Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PJ, DJ and CJ

• 13-09-2011 3:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,304 ✭✭✭

Some people seem not to like their names and get known as one of the above. Why don't they just change their name ? PJ seems particularly common in Ireland.

I've never heard of anyone calling themself BJ though !

Also, is it only men who do this ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,003 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

Are this not hames like john-paul JP

CJ charles james and so on.

Was talking about shortening names yesterday with someone and the one that confuses me the most is when james gets shortened to shay :confused::confused:

Most self proclaimed free speech absolutists are giant big whiny snowflakes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

CJD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

DJ denotes a complete and utter bogger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭some random drunk

Are this not hames like john-paul JP

CJ charles james and so on.

Was talking about shortening names yesterday with someone and the one that confuses me the most is when james gets shortened to shay :confused::confused:

James=Seamus=Shay

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

orourkeda wrote: »
    CJD

Or BSE, or BCG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,003 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

James=Seamus=Shay

Where were you yesterday when i actually wanted the answer to this question?

Lets see if you can help with the next one.
    So why do people called john get called jack then?

Most self proclaimed free speech absolutists are giant big whiny snowflakes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,304 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

orourkeda wrote: »
    CJD

Creutzfeldt–Jakob disease ? That's mad ! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Or BSE, or BCG

Or AIDS (short from Aidan)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Billy Joe...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Wattle wrote: »
    DJ denotes a complete and utter bogger.

:( So all those lads laying on music in Dublin clubs are boggers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

JZ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Those are Indian names.

Peejay

Ceejay

Deejay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

bonzodog2 wrote: »
    Some people seem not to like their names and get known as one of the above. Why don't they just change their name ? PJ seems particularly common in Ireland.

Also, is it only men who do this ?

BJ and the Bear?

Which would make an awesome gay porn title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭chosen1

I know both a PJ and a JP and it's their actual names. Always thought they were shortened until I saw their birth certs. Sure it's not too common though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,304 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Ooops, I forgot TJ !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭Caraville

I know 2 men called MJ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

bijapos wrote: »
    :( So all those lads laying on music in Dublin clubs are boggers?

No I mean Dinny Joe McGinty. He's always leppin and schleppin and aetin spuds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭dennyire

I know a JJ and his brother is Jonjo ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭some random drunk

Where were you yesterday when i actually wanted the answer to this question?

Lets see if you can help with the next one.
    So why do people called john get called jack then?

This one's a little more complicated. Basically John and Jack are the same name. The name Jack was the short form of the name Jankin or Jackin approx 800 years go. Jankin itself was an Old English translation of the Hebrew name John.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

I know a fella called BJ.

His mum must of had a really painful labour and was getting her own back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

BJ is a name that might not go down too well. Actually cum to think of it, it might go down very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

I know a woman named Margaret whose name is shortened to "Rie". I never got where that one came from :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

How do they get Peggy from Margaret?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

I know three people called JJ. One is James John and another is John James

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Aoifey! wrote: »
    I know a woman named Margaret whose name is shortened to "Rie". I never got where that one came from :confused:

Her second name was Tard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

I know a Rie who's real name is Margaret too:). Must find out why. Maybe it's a Wexford thing;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

bonzodog2 wrote: »

BJ who runs NV Nightclub's Friday night parties ;) (Short for Barry John)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

I know a fella called BJ.

His mum must of had a really painful labour and was getting her own back!

I am a BJ :(

I have a double barrelled christian name, my "friends" in the 80's shortened it to BJ...........it stuck and I havent been able to get rid of it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

My initials are OJ - which is so ironic given that I've never murdered any two people ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

It's probably from Marguerite or something. My aunt's name was Margaret but was always known as Rita.

benwavner wrote: »
    I am a BJ :(

I have a double barrelled christian name, my "friends" in the 80's shortened it to BJ...........it stuck and I havent been able to get rid of it!!

Awwww Beej <hugs>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Awwww Beej <hugs>

Thaaaaaaanks!! Moar hugz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

Barney the dinosaurs bff is called BJ, a bit furked up eh,
    http://barney.wikia.com/wiki/BJ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

JR, which has a nice dallas flavour to it, i think you;ll agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Naomi00

I know of someone called 'Jaykay' which is way worse. Instead of shortening two names into initials, it's two letters spelt phonetically :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

I know a fella called Anthony (first name) Paul (middle name), everyone calls him A.P., even his parents, at school, college applications etc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 468 ✭✭J K

Naomi00 wrote: »
    I know of someone called 'Jaykay' which is way worse. Instead of shortening two names into initials, it's two letters spelt phonetically :confused:

Go fuck yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

My name can be shortened as LJ. It never really took off. If only I was American and a sports star:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Naomi00

J K wrote: »
    Go fuck yourself.

...I don't think you read that right :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Absurdum wrote: »
    It's probably from Marguerite or something. My aunt's name was Margaret but was always known as Rita.
    Oooh, that actually makes sense. The things Boards has taught me :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

PJ and Duncan.

Ooooh biker grove! Which one was pj and which one was duncan?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 468 ✭✭J K

Naomi00 wrote: »
    ...I don't think you read that right :rolleyes:

Or could it be that you didn't read it right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,316 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭yuloni

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭confuseddotcom

Can we talk bogger in this Forum? :) There's no Forum allocated for txt-spk and it gets so annoyingly monotonous having to write out every single god-damn word in full! :) Am frikened I'll get a warning if I leave 1 letter out. :)

There's a load a Tommy Joe's TJ's schattered around tha vicinity. :)

Shure lookit I know 2 MJ's actually. Jaysus as shure as you're there JJ is fiersch common enough too did ye cover john Joe? :)

/bogger-talk

Disclaimer: Have discovered I'm not great at talking bogger-talk after all. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Good friend called JD, always there for me when I need it. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭up for anything

My dad's initials are BJ. He seems to have gotten around this by declaring he hates his first name (and no one would blame him) by using Pat. If he has to initialise he uses BJB.

There also is the 'creature' BJ on the Barney show but that would be like throwing a sausage down Oxford Street, the size of his gob. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I watched an episode of the X Files yesterday that had a woman called BJ in it. When Scully asked Mulder why he wanted to investigate the case Mulder gave her a few reasons, one of which was that he was "intrigued by women called BJ".