Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Local Businesses Bid for Shannon Airport

• 14-09-2011 10:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭

The Clare People reported this week that a group of local businesses are attempting to lease Shannon airport from the DAA for between 15-35 years, looks pretty legit no online source as the paper is pay online :confused:http://www.clarepeople.com/ shows the heading Shannon for hire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭LadyTBolt

this is what the Limerick Post had to say

http://www.limerickpost.ie/index.php/navigation-mainmenu-30/local-news/3639-airport-up-for-rent.html

Looks like more of a consultants report than an actual attempt by local business to rent the airport.

It will never happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

The DAA are stifling that airport anyway, be no harm to let someone else have a go. How could it be a bad thing to have someone looking for the airport to be profitable? That can only mean more traffic, which leads to more jobs and more options for the region.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Be extremely surprised if any local business would want to run SNN.

No ,they will bitch and moan, and sometimes they are right, but they won't touch it with a forty foot pole.

Too too many vested interests and dinosaurs there to take on.

Be extremely surprised if any local business would want to run SNN.

No ,they will bitch and moan, and sometimes they are right, but they won't touch it with a forty foot pole.

Too too many vested interests and dinosaurs there to take on.
    I think you're right. It needs to be completely shut down for a week and everyone laid off, then someone new take it over and start from scratch with hiring back the decent staff and implementing a new way of doing business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    I think you're right. It needs to be completely shut down for a week and everyone laid off, then someone new take it over and start from scratch with hiring back the decent staff and implementing a new way of doing business.
    the above would be the correct way to do buisness, one can imagne the outcry x amount sacked, slave labour next, etc etc, the unions the vested interests etc, these people need to realise than there is now a new buisness model.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭urajoke

Right so you will sack may be 2000 people. Ruining lives and families just to make a point. Increasing the number on the dole and increasing the demand on the taxpayer. You would piss off hundreds of thousands of people just to say we did the right thing great PR work lads. :rolleyes:

You would also say SORRY to all the airlines YOUR customer and source of income that the airport is unavailable for a week because we have sacked all the staff to make a point and get cheap SLAVE labour in. Great start to your new working relationship. Your going to immediately knock 2% off your annual income. Why did Aerlingus ONLY threaten it and not actually do it ?

Your also going to NOTAM everyone in the world that the airport is NOT available for diversion even during a MEDICAL or other EMERGENCY because you are putting the business first. Before you say you will leave it open for emergencies YOU can't if you have sacked the staff who is going to man the fire engines, the police cars, the ambulances, the security etc etc all the trained staff LEGALLY and for INSURANCE reasons required to man an airport. By the way who is going to train all your new staff who is going to show them how everything works and where everything is ? You can't use the Gardai or local Fire brigade because they aren't trained to the correct standards and equipment for major rescue work.

Where is the money going to come from to pay all the sacked staffs LEGALLY required severance money and pension money ?

Most of the airlines have cut services because YOU the people of the west are not supporting this business why, because we are in a RECESSION and no one has the money and anyone who does is being smart with it and either saving the money or driving to Dublin or Cork or wherever to get the flight that's cheaper. Aerlingus have cut New York and Boston for 11 weeks starting in Jan. Ryanair cut way back. Cityjet cancelled Paris etc etc etc etc etc.

August traffic figures Shannon 1825 commercial movements Cork 2249 movements. If someone wants to take over an airport it should be Cork people.

The business was being artificially stimulated by the Shannon stopover now its gone you can see the trees in the wood. The airlines that are staying there are the ones that have the customers, the ones that left are the ones that were only doing it because they had to to get into Dublin where they actually wanted to be.

Fine Gael have tried the same populist nonsense, see where that has got them nearly as unpopular as the last lot. They said they would do X,Y and Z but when they saw the books and actually tried it they saw that its not as easy as just saying it. Good Luck trying to sack so many staff and reinstate staff within a week:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D including legally advertising the positions, interview, appointing them, them giving legally required notice to previous employers,training etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭roundymac

I agree Urajoke, it's a pity your handle can't be subsituted for Flutered's, it might suit him better. On the other hand look at all the flights that will be generated from Eastern Europe with the new SNN employee's, you might even get a few charters to OZ and NZ with the Irish having to immigrate 'cos they been fired by fluter and his mate's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,472 ✭✭✭highlydebased

urajoke wrote: »

August traffic figures Shannon 1825 commercial movements Cork 2249 movements. If someone wants to take over an airport it should be Cork people.

No Cork people should definitely not run Shannon airport, like. Because if they did, they'd close Shannon down for their own gain. I can't repeat some of the comments I've heard which have originated from Cork management in recent years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

O'Leary? Are you?

finbarrk wrote: »
    I think you're right. It needs to be
    completely shut down for a week and everyone laid off, then someone new take it over and start from scratch with hiring back the decent staff and implementing a new way of doing business.

O'Leary? Are you?
    Ye.... I mean no!
    LOL at the rant earlier, it was a little tongue in cheek, no one would try that plan literally! But Shannon is a mismanaged mess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

roundymac wrote: »
    I agree Urajoke, it's a pity your handle can't be subsituted for Flutered's, it might suit him better. On the other hand look at all the flights that will be generated from Eastern Europe with the new SNN employee's, you might even get a few charters to OZ and NZ with the Irish having to immigrate 'cos they been fired by fluter and his mate's.

Not fired, just need to update work practices, and either work towards getting Snn profitable or pack it in.

The taxpayer can't subsidise the place for ever;)