermot Collier's enormous pay package of €638,000 while she was on the board and a member of the audit committee.

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/shane-ross/shane-ross-quango-queen-eyes-the-park-2886869.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

were we not in deep rescession and in a period of upheaval , a bland , platitude uttering , box ticking , do gooder establishment friendly safe bet like mary davis would sail to victory , things are different this time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

Shane Ross TD has a revealing piece on Mary Davis and her role on Quangos.
    see link.

• DAA ( 5 years)
    • The Fianna Fail government appointed her as a director of Stadium Ireland, more commonly known as the "Bertie Bowl".

Raises some questions.

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/shane-ross/shane-ross-quango-queen-eyes-the-park-2886869.html

Sounds like another snout in the FF trough to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭HellsAngel

Appearently Davis refers to herself as a "social entrepreneur". Real Bertie/Celtic Tiger speak there. Davis has been cruising under the radar as an FF hack.Her links to the Gombeen party need to be highlighted.

Her husband Julian is well connected " During a career that has spanned over 20 years Julian has worked on a wide variety of clients of both public and private sector clients including Budweiser, Guinness, Aer Lingus, MCD, Bank of Ireland, RTE, Department of Arts, Tourism & Sports, Department of An Taoiseach "

http://ie.linkedin.com/pub/julian-davis/4/178/796

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

So gathering from the tone of this thread and trying to nail down what questions could reasonablely be answered, anyone (or there spouse) who has ever accepted public money to sit on a board would be barred from contesting an election. That would certainly reduce the number of candidates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭acer1000

She’s a mean piece of work it seems, and she looks it.

She has been criticised by a Limerick Co. C. for tying up Co. C’s that she doesn’t need, after she won the nomination there, today.

Now we also know she’s had her snout firmly in the FF trough, too.

Shame on her.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

How do these people get these positions?! Are they advertised anywhere?

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

DeVore wrote: »
    Are they advertised anywhere?

DeV.

In the FF newsletter apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

acer1000 wrote: »
    She’s a mean piece of work it seems, and she looks it.

She has been criticised by a Limerick Co. C. for tying up Co. C’s that she doesn’t need, after she won the nomination there, today.

Now we also know she’s had her snout firmly in the FF trough, too.

Shame on her.

Heard that on Radio 1 I think it was. She basically said it wasn't up to her and Sean Gallagher only said for councils that hadn't made their decisions. Then the same was brought up for her and I can't even remember her response but basically I think it was something along the lines of it wasn't her decision to make.

Very poor explanation, made her look poor compared to Sean Gallagher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

thebman wrote: »
    Heard that on Radio 1 I think it was. She basically said it wasn't up to her and Sean Gallagher only said for councils that hadn't made their decisions. Then the same was brought up for her and I can't even remember her response but basically I think it was something along the lines of it wasn't her decision to make.

Very poor explanation, made her look poor compared to Sean Gallagher.

She said that it wasn't up to her to make decisions on behalf of the CoCos, as it was their democratic right to support her - leaving it up to them if they wanted to switch their support - or something to that effect.

When I heard it, I thought for a moment that I could actually smell the BS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I read it as tactical to keep her in the running against the 'mammy' vote likely to go to Dana.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

MadsL wrote: »
    I read it as tactical to keep her in the running against the 'mammy' vote likely to go to Dana.

Really Mammy Vote? They both seem like devil women to me. I'd rather Dana International TBH :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Let me get this straight.

Ross has a problem with quangos but has no problem with nominating someone who has sent unacceptable letters ?

And to think I used to look up to him as the one decent politician that we had.

Guess that only leaves Pat Rabbitte in the non-two-faced stakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Looks to me like Shane Ross paid €2.65 for The Phoenix last Thursday and rehashed most of P.11 in that article. Shane Ross jumps on a bandwagon ? Whatever next.

DeV.

Not advertised. They are appointed by the minister in question.
    Bannasidhe wrote: »
    In the FF newsletter apparently.

And the FG, Lab etc etc etc newsletter as well. Try not to discrimminate, or at the very least try to open your eyes. They are all at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,922 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Liam Byrne wrote: »

Ross has a problem with quangos but has no problem with nominating someone who has sent unacceptable letters ?

