Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you vote for David Norris?

• 16-09-2011 10:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13

Would you vote for David Norris 45 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 45 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Would you OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Who ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

What kind of question is that? I would vote for him, if there were not better people in the running.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭wolf moon

I don't know this chap..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭McCrack

Just saw him on the LLS...

Knock, Bang, Ring

Saucy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Where is your unsure option?

I haven't a notion of who to vote for. Since being eligible to vote, this is looking more likely to be the first ever election where I won't actually vote at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Vote Michael D

Up the West

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭sgb

I might if I could, but I was born in the UK, I pay Irish taxes, I have I an Irish child and I could win an all Ireland WTF

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

I would if other cynical people weren't deliberately doing everything in their power to make sure he doesn't get the nomination and therefore can't be voted for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,748 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Definitely not. Not after watching his weak interview on the Late Late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

I would if other cynical people weren't deliberately doing everything in their power to make sure he doesn't get the nomination and therefore can't be voted for.

Cynical people? Like those opposed to endorsing statutory rape? Pesky busybodies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

No. He has disgraced himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭ratedR

Well who the feck else are we gonna vote for ?!

If he does run, which is doubtful, I will vote for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

I thought he did well tonight on the late late. I think he is a decent man and would be a very good president.

I put 50 on him last night at 10/1 on PP. He is now at 7/2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Millicent wrote: »
    Cynical people? Like those opposed to endorsing statutory rape? Pesky busybodies.

Nobody endorses statutory rape. What a ridiculous choice of word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Darlughda

Who the hell are you Hulk Hogan registered a few weeks ago and now throwing up a poll, without any opinion or statement of your own??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

I know a priest who wrote a letter for a thug on an assault charge. Doesn't mean the priest supports violence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

A Joycean scholar as President in 2016 makes for a much better result for Ireland.

Really? You don't think, say, statutory rapists endorse it?

It was a conscious choice of word. By pleading for clemency for a man who has admitted and been convicted of statutory rape, he is endorsing that action. I'm not sure where I left room for ambiguity there. Just because you don't agree with me, doesn't make my word choice ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

I'm afraid not.
    I think he's a fairly decent man, but no.

woodoo wrote: »
    I know a priest who wrote a letter for a thug on an assault charge. Doesn't mean the priest supports violence.

That's a different concept and you're relying on a logical fallacy there. Do you not see the difference between an elected figure arguing for leniency for a criminal as opposed to religious counsel?

Although, given some of the clerical attitude towards a series of crimes, the difference may admittedly be minute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭superstoner90

mikemac wrote: »
    Vote Michael D

Up the West

i 2nd that , cant beat the west :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Millicent wrote: »

Actually if you look up the definitions of the word, there are 2 that apply in Norris's case.

OK, they relate to the statutory rapist rather than the general act, but the word "endorse" is pretty accurate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

After watching his performance on the late late trying to justify himself no I wouldn't vote for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Can we not just hold a referendum abolish the presidency and amalgamate the office with that of the Taoiseach. We can't afford this kind of nonsense anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,226 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Can we wait until the line-up is complete before we have any more stupid polls?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

No.

Just to clarify that the word is a valid choice, here is the dictionary definition:
    endorse

Pronunciation:/ɪnˈdɔːs, ɛn-/
    (US & Law also indorse)

verb
    [with object]
    1 declare one’s public approval or support of:
    the report was endorsed by the college

recommend (a product) in an advertisement:
    he earns more money endorsing sports clothes than playing football

[snip]

For the record, I was torn between Higgins and Norris before this, so I had no prior bias. I was so disappointed in Senator Norris when this story broke -- I thought he had more scruples and common sense that that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

I really don't understand the mentality of some people in this country. There have been so many sickening stories of child abuse in this country.

David Norris involved himself in a sex offence against a child. I don't care if someone says "well the boy consented". He was 15 and still a child!

When are people going to cop on to themselves. He made an error of judgement of the highest order. A humble man would apologise and step down and leave it at that. By entering the race again all he has shown is that his ego means more to him than the citizens a President represents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,291 ✭✭✭Deedsie

I hope he gets a nomination to run for the presidency. It is clear that a sizeable amount of people want him to run. Personally I won't be voting for Senator Norris, but I have no I'll feeling towards the man.

I'll be voting MMcG if he can secure a nomination!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

abolish the presidency and amalgamate the office with that of the Taoiseach.

Germany did the same thing and merged the offices

Fuhrer Kenny :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Defending the indefensible is one thing. Defending your defense of the indefensible is another thing altogether.

He can philosiphise all he wants about this issue, but at the end of the day, his actions strike me as those of an arrogant, pompous old man with the moral compass of child.

So, no - I wouldn't vote for him.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Let's keep the discussion to the existing thread.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056385905