Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UPC No Cable in Area

• 16-09-2011 1:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭

I recently paid for the €65 package from UPC, around 2 weeks ago. And was told that my house and address etc was perfect and would have the things delivered to the house by courier for a self install.

that was last friday...didnt work...
    tech called out wednesday...said oh you have no cable here, ill come back friday and install...

11.30 friday....the time they said they would come....no sign...rang at one

was informed there is no cable in the area and now have to wait 48 hours to talk with a area manager regarding a cable having to go through a neighbours property...

just anyone had this problem before? and what are my options...like right now id be willing to tell them to shag off and get sky and eircom in instead...

im fuming this is taking so long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭Hugh Cream

sky and eircom, fcek upc its trash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Trevor451

Hugh Cream wrote: »
    sky and eircom, fcek upc its trash.

I am pretty sure I don't see sky or eircom providing a 100mb broadband service (fiber trail does not count BTW :p )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

Trevor451 wrote: »
    I am pretty sure I don't see sky or eircom providing a 100mb broadband service (fiber trail does not count BTW :p )

value for money and past experience means UPC is a no brainer! its just ridiculous that we have to wait so much...

anyone have experience with chancin your arm with UPC? like when they call and say itll be another week and i say give us free sky sports or movies or ye can feck off....

what are my success chances?

who needs 100mb broadband in all honesty?
    upc dont provide anything more than what another provider would

plus the guy was talking about tv though.

put it like this, sky blow upc out of the water as far as tv goes, upc have the broad band.

personally id rather have a better tv service.

eldwaro wrote: »
    value for money and past experience means UPC is a no brainer! its just ridiculous that we have to wait so much...

anyone have experience with chancin your arm with UPC? like when they call and say itll be another week and i say give us free sky sports or movies or ye can feck off....

what are my success chances?
    dont hold your breath buddy, for the call out, theyve been telling me the last 3 years that broadband, phone would be available in my area in the next few months.

bunch of charlatans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Who realistically needs a 100mb connection?

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    nobody.
    15 to 25 is more than enough for anyone, and most providers cover those numbers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Trevor451

Minstrel27 wrote: »

I do. I never buy my games in retail stores in Ireland anymore. I always buy them off steam which would take advantage of the whole 100mb connection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭Mental_Legend

Does anyone know how difficult it is, or even if it's possible, to change from an MMDS connection to cable? There's a lot of channels that we miss out on due to this, even though I live just a few miles from Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭deanh

Does anyone know how difficult it is, or even if it's possible, to change from an MMDS connection to cable? There's a lot of channels that we miss out on due to this, even though I live just a few miles from Dublin.

Cable exists usually in built-up urban areas. MMDS, usually, for rural areas. If you are just on the margins of a town, a cable may be laid eventually, but there would be no guarantee as the cost would, likely, exceed the potential income. Short answer would be to move to a cabled area.

I do. I never buy my games in retail stores in Ireland anymore. I always buy them off steam which would take advantage of the whole 100mb connection.
    15 to 25 is enough for what you need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,235 ✭✭✭lucernarian

eldwaro wrote: »
    I recently paid for the €65 package from UPC, around 2 weeks ago. And was told that my house and address etc was perfect and would have the things delivered to the house by courier for a self install.

that was last friday...didnt work...
    tech called out wednesday...said oh you have no cable here, ill come back friday and install...

11.30 friday....the time they said they would come....no sign...rang at one

was informed there is no cable in the area and now have to wait 48 hours to talk with a area manager regarding a cable having to go through a neighbours property...

just anyone had this problem before? and what are my options...like right now id be willing to tell them to shag off and get sky and eircom in instead...

im fuming this is taking so long
    Did you have any joy with arranging a cable to be brought via the neighbour's?

nope not at all...

its with a rep now and he's looking into it...

which means i wont get an answer until i ring them...

i remember dealing with chorus years back and they were a shower of c u next tuesdays...UPC is greatly improved, but thats more a indicator of how bad chorus were...

all we know at the minute is our neighbour (who is 90 years old and living in a student housing estate) wont let UPC go through her land to give us cable...

like...its just being stubborn for the sake of it really. she seems to have had an issue with us from day 1 simply because were students......

ringing upc later and ill update you

just rang them...

not looking good...apparently the neighbour has dug the heels in...

im going to stop now before a rant begins :)