Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bank refused re-structure of a loan

Options
  • 15-09-2011 9:55am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5

Hi Guys,

just looking for a bit of advice / your thoughts on something.

Two months ago I went in to Bank of Ireland (who Ive been banking with for 15+ years) and asked if there would be any way I could restructure the loan I have with them. I needed to bring down the monthly repayments (€700) as Im struggling badly every month. And I also had to fix my car which has cost me €1000. I was refused the refinance but offered an 18 month additional loan, which I had no option but to take to pay for my car. Now my repayments are €780 a month. I decided to go back in to the bank two weeks ago to see if i could spread out the repayments over three or four years as opposed to the two years i have left on the loan, and lower the monthly repayments. This was also refused. (They offered to shorten the length of the loan and increase the monthly repayments for 18 months, i politely declined). The reason they gave for the decline is that I have never missed a payment and my credit rating was too good?

Someone told me if i intentionally miss a payment on the loan the bank are forced to restructure upon request. Is this correct?

Ive tried to get a loan from other banks to refinance the bank of Ireland loan but no joy. (Im being made redundant in 2013, when Im going to pay off the loan remainder out of my redundancy package)

Any advice would be greatyly appreciated. :confused:

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1