Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Well, this is a Fianna Fail house!

• 19-09-2011 12:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭

I was around in a friends house this morning for a bit and eventually me and her got round to chatting about the presidential election and I asked who she was going to vote for..

"Is there a FF candidate? Him or her".

Why, I asked...

"This is a FF house, parents vote FF, so I have to too seen as they have done it for so long, its like a tradition"

After hearing that I was like this but she would have none of it. She also had a hatred for FG too, nothing unusual there but in this case it was clearly a case of civil war politics.

I thought we had moved beyond all this crap, she is around my age, 20 or so and she is intelligent too, I was very surprised! Maybe I was lucky in that my parents have little interest in politics, but besides some real aul fellas she is the only person I have come across with this attitude, every other young person I know either comes to their own conclusion of who to vote for, or more commonly, simply doesn't care. Is this isolated or do we still have "civil war politics" among younger generations?

Before someone mentions it I didn't have the heart to tell her that it doest look like FF will run a candidate, I was too exasperated and sped the conversation on. But she voted FF in the GE cause she is from a "FF house".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Your friend's a retard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

culchies innit?

Although I remember, a few years back, some tool from artane teling me that CJH would still get bertie back for shafting him....ehh..from his death bed or beyond the grave?

Turned out this gimp loved lord haughey because he was allowed shovel the ****e from his horses up when he was a kid or something

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Sad, just sad.
    Maybe when they say it's a Fianna Fáil house, they just mean that the foundations are fúcked and the whole thing is ready to fall down
    ...Plus they are still in debt and can't afford it or the heating bills!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

Maybe when they say it's a Fianna Fáil house, they just mean that the foundations are fúcked and the whole thing is ready to fall down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Is it any different from blindly following SF?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Your friend's a retard.
    Is this regard, yes. But she is well educated, well read and articulate. I was really really surprised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

You could have subbed in Labour or Sinn Féin and it would be the same post

All parties have supporters like this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

It might be a FF House, but it's in negative equity for damn sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Am I the only one that was expecting to hear about some lad who paid €500,000 for his house a few years back and one of the 0's has now fallen off the ass end of that price?

Is it any different from blindly following SF?
    Its certainly much different to looking at each party, weighing up their policy and position on things and deciding that they deserve your support. Thats what I do when it comes to elections anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 687 ✭✭✭headmaster

Wolfe Tone,
    when you say you "were over in a friends house for a bit", what are we talking about? Watch out or the husband will come back and the sxxt will hit the fan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Is this regard, yes. But she is well educated, well read and articulate. I was really really surprised.
    Twice now you have mentioned she is intelligent, and well educated.......

Sorry but wtf has that got to do with how you think when it comes to voting.

Its certainly much different to looking at each party, weighing up their policy and position on things and deciding that they deserve your support. Thats what I do when it comes to elections anyway.

So you might not vote SF in the next election if someone else has better policies? I assume you'll be urging others to do the same?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭FetchTheGin

not yet wrote: »
    Twice now you have mentioned she is intelligent, and well educated.......

Sorry but wtf has that got to do with how you think when it comes to voting.

This can't be a serious question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I was around in a friends house this morning for a bit and eventually me and her got round to chatting about the presidential election and I asked who she was going to vote for..

Hmmmmm interesting chat up line, did you get the ride in the end? :pac:

Methinks the answer shall be 'Negative' :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

I thought we had moved beyond all this crap, she is around my age, 20 or so and she is intelligent too, I was very surprised!

No, she's not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

FF goes back a long way with some families. I know lots of older people who cursed the FF government with every breath and when the election came voted FF simply because "We've always voted FF".

FF is a party with history and some might have just linked FF with government and lump all the rest into the opposition category. And generally people dont want opposition in power as radical changes may happen. People dont like change.

Maybe it got drummed into her by her folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

So you might not vote SF in the next election if someone else has better policies? I assume you'll be urging others to do the same?
    I'm a republican, if someone better comes along or my views change of course I will vote for someone else.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Ex girlfriend of mine is quite similar. She's in Ogra Fianna fail and her mam is involved in the party as well. Just seems to be taken for granted...

