Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just out the practice room! Ready to go???

• 20-09-2011 12:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭

Have any bands out there had any revenue problems and if so how did ye deal with them:eek:???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

That has to be one of the more interesting differences between post title and post content I've ever seen on here :).

In answer to your question, do you mean in terms of making money or in terms of paying taxes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭mg1

I shall take that as a compliment:p.
    Didn't think if anyone seen the words "Are you in a band and paying taxes" they wouldnt be interested in even looking, (and probably run a mile from this post!!!!)

I shall revise my Q then.

If a bunch of guys or gals work for weeks to create a song set then hit the road for a a few gigs, even for a few months to see if the band would work out, are they expected to pay taxes. if so they obviously would have to register to pay tax, then they would have to register a band name as a business, and then pay tax and all that stuff for other members, which them makes them employers!this is all very messy especially if your just a young bunch looking to make a few bob at the weekends.

next Q is, just say the band was to split after few months and a pub they played gets audited and gives their name for playing gigs even for little or no money and the revenue come calling to their doors and they cant account for what they did cause they prob saw no wrong in it at the time and prob kept no records or receipts! Lets be honest some of the young talented musicians i see are not exactly academic students the only want to play their guitars in dark rooms and pretend their Slash or something!(no offence ment to anyone here)

So has anyone been in this situation and if so how have u dealt with the revenue when that ugly and probably frighting letter comes trough the letter box?

So, as for my original title (your just out of you little shed & ready to hit the road and do a few gigs, ..but wait, are you actually ready????

Surly someone has an opinion???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭raindog.promo

I'm fairly certain revenue wouldn't touch a band before they start making a certain amount of money.
    Don't you have to earn over a certain amount before you're liable for tax? I believe low paid workers don't pay tax on their income for this reason.

Call revenue and ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

That said, if you already have a day job, any money you make from gigs etc should be declared.

It's straightforward enough. Fill in form to say you're self-employed and/or are augmenting your PAYE income as a self-employed musician. Don't bother with registering the band name or incorporating the band, just have all members register as self-employed.

Thanks guys (and i do agree that a fair contribution should be made to taxs )but my point is about young lads/ girls school ages lets say,
    don't have a clue or don't care about revenue have already done the gigs, finished in the band, 2 year later revenue come along says, pubs have been audited and ur name has been given as a band who played there (wont say which pub so your caught by the ******) and you may declare where and what you made. So this kid is left holding a letter, with no money, maybe in college, cant prove that he might have only played one or two gigs, or might have played fifty two, and maybe others that played who shared in the profit gone to aus and he the only one left to foot the bill.
    Is the revenue for real chasing this kind of s**t! :confused: This is kids stuff unless your Big gen or Blue moose who does this for a living! Think they should be chasing Bankers, solicitors & auctioneers!
    And guys and girls it coming to ye all, and it wont be from face book or advertising and you cant hide cause as soon as a pub gets audited they will hang ye all out to dry, even the ones who give ye cash are putting a cheque in the till saying who was paid, No one is safe, their coming to get ya :pac:

Are you using a real world or hypothetical situation?
    Revenue chasing a band of young teenagers seems unreal.
    1) They probably didn't make enough money to be taxed on.
    2) It would cost far more to chase them about it than would be got back.
    3) How do they know s/he was in the band. Is there documented proof?

Seems unreal and highly unlikely to me that the situation would occur.

Unless you've really pissed someone off in the revenue department.

In which case, you're fukkkkked :)

This is some real world and some hypo, a person i know is in a sitution similer to this!
    1. no they did not make enough money to declare anything,(and band is broke up, everyone went seperate ways and some left country) but cannot prove they did not! and as far as revenue are concerned u must provide proof that you did not do something rather that them provide proof that you did!
    2. Im quite sure ur right, however i think the revenue are quite desperate for funds now and will pluck at any straw.
    3. a pub was audited and the bands name given, (its is irrivilant if you are 18 playing punk or 88 playing tin whistle), like i said you must prove u didnt make the offence rather than them prove u did.
    We will all be seeing lots more of this simply because the revenue are desperate for funds and i think there is so many other ways (and people) that they could be hounding other than little fry trying to suplement their income who are living hand to mouth and look for the big fish like banker and auctioneers who commit white collor crime every day and get away with it!

yes its unreal alright,
    Are you using a real world or hypothetical situation?
    Revenue chasing a band of young teenagers seems unreal.
    1) They probably didn't make enough money to be taxed on.
    2) It would cost far more to chase them about it than would be got back.
    3) How do they know s/he was in the band. Is there documented proof?

