Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spin bike for the cold wintry evenings?

• 14-09-2011 3:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭

Just wondering if anyone has a spinning bike of their own. I've been thinking about it for ages, especially around the time my gym membership is up for renewal. Seeing as all I do in the gym generally is the spinning classes over the winter, it has crossed my mind more than once that I should quit the annual gym fee and buy a spinning bike.

Also - cos I can't often make the scheduled classes, I often just go into the empty spin studio on my own with headphones and sufferfest on my iphone, so I could just as easily (or far more easily in fact) be doing that in my shed or guest bedroom at home.

Are the sort of 400 euro entry level spin bikes any use? Are they a reasonable and functional facsimile of professional gym equipment?

Anyone recommend a manufacturer / supplier / shop?

I could use a turbo, and do sometimes, but the set time is always an off-putter, and I find I can't really stand up on the pedals on a turbo, the way you can sprint and swing off a spin bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

No, get rid of the gym fee and just buy a whole load of spin classes with winning solutions or one of those crowds. Part of spinning is having others around you, a good class leader to motivate you and a pumping ipod mix. Plus, being part of a class is more likely to make you go, having your own spin bike is like home-schooling: it is just plain weird.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    No, get rid of the gym fee and just buy a whole load of spin classes with winning solutions or one of those crowds. Part of spinning is having others around you, a good class leader to motivate you and a pumping ipod mix. Plus, being part of a class is more likely to make you go, having your own spin bike is like home-schooling: it is just plain weird.
    Got to agree with Dirk - I would suggest you follow this guy's lead;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭G2ECE

Spinning, ah yes, the evenings are shortening, time to line up with the lads (and lassies) and get hot and sweaty whilst listening to old skool rock songs and the occasional 90's techno tune! It hurts like hell but an excellent work out that has to be done in groups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

There are a few options:

1. Someone posted a video to a turbo with swing motion on it. Can't find it right now.

2. Not much setup time: http://www.kreitler.co.uk/products.asp

3. Not much set up with this but supposed to be loud as hell:
    http://www.lemondfitness.com/product_detail/465/lemond-revolution

4. And there's always:
    Cabelas-Polartec-200-Fleece-Hat-and-Glove-Gift-Set.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

That Lemond yoke looks pretty cool.

I did a lot of spin classes last year, sometimes 3 a week, and I found them great, but I've no problem with a workout on a spin bike on my own. A lot of the spin instructors are .... pants. It's like they've never been on a bike.

Stuff like "

"OK, now we're going to SPRINT for THREE MINUTES"

(who the fcuk sprints for three minutes???)

"Then we'll take 30 seconds rest and then SPRINT AGAIN, for FOUR MINUTES. I wanna see you FLAT OUT! 100%!!!"

If you actually did what they said, you'd be carried out of the studio in a box. I deliberately did everything I was told once by this one who never ever said to bring resistance back down after an effort. Within 5 minutes the front wheel was seized:rolleyes:

Winning solutions excepted, they're brilliant and Scott knows his cycling of course. But my wife and I both want to do the classes, so one class a week each is 30 quid or whatever, which is 100 odd quid a month.... from now until March.

ANYWAY. At the risk of being a forum narky trousers:

I have a turbo trainer
    I've used spin bikes
    I've done spin classes
    I know what they're like
    I have a hat and gloves....

Kindly stop telling Granny how to suck eggs, and somebody, please anybody, address the original frickin' jaysus OP???!!!:pac:

Oh so you're all sulking now is it?

Fine.

I don't care.

All I need is one spin bike and a huge mirror. I'm already thinking of next years semi-limit crown.
    Gonna change my handle to "Big Ring"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

should you not be studying? :p

lennymc wrote: »
    should you not be studying? :p

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vbchzto2P2s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭rigal

You can rent or buy from this crowd:

http://www.crazyfitathome.ie/hire.asp

If money's no object: http://wattbike.com/uk/

I'm still going to spin classes with the wife but am looking at other options. Totally agree with your comments about the instructions given. Very easy to do all that's asked and completely wreck your legs for the rest of the week...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

fat bloke wrote: »
    somebody, please anybody, address the original frickin' jaysus OP???!!!:pac:

Fair enough so ;) I got a cheap exercise bike for the house a number of years back and it just about does the job. Close to this, and about £350 punts at the time from memory. The braking is controlled by a friction belt, rather than the better (magnetic?) braking on the gym bikes. The saddle is crap, as are the pedals and seatpost. It creates a bit of a gale when you're spinning fast, and some noise too. For standing up it is very stable, but nothing like a bike for this very reason. Still gets used by various members of the household while watching a movie or playing super mario, which isn't bad for a piece of kit that's hitting 10 years old.
    Kindly stop telling Granny how to suck eggs

Sorry Gran, but...