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Party-line retards exist in every political party.

Plus just because you are a FF supporter, doesn't make you a retard. I still can't understand why would be but it still doesn't make you any more of a retard than somebody who votes Labour or Sinn Fein by rote.

kfallon wrote: »
    Hmmmmm interesting chat up line, did you get the ride in the end? :pac:

Methinks the answer shall be 'Negative' :P
    Haha, no I was just around to get some stuff back she borrowed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

I'm a republican, if someone better comes along or my views change of course I will vote for someone else.

Of course she might think that no matter who was in power the result would have been the same and she still has faith in the party. Easy for opposing views to point fingers but very hard to point the finger at yourself or your views.

If SF messed up it wouldnt be easy for you to say SF messed up I'm voting Labour. Takes a lot to shift someones perspective in politics. People only jumped easily to FG because they are the same thing with different people. Maybe she's intelligent enough to realise that and just stayed with FF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

Why, I asked...

"This is a FF house, parents vote FF, so I have to too seen as they have done it for so long, its like a tradition"

After hearing that I was like this but she would have none of it. She also had a hatred for FG too, nothing unusual there but in this case it was clearly a case of civil war politics.

I thought we had moved beyond all this crap, she is around my age, 20 or so and she is intelligent too, I was very surprised! Maybe I was lucky in that my parents have little interest in politics, but besides some real aul fellas she is the only person I have come across with this attitude, every other young person I know either comes to their own conclusion of who to vote for, or more commonly, simply doesn't care. Is this isolated or do we still have "civil war politics" among younger generations?

Before someone mentions it I didn't have the heart to tell her that it doest look like FF will run a candidate, I was too exasperated and sped the conversation on. But she voted FF in the GE cause she is from a "FF house".

that would be case for my house as my parents and their parents are diehard ff supporters. i mean both of them voted ff in the last election and will continue to do so. from speaking to ff people back home they want the party to put forward a candidate in the presedential election as they want the recovery of the party to start before the next local election in 2014. however atm there is a split in the party , those supporting eamonn o'cuiv may want to rebrand the party or to set up their own party

I don't see why this is becoming about me? :confused:

I was asking if anyone else has experienced "civil war politics" amongst the younger generation as it was something I had thought only aul fellas did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Haha, no I was just around to get some stuff back she borrowed.

Well her party borrowed robbed my children and grandchildrens future prospects in this country

Could be worse, a different party might have had links to blowing up those children.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Marry the girl. Have about 10-15 kids with her. Secretly indoctrinate them in the dark rites of FG/Lab/SF and in 18 years time the family curse will start to lift.
    That...or run away now.

stovelid wrote: »

Plus just because you are a FF supporter, doesn't make you a retard. I still can't understand why would be but it still doesn't make you any more of a retard than somebody who votes Labour or Sinn Fein by rote.

exactly she is obviously (and her family) staunch FF supporters. imo during the good time under bertie and co. were less willing to listen to the grass root supporters whenever they put forward a suggestion etc. and they continued on with policies which we now know lacked any realism or credibility. so the grass root supporters in the towns/villages around the country had to either put up or shut up basically. a lot of these grassroot supporters moved to another party. bertie said the other night that these cummans (as they're known as ) were a bunch of 'wasters'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

she is around my age, 20 or so and she is intelligent too

If she is unable to think for herself I would disagree.
    Bambi wrote: »
    culchies innit?

Why are you turning this into a dubs v culchies bull****?

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    If she is unable to think for herself I would disagree.

Why are you turning this into a dubs v culchies bull****?

She is a Dub!

she could very well be , im a culchie myself (but happy that tipp won the minor AI yesterday)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

stovelid wrote: »

I'm not convinced by this line. A Labour or Sinn Fein party-liner is massively different from a Fianna Fail party-liner, not least because Labour and Sinn Fein didn't adopt a procyclical economic policy, build an economy based on everyone selling houses to each other, spend tens of billions on bailing out the banks when it all went pear-shaped, spend more tens of billions on stopping Anglo going to the wall, lie about the IMF being in town, or hand over ultimate control of the Irish state's budget to the IMF.

