Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

springer shedding hair excessively

• 15-09-2011 11:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭

hi lads, my 1yr old springer is constantly shedding hair,just want to know is this normal:confused::confused: its the 1st springer ive ever had, so im just getting to know and learn about there breed,if its not normal what is the cause or problem? she seems fine eyes are bright and alert, her tongue and gums are pink and healthy ,im just abit worried ,and do any of u slip or shave them during the warmer months, if so i didnt would that be the reason why she is shedding so much ,honestly i could knit a family load of arann sweaters at this rate any help /cure please:confused: thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

its quite normal springers are putting on their winter coats ,ive two springers you should see the amount of hair i brush up off them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭CptMackey

They are like walking carpets really. My one sheds some ammount of hair lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

that ok so i was just abit worried because i had every other breed of dog ive never seen a dog to shed so much, do any of ye shave or clip them when it gets warmer ,reason i ask is alot of springers i see have nice short coats,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭CptMackey

that ok so i was just abit worried because i had every other breed of dog ive never seen a dog to shed so much, do any of ye shave or clip them when it gets warmer ,reason i ask is alot of springers i see have nice short coats,

Ya I clip my one. She loves it too which helps. Hates gettin washed tho lol. The look really well clipped in the summer. The coat gets nice and dark. My one is brown and White btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

i think il clip her in warmer weather in future ,yes they do look good clipped all rite:):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

CptMackey wrote: »
    They are like walking carpets really. My one sheds some ammount of hair lol.

Labs must be the same - I could start a pillow company with the amount that comes off himself:rolleyes: