Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Star of the sea XC

• 23-09-2011 7:56am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭

Anyone planning on running this race at the weekend. Might be up in that direction and thinking of either going to watch or jumping in.

Has anyone run it before, whats the course like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭meathcountysec

shels4ever wrote: »
    Anyone planning on running this race at the weekend. Might be up in that direction and thinking of either going to watch or jumping in.

Has anyone run it before, whats the course like?

The course is probably the hardest xc course I have seen in Ireland. 4 x 1.500m laps with 2 steep inclines on each lap.

On the plus side, the home made scones available are the best I've ever tasted. Only problem being that they are usually all gone by the time I finish.

I'll be "running" this one.

http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/12655384

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

The course is probably the hardest xc course I have seen in Ireland. 4 x 1.500m laps with 2 steep inclines on each lap.

On the plus side, the home made scones available are the best I've ever tasted. Only problem being that they are usually all gone by the time I finish.

I'll be "running" this one.

http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/12655384

Thanks, might pop along if I can make it :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭umpire bat

This event attracts top class runners from throughout Leinster and Ulster.
    Clubs who take part include Raheny, DSD, Beechmount (Belfast) Mullingar. The host club has a pair of lads who could feature in the shake up, Mark Hoey and Colin Costello. Quality womens field also with Dunshaughlin, Mullingar etc likely to feature. This race is well worth
    a visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

umpire bat wrote: »
    This event attracts top class runners from throughout Leinster and Ulster.
    Clubs who take part include Raheny, DSD, Beechmount (Belfast) Mullingar. The host club has a pair of lads who could feature in the shake up, Mark Hoey and Colin Costello. Quality womens field also with Dunshaughlin, Mullingar etc likely to feature. This race is well worth
    a visit.

Mark Hoey who was the recent winner of the Dublin Half Marathon, shows the quality of the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭marchino

I ran the last race of the day, combined mens and it was a good start to the x-country season, nice testing course and rain and wind__ideal!!
    Was late starting because it is impossible to find the venue with ****e sign posts and only got number on when race started.
    Me and my mate gave the field a 20sec headstart at least but, we battled through the field as best we could and ran quite well considering 1st lap was almost lactic acid threshold, trying to catch up!
    Was throwing jacket off at the start whilst running, some madness!

Did anyone else on here run and if so how did ye find it?.
    Any idea when results will be avalible as it would be nice to see where we actually finished.?, none the wiser after race!!

Results attached

The venue was well signposted from Stamullen. What direction did you come from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭marchino

Results attached

The venue was well signposted from Stamullen. What direction did you come from?

Was just coming from mullingar but, took the first left for drogheda road in navan and should have took the 2nd left over the bridge. It was grand from stamullen, it was getting there that proved difficult with sign posts the wrong way and in most cases no sign posts at all. ended up in slane drogheda and beyond.
    It is something to look back on and laugh anyways, it could be worse.

Thanks a million for results.
    Tea/coffee and tart after race was a nice touch.
    Great atmosphere too.. :-)

marchino wrote: »
    Was just coming from mullingar but, took the first left for drogheda road in navan and should have took the 2nd left over the bridge. It was grand from stamullen, it was getting there that proved difficult with sign posts the wrong way and in most cases no sign posts at all. ended up in slane drogheda and beyond.
    It is something to look back on and laugh anyways, it could be worse.

Thanks a million for results.
    Tea/coffee and tart after race was a nice touch.
    Great atmosphere too.. :-)

General signage in the area is definitely not the best. When you're not too sure where you're heading it just takes one wrong turn to f**k it all up. Glad you made it in the end.