Sticking to a party which hasn't done those things may be ill-advised, but it's not provably crazy. Sticking to a party that has done all those things, no longer has any idea what it's meant to be doing, and tried to get Gay Byrne to run for the presidency for no apparent reason is a great deal sillier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭farna_boy

On the face of it, yeah it is stupid but is it anymore stupid than voting for someone just because it will piss a few people off?

If you wanted to be generous and actually analyse the situation a little bit more, it may not seem all so stupid.

If her parents raised her to have a certain set of ideals, as most parents do, it could be that her views of the world are most aligned to the policies of FF. Like you said, you are a republican and so you would support SF. If you had a child, you would raise them according to your ideals and probably give them a republican view of life. When it comes time for them to vote, they would then look to the party that would be republican and share the same ideals that your child would have and would therefore probably vote SF too.

I don't think most people actually have thought about it in this way though and prefer to attribute the "gombeen" title to these people without ever asking or analysing the situation. In many cases people will just vote without looking at the policies of the party and trust that if their parents voted for a particular party, it was because of the ideals of the party and their parents. Others just vote for individuals because they are personable and seem nice, again without looking at the party policies. Others though will just vote for who they think will win or just vote for the most popular party. However I imagine the amount of people who actually spend a significant amount of time choosing who to vote for is quite small.

In this case, who knows why they are voting FF until you ask the person properly instead of just assuming they are a "gombeen".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

It's a shame that some people can't think for themselves.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    It's a shame that some people can't think for themselves.

Indeed - if they did, there would be less 'sheep' in Ireland and fools would hopefully not get elected as much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭fat__tony

Why, I asked...

No, she isn't.

She's clearly a brainwashed idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Bambi wrote: »
    culchies innit?
    She is a Dub!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

This is exceptionally simple. If your friend cannot make the connection between FF economic 'policies' and how Ireland is now completely and utterly broke and an international laughing stock then she is an idiot. If, however, she can see these connections and continues to vote FF then she is an even bigger idiot. I'm sorry WT, but your friend is a clown. Might I suggest the next time you lend her something you give her crayons.

Oh, and now I finally have a reason to say 'see my sig.' I knew it would come in handy some day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,060 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Could be worse, a different party might have had links to blowing up those children.:)

Most "mainstream" political parties in Ireland were happy to facilitate American murderers and kidnappers in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

touche!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,797 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Relevant...

That c*nting video gets thrown up every f*cking time. The unfunny idiot offspring of FF dynasty David Andrews, brother of Barry Andrews, cousin of Chris Andrews and also FF apologist Ryan Tubridy. Way to fight the f*cking power man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,797 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Why, I asked...

my parents house was like this when i lived at home, my parents voted FF , so did myself and my sister, but we were always encouraged to know why we were voting for them , between looking at the candidates merits and policies we knew the facts and still voted FF , their policies helped our family situation the most. your going to get houses like this for every party , in 10 years well all be saying "how could anyone consider voting labour etc..

your first political views and voting are going to be most likely impacted by your parents , I still vote FF today as for the white straight single businessman they have a lot of appeal ,

gay rights, womens rights, re-erecting a baracade from the north, funding the IRA, bailing out dole scum and junkies - none of these influence my voting in any way , I dont agree with everything ff did (i wouldnt bail out the banks or leave a lax immigration policy) but their still the best of a bad lot really , I just have to wait until we get something a little more thatcher like (but without the wars) to vote for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭MrSausage

Had this sh1t in my ex girlfriend house. "Granny voted FG, Daddy does and so do we all. If we voted any other way we would be thrown out"
    Heard a child at election time saying "my mammy always votes for *insert suit wearing farmer TD here here* cause he got us a new kitchen"
    Grrrrrrrr