Seems unreal and highly unlikely to me that the situation would occur.

Unless you've really pissed someone off in the revenue department.

In which case, you're fukkkkked :)

That said, if you already have a day job, any money you make from gigs etc should be declared.

It's straightforward enough. Fill in form to say you're self-employed and/or are augmenting your PAYE income as a self-employed musician. Don't bother with registering the band name or incorporating the band, just have all members register as self-employed.

The problem with that is,when a pub gets audited its the band name that comes up and the person who gets the gigs name is attached as the band owner, which means he technically is an employer and should be paying tax and all that stuff for his/her employees, or am i wrong?

my own opinion is that all mature bands should be paying tax & contributing to our sad economic climate because the non paying ones come along and can under cut prices to a point where it is not worth the professional ones getting out of bed! But there are so many start up bands, even older people starting a band, who get together for a few months, hit the road to see if it would be a viable business and the break up for whatever reason as bands do. Why would they bother going to the rounds of tax and vat and all the stuff that complicates something which will fill in a few hours on a Saturday night for the price of a few pints!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 240 ✭✭Deco1983

Are you just looking for someone to tell you that it's ok not to pay tax on taxable income?

The law is the standard expected here and not the behavior of bankers etc

you obiviously missed my opinion above.

Hmmmm - not sure i did actually

So far its been a collection of ramblings

Do you know what your opinion on this is?

I believe this is his opinion.
    mg1 wrote: »
    my own opinion is that all mature bands should be paying tax & contributing to our sad economic climate because the non paying ones come along and can under cut prices to a point where it is not worth the professional ones getting out of bed! But there are so many start up bands, even older people starting a band, who get together for a few months, hit the road to see if it would be a viable business and the break up for whatever reason as bands do. Why would they bother going to the rounds of tax and vat and all the stuff that complicates something which will fill in a few hours on a Saturday night for the price of a few pints!

Two conflicting opinions in that ramble for me

No; there is only one opinion, namely that "all mature bands should be paying tax & contributing to our sad economic climate because the non paying ones come along and can under cut prices to a point where it is not worth the professional ones getting out of bed!"

That opinion is then contrasted with another real world scenario that "there are many start up bands, even older people starting a band, who get together for a few months, hit the road to see if it would be a viable business and the break up for whatever reason as bands do" and then finishes with a question concerning this real world scenario - "Why would they bother going to the rounds of tax and vat and all the stuff that complicates something which will fill in a few hours on a Saturday night for the price of a few pints(?)"

The poster's grammar could possibly have been better, but I think it boils down to established bands with steady work should pay tax whereas those bands trying to establish themselves and presumably supporting themselves through other sources of income (ie, 9-5 jobs) would not make enough to pay tax or see all the work that needs to be done filling out the forms etc as outweighing the little that is brought in through gigging.

I would imagine the amount deemed worthy to start announcing to the revenue that you are earning extra amounts of cash varies per person and a (cute hoor Irish) consensus of "if you can get away with it, do it" is in effect.

I wouldn't mind hearing what revenue's position on it is and if they could give advice on what needs to be filled out and what the best way top set this type of thing up is.

Thanks for the extended summary of the original post raindog. I'm afraid I got bored halfway down and clicked on to the Xpose website to see what that delightful Karen Koster was up to.

I'm sticking to my original comment about there being 2 conflicting opinions.That's just the way I'm reading it I'm afraid and I won't be railroaded into changing my opinion by someone like you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

all mature bands should be paying tax & contributing to our sad economic climate because the non paying ones come along and can under cut prices to a point where it is not worth the professional ones getting out of bed!

in most places, the pub decides the price not the band

You've made four posts in this forum all of which provide nothing except being sarcastic or aggressive towards other posters.

