Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the worst/funniest/most embarrassing golf shot u hit?

• 15-09-2011 9:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭

The one that sticks out for me was after been dormi 5 in my first ever match i was standing on the 18th tee deciding after my capitulation of the last 4 holes I'd hit 3 wood. Bricking it I took a swish, the head came off my club on impact sending my ball and the club head into the cabbage in front of the tee box...never found either again & lost on the 19th!

I also remember seeing a guy drive off leading in the captains prize playoff into the flower bed a yard to the front of the tee..about 25 people watching....2 whacks later he was about 50 yards down the fairway...cringe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭jod1983

Played with a guy years ago who stood on the first in Macroom GC, had it all, the clubs the swing. Went up for his puck and heeled it, smashed the window of the bar.
    Of course the onlookers were smiling!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭dines08

jod1983 wrote: »
    Played with a guy years ago who stood on the first in Macroom GC, had it all, the clubs the swing. Went up for his puck and heeled it, smashed the window of the bar.
    Of course the onlookers were smiling!!!!!!

Skied a drive on the 8th hole in Rathbane. Went forty yards forward and fifty or sixty yards left. Landed a foot away from killing the club captain who was playing out of the greenside bunker on the 7th. Another day in Rathbane my playing partner scuffed his tee shot on the 3rd hole into the hole on the second green. Took me about fifteen minutes to compose myself to hit my own tee shot. If you tried it a million times you couldn't repeat it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

On the dog leg left 8th in Elm Green i got it around the corner to about 10 yards before the bell.
    With three lads standing behind me I pushed my 2nd Right smashed of the bell ,ricocheted backwards nearly killing the guys behind me and ended up 40 yards behind.
    As I went back to make my third shot the guys behind rained a ball down on top of me ,having heard the all clear bell !

Also at Elm green I saw a guy on the first Stepped up push his drive right and low ,it smacked off the wooden posts and ended up 10 yards before the tee box.

I have hit some bad drives but never done -10 yards before :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭denishurley

dines08 wrote: »
    Skied a drive on the 8th hole in Rathbane. Went forty yards forward and fifty or sixty yards left. Landed a foot away from killing the club captain who was playing out of the greenside bunker on the 7th. Another day in Rathbane my playing partner scuffed his tee shot on the 3rd hole into the hole on the second green. Took me about fifteen minutes to compose myself to hit my own tee shot. If you tried it a million times you couldn't repeat it

Out of interest, what is the procedure if you put your ball into a different hole than the one you're playing in a competition?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭thewobbler

Up at the brother-in-law’s when he was putting the finishing touches on his new house. From his front door there is a 300 yard downhill drive to the canal.

I set up a ball, pulled out the driver and gave it an almighty whack. Except I topped it, the ball hit a kerb about 5 yards away, bounced back behind me, off the house wall, and hit my full on the cheek on the rebound. Knocked me off my feet.

No broken bones or broken windows. Just a red face.

The next one fell just short of the canal.

I’ve a new driver though, so I’m heading up soon for revenge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭blue note

Not a shot, but the cards blew out of my hands on Sunday. Chased them across a few holes - quite embarrassing.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Took me 6 attempts to get out a bunker once. Yes, the hole was a write off but it's how I clear my head rather than picking up the ball and carrying the frustration to next hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,176 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Royal Dublin at a work event a few weeks ago.

CFO of our company (at his home club) teed it up on 16th. Topped it and hit a OOB marker about 30 yards from the tee and ball shot up in the air, and landed back onto tee box. Net distance of about 5 yards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭dines08

Out of interest, what is the procedure if you put your ball into a different hole than the one you're playing in a competition?

I have no idea, it was a casual round. It was one of the funniest things I've ever seen. He didn't know whether to laugh or cry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Freemount09

Was at my brother-in-laws wedding in Dundrum a few yrs ago. About half 12 that night after more than my share of scoops and talking to a tea total relative of my Mrs we arranged a game for 8am the next morning !

On the 11th hole I tee'd off but got a right daisy cutter. The ball flew about 2inches off the ground and straight into the ladies marker (about the size of a small coke bottle) and about 15yds infront rebounded straight back between the 2 of us and finished up behind me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Played the index 1 in seapoint it doglegs right and as we were getting up the tee i said the lads i was playing with that i never hit a bad drive on this hole.

I topped the ball the ball flees towards the pond in front takes 2 hops off the top of the water and lands on the fairway.

1 of the old lads that i never played with before turns around and say that was like riding a knacker. It did the job but i wouldnt be telling my mates about it and we all pissed ourselves laughing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

When playing my home course playing in competition. Anyway the 18th green is 20 yards right of clubhouse.