He nominated him but made it quite clear he wouldnt be voting for him. He's only facilliating Norris getting on the ballot, big difference.

Liam Byrne wrote: »

Interesting comment from a fella who says that MMcG is not fit to stand for the Pres due to his past association with the IRA but can conviently forget Pat Rabbitte's past memebrship of the political wing of the OIRA, the Workers Party !!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

He nominated him but made it quite clear he wouldnt be voting for him. He's only facilliating Norris getting on the ballot, big difference.

I have to say I think that is hypocrisy - I wonder how much he was influenced by who he works for ? i.e the Independent group ?
    His opposition to Davis is curious also given that she was the beneficiary of FF which of course is the client party of the Sindo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭edanto

DeV.

Bertie described the selection process previously.
    http://www.publicinquiry.eu/2006/09/27/brian-dobson-interview-with-bertie-ahern-full-text/

"I might have appointed somebody but I appointed them because they were friends, em, not because of anything they had given me and you know, and I think they appreciate that these were debts of honour, they gave them to me. Em, ah, I suppose on hindsight back, I wasn’t to know then, em, that I would be Taoiseach"

But seriously - I'm fairly sure they're not advertised. They are the dog biscuits of the political world and used to repay favours. Anyone particuarly interested in the Golden Circle of Irish boards can read the excellent TASC report on the same - http://www.tascnet.ie/upload/file/MtGC%20ISSU.pdf

Mary Davis' name is NOT mentioned in that report - there's no reason to believe that she's part of the corrupt culture that took over our country.

Personally, I won't be voting for her, but that's only because I prefer another candidate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,922 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

anymore wrote: »
    I have to say I think that is hypocrisy - I wonder how much he was influenced by who he works for ? i.e the Independent group ?
    His opposition to Davis is curious also given that she was the beneficiary of FF which of course is the client party of the Sindo

I doubt very much he is the kind of man to bow under such pressure. Also, if the Indo group is behind Norris van you explain their big 'rape' headline yesterday??? Yes and of course FF got such an easy ride from the Indo group during the last election.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

In fairness, with all her quango experience, she would probably be the ideal candidate in going for the biggest quango of them all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

I doubt very much he is the kind of man to bow under such pressure. Also, if the Indo group is behind Norris van you explain their big 'rape' headline yesterday??? Yes and of course FF got such an easy ride from the Indo group during the last election.:rolleyes:
    I wpuld have thought so also, but bow he most certainly did - only he can explain why - the siggestion that he is only facilitating Norris getting on the ballot is nonsense - he is now officially a Norris suporter and ally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

bijapos wrote: »
    And the FG, Lab etc etc etc newsletter as well. Try not to discrimminate, or at the very least try to open your eyes. They are all at it.
    True. But FF were responsible for creating an awful lot of these quangos, often splitting out functions from civil service departments into new agencies, complete with boards that can be stuffed with the party faithful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

edanto wrote: »
    But seriously - I'm fairly sure they're not advertised. They are the dog biscuits of the political world and used to repay favours. Anyone particuarly interested in the Golden Circle of Irish boards can read the excellent TASC report on the same - http://www.tascnet.ie/upload/file/MtGC%20ISSU.pdf
    Or Shane Ross' book, Wasters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭mike kelly

DeV.

You used to hear about them by going to the Fianna Fail tent during the galway races. Not sure how they do it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

mike kelly wrote: »
    You used to hear about them by going to the Fianna Fail tent during the galway races. Not sure how they do it now.

Probably handed out at FG golf classics or whatever Labour use as a "fundraiser".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Ahern defended himself from accusations of corruption by saying he 'only appointed people who were his friends' to his many quangos!
    I'll leave that sitting right there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

Makes me sick to see these FF troughsnouts sniffing around for more swill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭Upstream

• DAA ( 5 years)

Raises some questions.

Lots of good questions, I'm guessing she got most of them on merit for her role in the Special Olymipics, but I'd really like someone to answer, What did she do while in these roles?