Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Group Purchase: MVS Minibox Project

• 18-09-2011 11:09am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want in on this group buy, please only post if you are going to commit to it 100% and have the €'s ready so it all goes smoothly. :)

3 Confirmed Buyers. 50 boxes & labels of 100 required to put in an order as of 18/09/2011:
    1. Pyongyang - 20 boxes + labels required
    2. o1s1n - 20 boxes + labels required
    3. Andrew76 - 10 boxes + labels required

Hopefully the powers that be don't mind me starting a new dedicated thread for this. If you have no idea what is going on you can follow the previous discussion from the original thread.

Discussion on Shock Boxes and Miniboxes covers the last 3 or 4 pages of that thread.

If you can't be bothered to play catch up, essentially we're looking at a group purchase of custom cut MVS boxes, not plastic shock boxes, to house loose MVS carts. These are made to fit the exact dimensions of an MVS cartridge.

Essentially we're down to two options.
    1. A source in Italy has already made custom miniboxes and can also supply professionally printed spine stickers. Full colour that cover the entire spine.
    2. Go it alone. I've contacted a number of specialist box manufacters across the globe that deal in short, custom runs.

On the face of it the Italian option is the best, however the postage cost is monumental. However, the supplier accepts Paypal, making it easier to divide and pay the invoice and we can also spread the postage cost this way. In theory, and assuming the group were happy to proceed with this method, I could have the order shipped to me and I can then forward them on to you in the post. Obviously this would incur an extra charge for you but only for postage, I'm not out to gain anything from this and obviously choosing this method requires you to put trust in me to come through.

The other method would involve making our own boxes, which I am currently looking in to and will provided costs as soon as I get some firm numbers from the companies I've been dealing with.

If you are keen and only if you want to commit to this project/group purchase let me know. What I require from you:
    • The number of boxes you want to buy
    • How many labels (if any) you want. We'll discuss what games you have when we're closer to putting an order in.

Then when we're at the ordering stage I'll divide up the costs per how many boxes and/or labels you ordered. The postage if we order from Italy is a flat €25 which I think in fairness the best way to approach it is to just divide the cost up equally across the total number of buyers in the group.

If you have any further information or perhaps another source please contribute your ideas, they are most welcome! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

Update news:

As I typed the above, I just received an email from our man in Italy. I've got firm numbers now for a large order. This looks a lot better value for money to squash the horredous postal charges.

OK, I've been quoted the following:

100 miniboxes
    100 labels of our choice
    Shipping included from Italy to Ireland.

Total €265.

Taking away the flat shipping charge of €25 that is a grand total of €240 for 100 boxes with labels of your choice for them. That works out around €2.50 a box, label included which he usually charges €1 per label for if you order them on their own.

Now if 5 of us want 20 boxes each, for example, and with labels, that works out at €53 each including the shipping (which works out at €5 each, much more palatable).

What do you think? Are you in?

Here's images of the boxes (of course feel free to email the guy if you want to go it alone or spread the word!).

55224130.jpg

45779410.jpg

43113031.jpg

79589202.jpg

87815858.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,606 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

:eek::eek::eek::eek:

That box and spine are feckin gorgeous!!!!!

Count me in 100%.

If you want to stick to the below numbers, you can put me down for 20.

Ideally I'd like 40+ but maybe it'd be best to get one lot of 20 each and see how it works out.

Nice one. :)

I'm in for 20 too. I have 14 MVS cassettes presently but am future proofing myself with boxes and labels for games I plan to buy.

So far then we have a confirmed total of 40 boxes and 40 labels. I'm in agreement, once we have a first shipment in and everyone is happy, a second group purchase could be made another day. See how it goes though, I know these things are difficult to organize and I'd rather everyone was happy out first before doing anything.

I'm waiting on the list of games from our man in Italy, I am unsure if he has a set list of spines he made and/or if he is willing to make spines specific to the games you want. In that instance either he'd come through with custom spines or you're on your own (so to speak).