Enjoy Xpose.

If your not here to add anything of interest (your own opinion, rather that to slate mine) why are you here at all?:confused:
    Deco1983 wrote: »
    Two conflicting opinions in that ramble for me

in most places, the pub decides the price not the band

Would most established bands not go through a booking agent also?
    I don't know.
    I'd imagine where booking agents are involved that tax forms are too?

I just do not agree with you raindog. I'm sure someone like you can appreciate that

Thats how it should have been said, but maybe i am not as well schooled with my grammar as rain dog!:D
    No; there is only one opinion, namely that "all mature bands should be paying tax & contributing to our sad economic climate because the non paying ones come along and can under cut prices to a point where it is not worth the professional ones getting out of bed!"

That opinion is then contrasted with another real world scenario that "there are many start up bands, even older people starting a band, who get together for a few months, hit the road to see if it would be a viable business and the break up for whatever reason as bands do" and then finishes with a question concerning this real world scenario - "Why would they bother going to the rounds of tax and vat and all the stuff that complicates something which will fill in a few hours on a Saturday night for the price of a few pints(?)"

The poster's grammar could possibly have been better, but I think it boils down to established bands with steady work should pay tax whereas those bands trying to establish themselves and presumably supporting themselves through other sources of income (ie, 9-5 jobs) would not make enough to pay tax or see all the work that needs to be done filling out the forms etc as outweighing the little that is brought in through gigging.

I would imagine the amount deemed worthy to start announcing to the revenue that you are earning extra amounts of cash varies per person and a (cute hoor Irish) consensus of "if you can get away with it, do it" is in effect.

I wouldn't mind hearing what revenue's position on it is and if they could give advice on what needs to be filled out and what the best way top set this type of thing up is.

MG1 - As raindog has eluded to already I'm finding it difficult to read your posts. Sorry man

I just was not getting your opinion or stance on the matter and commented. I'm sure there is a good point or relevant information being raised somewhere in there but I felt you were promoting both sides of the argument. Again just my opinion and I'm sorry if I seem to have upset you

Have a good weekend

You sound as if you are having a realy bad day, i dont see what is so hard to follow, so maybe you be better off playing a few rounds of golf or somethingeasier to follow.
    p.s. I am not a man.;) maybe that is why you are getting it so hard to understand what i am saying!
    Deco1983 wrote: »
    MG1 - As raindog has eluded to already I'm finding it difficult to read your posts. Sorry man

I just was not getting your opinion or stance on the matter and commented. I'm sure there is a good point or relevant information being raised somewhere in there but I felt you were promoting both sides of the argument. Again just my opinion and I'm sorry if I seem to have upset you

Have a good weekend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

Would most established bands not go through a booking agent also?
    I don't know.

for the most part no. I dont understand pubs that use agents to get their bands. 2-3 days work booking bands for the whole year will save the venue thousands of euros over the year.

a lot summer festivals (as in festivals in towns, not massive ones like oxegen!) are booked through agents. Our local festival every aug bank holiday weeked use the same agent every year, so we have an idea of which bands will be playing every year :rolleyes:

OH and you have a good weekend too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭Duke Leonal Felmet

I had someone in revenue tell me that I was just earning enough to get by then they wouldn't be arsed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 shaggyone

To pay your taxes, you need to file as self-employed. You still have to register with revenue for this. As far as I know, everyone in the band is considered self-employed so whatever you get paid for the gig is what you'd owe taxes on. Unless you register the band as a business in your name, there is no way for anyone to establish that you are the "Business Owner". Unless perhaps you gave the bar your own PPS number, in which case your &^&ed... That being said, if you are the band leader, you really do want to keep track of the finances, meaning start a log of what each band member gets paid and what you put into a collective account or back into the business (ie - flyers, t-shirts, studio time), that's all tax deductible. Furthermore, if you are claiming your gigging income you can offset what you pay in gas, tolls, rehearsal space, equipment purchases, even clothes and stuff against all of your income, not just what you made from gigs. All this stuff is on www.revenue.ie, check out the section on self-employment.