Had 6 Iron hit the shot and could see a draw going towards the clubhouse, it hit roof of clubhouse and ended up hitting new 00 reg car denting the front of it in car park..

Course loads of people in clubhouse at time which made it worse and your man did not take dent in car all that well, even if was insured to get it repaired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭mr.mickels

I recall playing a scratch event in London years ago and on the first tee I was paired with this guy who was extremely nervous. There was a fair sized crowd watching us tee off, i went first and hit it out there, the nervous chap was almost shaking as he took his practice swing which was a wild swipe at 1000mph. He then went to hit is drive, he was a good golfer ordinarily but he gave the onlookers a good laugh when he made a very wild swing which barely caught the ball with the heel of the club. It remains the only time I have ever seen a player unintentionally hit a golf ball between his own legs, it rolled slowly off the tee peg, between his legs and continued until it fell of the tee box and OB. The poor guy was mortified, he had to reload and made an equally wild swipe, this time pulling the ball hard left blazing through many of the onlookers and hitting off the clubhouse wall before bouncing back onto the fairway!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Kace

I knocked my drive down in front of me about 20 yards into light rough. Proceeded to hit a 3 wood (mega top which popped the ball up to head height) and then caught the ball in my hand. How 'bout that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭dolally

In contention in Capts Prize a few years ago. 16th Tee box with a few on lookers. Complete fresh air. The ball just fell off the tee. Worse still my young lad who was caddying for me had been sent on down the fairway in anticipation of my long fairway splitting drive. A bit flustered I decided to have a lash off the deck with my driver. Topped it barely off the tee box.
    Still refusing to call my son back with an iron I gave it another heave, ballooned it up in the air just past ladies tee box. The embarrassed silence from the spectators didn't help . 2 more attempts later I managed to bone a daisy cutter up the fairway. When I got to the ball me son said " great drive dad ".:o

jacban wrote: »
    the GUI should check on this excuse for a course and close it down once and for all before some one gets hurt.

I would be surprised if the GUI has the power to close any business. If it is affiliated to the GUI does this mean an official from the GUI visited it and decided on its SS rating, I would guess it does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭Moggaman

Playing in charleville 4th hole .set myself up to hit a strong fade but overcooked it,,,,it hit the trunk of a tree about 20 yards ahead of me , flew back onto the cart path...bounced twice and then bounced into my standing golf bag!!!! which was situated behind me....scratched that hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭patravers

Was playing Murvagh recently with 3 mates it was nearly dark at this stage as we reached the 17... elevated tee box, picked up the driver, obviously had the ball teed to high driver went straight under the ball which went into the air landing beside the tee.... lads rolling around laughing i melted the drive off the deck 250 while the were still pissing themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

13th Hole in Grange, mate hitting his second shot to the green out of a fairway bunker.
    Blades the crap out of it, over the wall behind the green and onto the M50, hits a lamppost and back onto the green for a 2 putt par.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

One funny shot I saw a couple of years ago was a guy playing out of thick links rough, hit a wedge, the ball just popped up slightly in the air causing him to nail it backwards on his follow through.

GreeBo wrote: »
    13th Hole in Grange, mate hitting his second shot to the green out of a fairway bunker.
    Blades the crap out of it, over the wall behind the green and onto the M50, hits a lamppost and back onto the green for a 2 putt par.

Just has me thinking, is a ball only out of bounds if it finishes up out of bounds? If you go oob but the ball bounces back into play it's alright?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

Most bizarre shot I've seen is last year. Playing with a very good 5 handicapper. He's hitting a 3 wood approach to a par 5. Obviously comes up out of the swing and clips the top of the ball which bounces straight up about two feet and then spins backwards about a yard. Don't think he could replicate it if he stayed there for the rest of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Most embarrassing shot for me came last year playing a foursomes comp...
    On the 6th tee I was teeing off and went to take the cover off the ball.. Unfortunately I had a fresh air and completely missed the ball, obviously it counted as a stroke and my partner had to hit our second with the ball still on the tee :o:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Playing in Nenagh and chipping onto the green

Partners ball about six ft from the hole.

Beautiful chip and running towards the hole :cool:

Hit the partners ball and his rolled in :mad:

I could hit a million more shots and I'd never repeat it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭ThunderCat

Playing Headfort New about 2 years back and I get to the par 3 7th. I started my backswing and as I got to the top, a duck in the pond beside the green started quacking but it sounded like he was laughing. Then I started laughing as I was on the downswing and ended up hitting the turf about 6 inches behind the ball and the ball went about 5 yards. Clever duck, he knew I was going to balls it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

the day i hit a owl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭ThunderCat

getz wrote: »
    the day i hit a owl

Is that the new name for a hole in one on a par 5? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

Par 3 course in newcastle (is it still open?) about 10 years ago, same guy on the consecutive rounds hit the wires crossing the second hole.