I also have kettlebells (largely used to keep the clothes dryer door closed properly), punch bag and a stepper which is slightly buggered, a sit-up bench, another sit-up yoke, a WII fit, and various other pieces of home gym clutter. I still go to the classes at the local gym four to five days a week, as having a bit of company makes what is essentially pretty dull exercise more fun and hence easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭pavb2

http://www.irishsportswarehouse.ie/catalog/exercise-bikes/bodytrain-g8sp-racing-exercise-bike

http://www.irishsportswarehouse.ie/catalog/exercise-bikes/cintura-sports-zoom-racing-bike

I was thinking of getting something like this rather than renewing my gym membership as I only use spin bike in gym and I'm already doing classes.

I've heard friction pads wear but shouldn't be a major job to replace what do others think?

No connection with company BTW

pavb2 wrote: »
    http://www.irishsportswarehouse.ie/catalog/exercise-bikes/bodytrain-g8sp-racing-exercise-bike

http://www.irishsportswarehouse.ie/catalog/exercise-bikes/cintura-sports-zoom-racing-bike

I was thinking of getting something like this rather than renewing my gym membership as I only use spin bike in gym and I'm already doing classes.

I've heard friction pads wear but shouldn't be a major job to replace what do others think?

No connection with company BTW

Yeah, I've been looking at that too, and their slightly more expensive model with the heavier fly wheel. Seem astoundingly cheap. It's almost putting me off cos I'm presuming they must be crap. They don't have as showroom either where you can prod and poke, so it's order and hope. If you don't like, they'll take it back but you have to drop it to their depot... in Donegal!!

But if you try it, please come back and let me know what it's like, cos if it's any way half decent at all it's worth a punt for a winter. You'd surely sell it again for a ton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

I tried spinning in both the local gyms in swords, and while the concept has massive potential, these were spinning sessions aimed at general gymers and not cyclists and the ridiculous pushups on the bike, lean out one leg pedaling, and stand up sit down, stand up sit down ruined it for me, and I decided it was not for me. A decent spinning class aimed at roadies however would have great potential for winter training imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

That Lemond yoke looks pretty cool.

I did a lot of spin classes last year, sometimes 3 a week, and I found them great, but I've no problem with a workout on a spin bike on my own. A lot of the spin instructors are .... pants. It's like they've never been on a bike.

Stuff like "

"OK, now we're going to SPRINT for THREE MINUTES"

(who the fcuk sprints for three minutes???)

"Then we'll take 30 seconds rest and then SPRINT AGAIN, for FOUR MINUTES. I wanna see you FLAT OUT! 100%!!!"

If you actually did what they said, you'd be carried out of the studio in a box. I deliberately did everything I was told once by this one who never ever said to bring resistance back down after an effort. Within 5 minutes the front wheel was seized:rolleyes:

Winning solutions excepted, they're brilliant and Scott knows his cycling of course. But my wife and I both want to do the classes, so one class a week each is 30 quid or whatever, which is 100 odd quid a month.... from now until March.

ANYWAY. At the risk of being a forum narky trousers:

I have a turbo trainer
    I've used spin bikes
    I've done spin classes
    I know what they're like
    I have a hat and gloves....

Kindly stop telling Granny how to suck eggs, and somebody, please anybody, address the original frickin' jaysus OP???!!!:pac:
    Ive noticed that too. I reckon the instructors dont even own bicycles either. Ive done 3 spin classes at my gym and after each sprint the instructor says bump up the resistance and get ready to sprint again. the music is loud and the room is quite full so it does motivate a little but the session isnt ideal for me so I improvise, I need a little extra recovery between some of the sprints. the sweating is annoying too because theres 1 fan and it never reaches me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭pavb2

[QUOTE=

No connection with company BTW[/QUOTE]

Bit the bullet and bought this,delivery about a week (bank holiday) no computer so bought one for €10.

Took about half hour to put together seemed to be reasonably well built not as 'industrial' as gym machines but then not for multi user.

All in all I'm happy enough with it, no more excuses just got to clock up the miles

pavb2 wrote: »
    Bit the bullet and bought this,delivery about a week (bank holiday) no computer so bought one for €10.

Took about half hour to put together seemed to be reasonably well built not as 'industrial' as gym machines but then not for multi user.

All in all I'm happy enough with it, no more excuses just got to clock up the miles

Good man yourself. Let us know how you're getting on with it. I think I'll get one myself if they're any way half decent