Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

bass Player wanted for covers band North East

• 15-09-2011 9:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭

Guitarist here living near Drogheda. Trying to get a band off the ground. Alreasy have a drummer,keys player and singer. Looking for a good bass player. We would be looking to do maybe 2/3 gigs a month...nothing too hectic as we're all quite busy with family/jobs. We would be leaning toward the classic rock side of things with some popular modern stuff included to keep the punters happy. Own gear/transport would be essential.
    We're in our 30's and 40's so ideally looking for someone in the same age bracket. We'd be jamming once a week in Drogheda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭MrTrebus

Guitarist here living near Drogheda. Trying to get a band off the ground. Alreasy have a drummer,keys player and singer. Looking for a good bass player. We would be looking to do maybe 2/3 gigs a month...nothing too hectic as we're all quite busy with family/jobs. We would be leaning toward the classic rock side of things with some popular modern stuff included to keep the punters happy. Own gear/transport would be essential.
    We're in our 30's and 40's so ideally looking for someone in the same age bracket. We'd be jamming once a week in Drogheda.

Im based in Dublin but would be interested in getting back into it !!
    Am on the" early" wrong side of 40 :o have transport but no amp (as of yet )
    Used to play bass for a dublin band called suddenly Smith.
    Would be interested in having a Jam
    sure let me know

cheers

Ian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Mark_ii

If the distance becomes too much for Ian then give me a shout.

I'm from Drogheda, similar age and similar musical interestd to yourselves. I have all my own gear and transport. I'll sing a few numbers and do backing vocals/harmonies no problem.

Your gigging situation suites me down to the ground as I have a youngish family myself.

Anyway, let me know how it goes.

Kind Regards,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭Fingers Mcginty

That's grand lads. Appreciate the replies. I'm getting in contact with the other lads to try and arrange a jam. How would tomorrow week sound (Sunday 25th) in Drogheda? I'll send on a smallish setlist maybe 10 songs for the jam.

Thanks for coming back with a reply, the 25th sounds fine

Don't forget to include the keys with the set list (if possible).

Here is a list of a few songs we might jam out.

Dancing in the Moonlight (lizzy)
    Long Train Running (doobies)
    Sweet Home Alabama (l skynyrd)
    Smile like you mean it (killers)
    Keep on Rockin in the Freeworld (n young)
    Dakota (stereophonics)
    Jump (v halen)
    Boys are Back in Town (live version)
    Sweet Child O Mine (gnr)
    When you were young (killers)
    Whole Lotta Rosie (abcd)
    Proud Mary ???
    Walk this way (aerosmith)
    Shook me all nite long (abcd)
    Tush (zz top)
    All Right Now (free)
    Don't Look back in Anger (oasis)

Just play along with them ...couldn't tell you what key they're in.
    I know the killers stuff and lizzy is tuned a half step down which we usually do also to enable the singer to reach some of the higher registers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭MrTrebus

should be grand for sun.
    Just let me know where and what time.
    If its in a studio I can get an amp there, if not I'll try sort something else out.
    cheers

sound ...just waiting to hear back from the rest of the lads. :)

OK lads. Room is booked in Drogheda this Sunday comming (afternoon)
    Can yiz PM me emails/mobiles? The setlist is shorter by the way as the jam will only be an hour tops each. Here is the updated list ...

Dancing in the Moonlight
    Long Train Running
    Sweet Home Alabama
    Smile like you mean it
    Keep on Rockin in the Freeworld
    Dakota
    Jump
    Boys are Back in Town (live version)
    Tush
    Don't Look back in Anger

Talk soon Fingers

I've replied to both PM's ...See yiz Sunday lads.
    looking forward to it.
    Fingers