We had only just reminded him of what he had done the previous day, only for him to repeat the feat. He found it halarious, the rest of us shrugged our shoulders and moved on.

Never got back to see if he could do it a third time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭rednik

Hit my drive on the first at Portnoo straight into a cow, not quite a hole in one.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Plentyofice

Playing in the Barton Cup qtr finals a few years ago. I was asked to drive first as I had a good matchplay record and was known as someone who wouldn;t fall apart. Stood on tee box and promptly drove into the tee markers in front of me. Ball finished up 40 yards behind the tee box. So I started on a 420 yard par 4 and then my playing partner had in effect a 460 yard par 3 :D:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

In thick rough off a fairway on the old Newcastlewest Golf Club (how a housing estate) and decided I was gonna hack it with all my might to try reach the green, the ball obviously hit a tuft of grass or something because it went about 20 yards backwards. I hadn't a clue what happened and wouldnt believe my 2 playing partners when they told me where the ball went (after they finally picked themselves up off the floor from laughing). :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭chalkie 501

Played with a guy in Dooks years ago before they changed some of the holes,
    on the first he snap hooked it OOB
    on the 2nd(the old 2nd,its gone now)a short par 3,snapped it OOB again,
    the 3rd(its now the 2nd,if ye know it)no trouble anywhere unless you hit it 20 yrds backwards! yup he hit this thing about 3 inches off the ground,hit the ladies tee marker and bounced back over his head and OOB:D
    I think the funniest thing was that after going OOB on the first 2 holes he actually said on the 3rd tee "at least theres no OOB on this hole"

ThunderCat wrote: »
    Is that the new name for a hole in one on a par 5? :)
    you got it ,its one of the many golf shots named after birds,birdie .albatross,eagle ,and the owlinone ,its true i heard a birmingham TV presenter say it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

getz wrote: »
    you got it ,its one of the many golf shots named after birds,birdie .albatross,eagle ,and the owlinone ,its true i heard a birmingham TV presenter say it.

AFAIK holing it out in the wrong hole is called a cuckoo too .. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

k.p.h wrote: »
    AFAIK holing it out in the wrong hole is called a cuckoo too .. :D

Played a society outing with two others one day and on the second hole one of them took a swipe with the driver and the ball just fell off the tee about an inch away.

Unbelieveably the other lad did the same about 10 holes later

We were wondering if there was a shortest drive competition going on that day :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭david

Hit the tree on the LHS of the ladies tess on the 4th in Coollattin, bounced back and skulled me in the shin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭BraveDonut

Played in a society outing in Arklow a number of year back. We were in the 2nd 3-ball. At about the 8th or 9th, we were wondering why we couldn't see the 1st 3-ball on the fairway.
    Then we noticed that they had all played their drives backwards off the tee-box.

They had some serious pressure 2nd shots just to get back to the tee-box

At least they let us through!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Anto12

Played in Dunmurry springs a while back anyway on the 3rd hole i think there is water in front - not being brave i went big to avoid the water..i thought it well safe behing the green - when I found my ball it was nestled beside the roots of a tree ..grand job i'll just play a lob wedge to get it back towards the green .. anyway proceeded with the shot caught the ball thin - it hit the root went straight up and caught me in the privates!!!!eek.gifeek.gif well my 2 playing parteners just rolled around laughing ... took me about 3 more holes to get my wind back !!!!!!!!!!!!!! Ye gotta love this game !!!!

i wish this was true,but a professional golfer when driving to a match,found he was running out of petrol,stopped at a very small garage to fill up his top of the range VW golf,after filling up he put his hand in his pocket to pay the attendant,his tees fell on the floor ,when he was asked just what they were,he said that they were for putting his balls on before he drove off,the answer came back,my god these new cars have everthing

Anto12 wrote: »
    Played in Dunmurry springs a while back anyway on the 3rd hole i think there is water in front - not being brave i went big to avoid the water..i thought it well safe behing the green - when I found my ball it was nestled beside the roots of a tree ..grand job i'll just play a lob wedge to get it back towards the green .. anyway proceeded with the shot caught the ball thin - it hit the root went straight up and caught me in the privates!!!!eek.gifeek.gif well my 2 playing parteners just rolled around laughing ... took me about 3 more holes to get my wind back !!!!!!!!!!!!!! Ye gotta love this game !!!!
    not a bad shot,about three inches from a hole in one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭seanmc1980

my cousin, a good golfer, forgot to put his name into the carlow sctrach cup about 10 yrs ago, My dad being a past captain pulled a lot of stright and assured everyone this guy had a chance to win it.
    cousin got in. big crowd had gathered after hearing about this young up and comer from kilkenny going to rip up the course, i'd say ther were 50 people look at him tee off. he hit a snap hook into the starters cabin 15 yards left. pretty embarrassing all round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

Can't think of any hugely embarrassing shots off-hand...although I suppose all bad shots are embarrassing in a way.

