Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

morning stroll

• 24-09-2011 3:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭

I got up this morning at half six to take a stroll with the rifle as i hadnt been out in a while. Got to the field at just after seven and the sun had just come out but it was still very misty. Walked for a good hour enjoying the sun and the walk but no sign of anything. So i decided i would head for home. Nearly back at the car when i scan the next field through the scope and i see bugs sitting sunning himself. Im trying to decide if i should take the shot as its further than i usually try. I think **** it there is a big backstop behind him and no cattle around. Down on the ground look through the scope and he is still there i aim about an inch over his head and bang i get him in the head i head in a straight line to him counting the paces. 147 i count which is the longest kill shot i ever got happy as a pig in ****e i pick him up and into the bag with him turning on my feet i notice another bunny down the field and chance a free hand shot {which i never try cause im crap at them} bang and thump down he goes. Step it out and 54 paces into the bag and back to the car very happy with my morning stroll. I will be trying longer shots from now on and freehand ones too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

fair play thats good shooting was that with the 17

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭tommyboy26

fair play thats good shooting was that with the 17

Yeah dude getting better with it lately

deadly thats good are you putting them in the pot did you go for head shots and how did you get on did you ever do any more about a light

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭tommyboy26

deadly thats good are you putting them in the pot did you go for head shots and how did you get on did you ever do any more about a light

I have that many friends looking for rabbit off me i give them all away i may start keeping some for myself.

Im going for head shots and usually get them or jusr at the top of the shoulder.

Went out with a mate of mine who bought a led lenser m7 with filters and i was very impressed with it but still havent decided which light i will get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

The 17 hmr are great fun....
    What I did to pratice was with mine was I bought a box of clays and set them out at 25yrd intervals out to 300 yrds,starting at 125yds.. Its a good way to figure out your hold over or if you have a mildot scope even better....:cool:

Ye the m7 is suppose to be good alright i think its better than the p7 that needs is still there to try my p7 no hastle i do that with the clays aswell no only is it good for practice its good fun to i dont be out that distance with the 22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 johnwayne2

what do ye sit the clays on lads just got a rifle myself wanto do a bit of practicin

i set up targets in a sand pit and clays on the bog i just stick them in the ground on there side in the peat as there is a big enough bank at the end off the run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

i set up targets in a sand pit and clays on the bog i just stick them in the ground on there side in the peat as there is a big enough bank at the end off the run

I just prop them up with a rock or a handfull of dirt.