Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Winning Streak - is it biased against Dublin and Cork people ?

• 13-09-2011 11:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,748 ✭✭✭✭

Whenever I watch Winning Streak, I notice that there are a small number of envelopes in the drum when it is being spun to select the five contestants for the following week. I believe they take an EQUAL number of envelopes from each county and put them in the drum. Statistically more people from Dublin and Cork must be posting in three stars than other counties ? So surely that means that if you are in Leitrim or Louth you have a far better chance of getting picked out on the Saturday night draw. Therefore the competition is biased against Dublin and Cork people. Anyone any opinions on this ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭OMG Its EoinD

Winning streak needs more Cork

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,365 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

TV needs less Winning Streak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Ally Dick wrote: »
    Whenever I watch Winning Streak, I notice that there are a small number of envelopes in the drum when it is being spun to select the five contestants for the following week. I believe they take an EQUAL number of envelopes from each county and put them in the drum. Statistically more people from Dublin and Cork must be posting in three stars than other counties ? So surely that means that if you are in Leitrim or Louth you have a far better chance of getting picked out on the Saturday night draw. Therefore the competition is biased against Dublin and Cork people. Anyone any opinions on this ?

I believe you don't know what tickets end up in the drum so your point is moot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Winning Streak is shite now. Youll never beat Mike Murphy and the glass bubble yoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Tesco Massacre

Why the fu*k would you watch Winning Streak?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

Is it a rule on that show that the presenter has to be as patronising as they can to the contestants.I find most of it cringe worthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

I'm saving all my three star cards and am going to send them in one week. That way I can stupidly select numbers randomly and have Kathryn Thomas throw money and holidays at me based on my random selection.

Also I'm working on my red face and hick relatives to come along.

That's the life for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Tesco Massacre

It gives culchies a chance to see the big smoke, so I suppose it's not all bad.

And it can't be easy for a lot of country people. I mean, some of their towns don't even have Argos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

You're insane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Over 1 million living in Dublin.

Over 100,000 living in Cork.

There's going to be more in a statistical sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,748 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

I believe you don't know what tickets end up in the drum so your point is moot.

Just guess work. I doubt they are putting in a pro-rata number of envelopes related to the number of people entering from each county. If it was fair, there
    would be two Dubs and one Cork person picked out every week. There always seems to be a token Northy pulled out every week as well, to ensure that they keep coming across the border and buying the tickets

Statistically more people from Dublin and Cork must be posting in three stars than other counties ?

Ah, your logic has one fatal flaw. While statistically there are more people with the ability to buy cards in Cork and Dublin, you also have to factor in that people in Cork and Dublin have better things to do than enter Winning Streak, and therefore do not exercise said ability. Probably because young people are drawn to cities, and so the other counties have a higher proportion of old people in them. Old people love Winning Streak. I wouldn't be surprised in Leitrim has more applicants for the program than Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Rocky_Dennis

Every bloke on boards should take a picture of their willy and put the picture into the 3 star envelope and send it off on the same day, twill be gas lads, the look on the presenters face when he pulls out 5 willies as the contestants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭unitedrover

Every bloke on boards should take a picture of their willy and put the picture into the 3 star envelope and send it off on the same day, twill be gas lads, the look on the presenters face when he pulls out 5 willies as the contestants.

Wouldnt work.They have all the tickets checked before the draw is made. Thats why they call out a number so they can display the address straight away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Rocky_Dennis

Wouldnt work.They have all the tickets checked before the draw is made. Thats why they call out a number so they can display the address straight away.

I know it wouldn't work, was a terrible joke :o, the show is not live either so that plan would be gone out the window straight away :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭liogairmhordain

Over 1 million living in Dublin.

1.27 million

Over 100,000 living in Cork.

figures from http://www.cso.ie/census/Table2.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

1.27 million

figures from http://www.cso.ie/census/Table2.htm

518,000 in Cork? Are they people or PPS numbers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

I used to think Winning Streak was sh!te but I've watched it recently and it's actually pretty funny.

Send an email to the authority who looks after the lotto and see what they have to say about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Does Derek Mooney still present that show:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭WinstonOno

rte covers its dub quota with Fair City and the corks believe rte should be based in cork, ''coz its the capital'', so they wont leave

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Joe Duffy covers the Dublin quota, he turns RTÉ Radio into a Dublin local station
    Dedicated a good part of his show last week on renaming a Dublin street, wow like that's national news

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Resi12

I hate this show, I swear they pass out tranquillisers in the waiting room for the contestants.

Marty: "YOU'VE JUST WON A BRAND NEW '11 CAR, €23,000 AND AN ALL EXPENSE PAID HOLIDAY TO NEW YORK!!!!!"

Country Woman: "oh lovely.."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭unitedrover

mikemac wrote: »
    Joe Duffy covers the Dublin quota, he turns RTÉ Radio into a Dublin local station
    Dedicated a good part of his show last week on renaming a Dublin street, wow like that's national news

Joe- "There was a woman on the other day from Clontaaaaaaarf"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

It's biased against those of us that don't suffer from a mental illness yet have to hear about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

I havent watched it in years. My auld watches it and he tuts whenever someone doesnt pick the right thing. He'll always say 'ahhhh, she should have picked box number three, i told you so!' Gas, i'd say he'd love to be on it, but he wont admit it. :D

Yes, he is a bit of a culchie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,892 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Say there's 1 million people in dublin, and 6 million in the country. Statistically, you would expect most contestants not to be from dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

Can RTE not get rid of this pile of ****e and replace it with some game show that requires some form of skill? Seriously the entire show just consists of pushing random buttons. There's fcuk all entertainment value for anyone watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

All a fix i think why aint the tickets being drawn out in front of the public instead they get 100 tickets, sure thats not a proper draw getting 100 of them and then out of them 100 thats picked out of the 1st picking to go into a 2nd picking i think once a ticket is picked 1st that sould be it, so to me its a pure money making scam
    and them two that present the show muppets come to mind marty how in the name of god did he get on the telly? ****ed up RTE again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,705 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

plenty of knobs around here alright................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,302 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Here is a Corkonian with the real story.

http://www.peoplesrepublicofcork.com/forums/showthread.php?t=178774

Anyway what really happens is that they get thousands every week, do a supervised random draw of 100 and open them up to see if they are valid. They need to see if there is really a three star ticket inside and not a picture of some fellas willie. And some people no doubt forget to put their name and address or make it indicepherable without an hour and a team of graphologist to figure it out. This process makes for a smooth operation on the night.

The problem with a draw of only 100 is that it is not enough to factor in different variables. Prize Bonds with 7500 is a better indicator of populations if you look at the map. It is roughly these numbers every week for each county and for overseas. But when the draw used to be done in increments of 8 I saw one week where no Bond from Louth had won after 300 but there were around 100 after 7500 were drawn, this is the nature of random.

http://www.prizebonds.ie/livedraw/drawresults.asp?0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

my great great uncle bill was on it he is from dublin, they told him that the reason hardly anyone from dublin is ever on it is because they very very little entries from dublin compared to other parts of the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Giruilla

Agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

OP is entirely correct. It's horribly rigged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭lucozader

the show always has red neck auld wans

nothing else