Certainly I'll never forget the worst shot I've ever hit, first tee in Lucan, second round of the Smurfit Junior foursomes. Came off a great experience in the first round in Sutton, played really well and won under pressure on the last hole. Felt great over my first tee shot in round two and stone cold topped it on a hole where you need to carry it 80 yards over a small road. So that was O.B and it went downhill from there. Lost comfortably in the end, and because it was done on aggregate scores, the other team lost as well even though they were going ok. A humbling day but the first shot is the only one I can't forget :(

Cue small violin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭Luckycharm

Old 1st hole in the Grange, it is very long Par 3 and the tee box used to have a small road in front. Playing there as a teenager with mates go for the big hit only for it to hit the fence on the left roll through the car park and out the main gate down the road just as the Club Pro was driving in. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭lubo_moravcik

Only today in Rathcore and on the 4th hole, par 3.
    3 lads playing in front of me and as one or two of them were in the rough not far from the tee, when i came up they let me play through. Strong wind against me but hit it sweet, convinced it bounced on the green and possibly rolled off the back. Glided past them with a wee air of confidence that I was up there ready for a putt. Got to the green, there's my ball sitting at back of green, 2 putts and away to the next tee.
    One of the lads comes running across to me and informs me that i've played his ball, and the one in the bunker at the front of the green is actually mine :o
    Couldn't believe it, both of us using a Srixon 1. Couldn't get away from them quick enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭tigerwood1

was playing citywest lakes a few years ago my friend stood on the 9th tee and mi**** his drive into the water in front of the fairway we thought, we walked up only to find a waterhen floating in the water and his ball on the fairway in front. he showed no remorse and went on to make a par.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭phkk

One of my first rounds of golf was in Ballyneety years ago. After playing pure s***e for 17 holes and in the company of two good golfers, they introduced a little competition on the last hole. We all drove off well and found the fairway. Both partners' second shots hit the 18th green in front of the club house. I was last to hit but hadn't any idea of club selection/distance so I asked for some advice. When none was forth coming, I reached into my bag and pulled out a 6 iron.. I can't remember exactly how far I was out but would say it was no more than 140 yards. I absolutely nailed it and was thrilled at firstly, hitting two consecutive good golf shots and then watching the ball soar into the sky and towards the flag. My delight turned as quick as a flash when I realised it overshot the green by some distance and crashed off the huge,shiny, pane of glass on the clubhouse. I winced, closed my eyes and waited for the glass to shatter into smithereens!! My partners literally rolled around the fairway laughing! At least, I knew it was reinforced!:D I wasn't long learning about yardage after that!:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭hurleronditch

mikemac wrote: »
    Playing in Nenagh and chipping onto the green

Partners ball about six ft from the hole.

Beautiful chip and running towards the hole :cool:

Hit the partners ball and his rolled in :mad:

I could hit a million more shots and I'd never repeat it

Surely he replaced his ball on the green though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Surely he replaced his ball on the green though?

Of course he did, and dont call me Shirley.

I recall our club playing an area final of the Bruen match years ago, when this pair reached the 14th green they were 1 up, after being 6 up after 7!!!! The higher handicapper s*** himself worse than any other player I have ever seen, the pair had started great, winning holes with birdies so both hitting the ball and putting well, I don't recall high hcpers name, but anyhow he started getting very nervous, duffing chips, had a shank in there and fresh airs etc etc despite having gone 6 ahead. The 14th green was alongside the clubhouse there was a few around, and some knew this match had been 6 up but the wheels were coming off for no good reason, the low hcper was playing excellent, poor chap, anyhow they were on the 14th green with 2 putts to win the hole and stop the rot, it was about a 20ft downhill putt with the ball about 15 to 20 feet from the left edge of the green. This guy actually putted the ball off the green into a bunker that was at a near 90 degree angle behind the line of his putt!!! Before he made contact with the ball he lifted his head sharply and pulled the ball right behind himself. There were many mutterings from the onlookers on his own side and much laughter from the other side. Poor guy, it was even embarrassing watching but I would have to say it was probably the worst shot I have ever seen in a golf event. Needless to say they lost the match and the low hcper who was a fine player told me their opponents didn't have one par or birdie in the entire round!