Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why can't adults play chasing?

• 24-09-2011 12:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

I pay for a gym where I swim and do weights and do a machine where I walk up stairs but go nowhere.

The whole point is you get out of breath and you lose weight and feel good, I love it, it's good for me but...

I remember when I was a kid we always played all manner of made up games with all manner of made up rules but the basic principal was always friends running after friends til they caught them and the rules were added on to the basic game of chasing.

My question is if your gym offered a game of chasing (they can call it "boot camp XXXtremechasing " or something if it makes them feel better) would you sign up for it?
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

You never heard of tag rugby?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Tag rugby? football? hurling? soccer? hockey?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Join a team and run around to your hearts content.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Go back to primary school, and relive those dreams!! I did and I'm totally the best in my class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭Kanoe

try going for a swim where other people actually swim in the lanes next to you, they will try and compete. They can try but they'll never catch me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Leaving aside that I played my last game of Tip-the-Can at the ripe old age of 23 (proving that you can play if you really want), chasing becomes more dangerous as people get older and they get larger.

It's the same reason why a group of adults on a bouncy-castle get hurt, whereas kids are grand.

Yakult wrote: »
    Go back to primary school, and relive those dreams!! I did and I'm totally the best in my class.

A grown man going to a primary school and chasing kids around the school yard might be frowned upon though. Probably best give tag rugby a shot first and then if he's questioned he can always say he tried it with grown ups but it just wasnt the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

You might be onto something. Would look weird though. Maybe just give whoever is being chased a rugby ball, for show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

stmol32 wrote: »
    Why can't adults play chasing?

Restraining orders. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Hide and go seeking chasing <333

I'll meet ye in the Phoenix Park tomorrow :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Forget AH Beers, we should have AH big game of chasing in the phoenix park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

Yakult wrote: »

I tried that, I'm not being over-nostalgic and I'm not saying "in my day we played chasing but these kids only do the Xboxes" because the kids today still do the same thing

The only thing that changes is the rules but it's still basically one person runs after another and says you're it.

I just wish as a 59 year old man I could join in but I'm not allowed.........Oh actually I realise what you're saying now.... are you the chap I met in the holding cell?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Tig for the win.

Dean09 wrote: »

There is absolutely no reason why we couldn't. It could be f*cking awesome. We could pretend/make it for charity or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Dean09 wrote: »

I approve of this!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Tesco Massacre

Kiss chasing: the sport of kings.

I used to be brilliant at it, wasnt caught once :cool:

I don't know whether to make this point or not because there was some pretty damn good proper AH type responses coming here but I feel I should just say I meant an ADULT game of chasing between ADULTS like when we was chiselers.

I never meant to condone middle age men running after children (although the picture that conjures up me wee-wee from laughing a little bit)
    The Phoenix park would be deadly but it's about 10 km by 3 km.

The point I was making was do you remember playing guns as a kid?
    (again the basic rules of chasing mentioned above but instead of being caught you get shot and count to XXXX seconds depending on your gang)

I played guns recently.
    Except it was called paintball, and it was awesome!!!
    However it was basically guns like I played when I was a youngfella except it cost $80.

My point is all sport (and I do like going to the Gym) is running around so why not a game of chasing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

Chasing evolved into manhunt/IRA in my school, pretty much the same rules but when you catch them you get to kick the shoite into them until they give up their password, grown men playing that wouldn't go down too well im afraid :(

jugger0 wrote: »
    Chasing evolved into manhunt/IRA in my school, :(

I am intrigued my friend, what were the rules of manhunt/IRA?
    I don't think being an adult could be out of the question.
    What were the rules of manhunt/IRA?
    I'm pretty sure the fundamental rules involve one person chasing some other people, therefore (going back to me original question) can we not give it a lash? as grownups?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

Kanoe wrote: »
    try going for a swim where other people actually swim in the lanes next to you, they will try and compete. They can try but they'll never catch me.

They'll never catch you because you are in a canoe by any chance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭bridgemond

I still play chasing. The rules have changed since I was a child though. Now we see who can get to the shop first. My buddie has about 200bhp on me so he always wins lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

I am intrigued my friend, what were the rules of manhunt/IRA?
    I don't think being an adult could be out of the question.
    What were the rules of manhunt/IRA?
    I'm pretty sure the fundamental rules involve one person chasing some other people, therefore (going back to me original question) can we not give it a lash? as grownups?

IRA was 2 teams, each team had a password, players had one letter of the password on a piece of paper which you had to protect. There was also a jail where captured enemies were taken for torturing, you couldn't leave jail unless a mate managed to free you i.e run up and touch them. Basically you ran around in groups capturing people and giving them slaps till they gave up, anything went, my mate got fed grass, i only escaped the same fate as i pretended to be injured.

Manhunt was everyone chasing one or 2 lads, you catch them and give em a bating... eh not much else to it!

jugger0 wrote: »
    IRA was 2 teams, each team had a password, players had one letter of the password on a piece of paper which you had to protect. There was also a jail where captured enemies were taken for torturing, you couldn't leave jail unless a mate managed to free you i.e run up and touch them. Basically you ran around in groups capturing people and giving them slaps till they gave up, anything went, my mate got fed grass, i only escaped the same fate as i pretended to be injured.

Manhunt was everyone chasing one or 2 lads, you catch them and give em a bating... eh not much else to it!

That's feckin class man,

I specifically just said just chasing at the start of this because I knew :
    1) all posters were once kids
    2) all Kids played chasing
    3) all chasing kids invent unbelievably complex rules to their games of chasing but it still means legging after your mates until you're called in.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Damn it OP, now I really want to play Bulldog! If only it were still 1998...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

I pay for a gym where I swim and do weights and do a machine where I walk up stairs but go nowhere.

The whole point is you get out of breath and you lose weight and feel good, I love it, it's good for me but...

I remember when I was a kid we always played all manner of made up games with all manner of made up rules but the basic principal was always friends running after friends til they caught them and the rules were added on to the basic game of chasing.

My question is if your gym offered a game of chasing (they can call it "boot camp XXXtremechasing " or something if it makes them feel better) would you sign up for it?

because of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭Jackobyte

I've played all the games mentioned here. Manhunt, IRA, English Bulldog, Normal Bulldog, Normal Tag and Catch 1-2-3. , and there were many others. Damn, they were great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Never saw the Godfather, no?

IRA sounds pretty awesome. So, basically, the object is to gather up the other team's password by catching each of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

I've heard of all the other chasing games mentioned already but I never heard of the IRA game before.

Instead of running in the Phoenix Park, it sounds more like running for the Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Mrs mattjacks name is Louise ,she just said if we find a Thelma...she's up for it..

i played chasing in SSG park once a few years back
    it was hide and seek more like, some passersby joined in "oh they're over there" etc
    was fun