I'm going to edit the first post of this thread and add a confirmed buyers list and update it with figures, final cost etc.

I just want to make sure everyone who wants in on this is happy to have the boxes and labels delivered to me and to pay a few bob extra for postage/packing when I send them on to you (no scams or rip offs, just the postage). We can't get them sent from Italy separately as you'd be paying €25 per order which defeats the whole point of this group buy.

Up to you lot what you want to do but if you want in on the buy, please commit to it 100% and have the €'s ready so it all goes smoothly. :)

Any questions or thoughts drop me a PM or shove something below. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,906 ✭✭✭Steve X2

What part of Italy are these coming from as a matter of interest?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Hey pyong, just had a check there and I'd only need 5 boxes and labels so I'm not sure if that's too small a number to join in?

Andrew76 wrote: »
    Hey pyong, just had a check there and I'd only need 5 boxes and labels so I'm not sure if that's too small a number to join in?

No worries, 5 boxes is not 0 boxes. Want me to add you to the confirmed list?

@SteveSI: Not sure where in Italy the guy is based but he's got a confirmed reputation and decent feedback. No scams here as far as I can see.

Here's his eBay profile too:

http://myworld.ebay.it/vrggames

Yep put my name down for five thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,906 ✭✭✭Steve X2

Pyongyang wrote: »

@SteveSI: Not sure where in Italy the guy is based but he's got a confirmed reputation and decent feedback. No scams here as far as I can see.

Here's his eBay profile too:

http://myworld.ebay.it/vrggames

Ahh, no. I'm just over in the north of Italy a lot and thought I could save you paying postage on these as I could get them brought over here for nothing.

I'm assuming he speaks English but if you need anyone who speaks/types Italian give me a shout.

Andrew76 wrote: »
    Yep put my name down for five thanks.

Coolio. 5 it is, with labels?

@SteveSI: Nice idea, I can always ask him where he's based, could well work out good all round. Thanks for offering. :)

Yep, five boxes and five labels please. :)

Cool, I've updated the thread to reflect that so. :)

Maybe it would be wise to cap it there so as not to flood the lad in Italy, make sure our order is complete and save me enormous logistics to get them to you lot!

I'll cap it at 100 boxes and labels for this first order. Don't forget postage is spread equally across all buyers no matter how many boxes you order. :)

OK, another update. It looks like going with our man in Italy is the best bet. Every quote I am getting so far adds in a hefty 'tooling' fee to make a custom box. These range from around £100-200 and that's before you even factor in the box run.

Looks like the Italian boxes are the way forward.

Also yer man tells me he has spine labels for virtually every game bar a couple of Quiz and Mahjong titles so we should be all set.

If everyone is happy with that let me know. Now we just need an order of 100 boxes! :)

I'm happy with that. Actually you can bump mine up to 10 boxes and 10 labels thanks. I'll just pick 5 labels for games I want to own sometime in the future. :pac:

Coolio, I've updated the thread. :)

Last call on the boxes, we're putting an order in at the end of this week so if you want in, let me know! :)

Just a reminder you've until tomorrow to get your order in. After that it's closing and the order is being made.

Last chance saloon! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

I would love these but unfortunately couldn't afford till next month.
    Ah well maybe the second order

I would love these but unfortunately couldn't afford till next month.
    Ah well maybe the second order

Fair play champ. Order window is still open if you're keen. We're placing the order on Monday. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

Heading to Canaries on thursday so will be smashed till we get back:'(

Ah the hollybobs is better than buying MVS boxes that's for sure, enjoy! :)

Final boarding call for everyone though, if you want in you've a few hours left.

The group purchase is now closed as we're putting in the order today. Thanks.

For anyone following this thread to see if we get ripped off or if the boxes are a load of old plop, I can tell you the order is now placed and to watch this space, we'll be updating soon. :)