Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Changing radio in 06 Ford Focus Estate

• 13-09-2011 2:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭

My radio doesn't have an AUX out or play cds, cracking me up listening to the radio the whole time, have asked around about putting an AUX line in but apparently it can't really be done.

So I have to change the car radio it seems. It's just a matter of getting the radio (Halfords, 70e) the facia and an ISO block(?)

Ford are quoting me 68e for the Facia, which seems like robbery, Halfords are saying 60e. After a bit of googling I came up with this, is this what I'm looking for?

http://www.incar-emporium.com/product_info.php?cPath=667&products_id=4637&TeKnoID=5d09f79cd3afbab7eb6d27a592ba94ce

Any ideas on where to source the correct ISO block? I'm a bit at sea when it comes to them.

Thanks for the advice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭barura

Splice the wires yourself. A cable crimping kit costs 10eur. That's for the isoblock.
    Make a blanking plate for the remainder of the space for 10euro as well... A piece of plastic would cover it no problem. No need to go crazy on price. If you're reselling the car, just put the old radio back in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭leakyboots

barura wrote: »
    Splice the wires yourself. A cable crimping kit costs 10eur. That's for the isoblock.
    Make a blanking plate for the remainder of the space for 10euro as well... A piece of plastic would cover it no problem. No need to go crazy on price. If you're reselling the car, just put the old radio back in.

Cheers for the advice but not all of that makes sense to me - I'm useless with my hands for that sort of stuff, I'm getting a local autoelectrician to do the job for me, I'm just trying to source the cheapest (and correct) parts.

My main concern is have I sourced the right facia for the job?

I'll hang onto the old radio though for reselling, hadn't thought of that (even if it is dodgy)

That link doesn't work for the fascia. Sorry, I forgot to mention.

Looks like you need to log in on that site I think? But in fairness, maybe check with your auto electrician, if he does what his title says, he should be able to source you one cheap.

Strange that the link won't work, I double checked it and fixed the original link. Here's a screenshot attached anyway - yer man seemed to want to leave it up to me, "source the parts and come back to me".

Just want to make sure I have the right one. Thanks for the help!

That looks like it will do the job.

Also, halfords install radios for free I'm pretty sure. It is probably just a case of popping out the old one and pop in the fascia and the iso adapter on the old plug and put in the new radio. I would hardly think you would need to spend too much more than just the fascia, adapter and fixing adapter.

That looks like it will do the job.Also, halfords install radios for free I'm pretty sure. It is probably just a case of popping out the old one and pop in the fascia and the iso adapter on the old plug and put in the new radio. I would hardly think you would need to spend too much more than just the fascia, adapter and fixing adapter.

Sound, glad I've that sorted it. Saving myself about 40e on Ford/Halfords.

As for having Halfords install it, nice idea but I've a bluetooth yoke that came with the car that I want to hang onto, very handy when driving. As far as I know that is wired in with the radio so I dunno if Halfords would sort that for me too?

The autoelectrician guy said he'd do it for 40e and he comes very highly recommended from anyone I spoke to.

Any ideas on the ISO block and where I could source one? Hadn't even heard of one until a couple of hours ago. The autoelectrician said they're about 20e

If your auto electrician isn't bothered to source the iso block, I cannot see how he is "highly recommended". Having said that, if he wants 40eur of your hard earned money for something that is essentially an hours work, he should be bothered to source it for you. Or even wire up a new iso block for you! I would expect that for 40euro, in fairness.

Also, if there is a bluetooth device already hooked up, the person who installed it might have added an standard connector back there. Without checking it my self, I can't really help you out, I'm afraid

Having said all that, if you bring it to the guy and he hooks it up for 40eur and everything works bobby afterwards, I figure that would be worth it if you don't like getting your hands dirty with this stuff.

In short, get him to find the connector for you, or ask him to wire one up. It's really not difficult for a person who is actually in the profession of auto electrics.

Sorry for my little rant. :)

If your auto electrician isn't bothered to source the iso block, I cannot see how he is "highly recommended". Having said that, if he wants 40eur of your hard earned money for something that is essentially an hours work, he should be bothered to source it for you. Or even wire up a new iso block for you! I would expect that for 40euro, in fairness.

Also, if there is a bluetooth device already hooked up, the person who installed it might have added an standard connector back there. Without checking it my self, I can't really help you out, I'm afraid

Having said all that, if you bring it to the guy and he hooks it up for 40eur and everything works bobby afterwards, I figure that would be worth it if you don't like getting your hands dirty with this stuff.

In short, get him to find the connector for you, or ask him to wire one up. It's really not difficult for a person who is actually in the profession of auto electrics.

Sorry for my little rant. :)

Fair enough, I'll take your word for it regarding how easy it is. The radio itself is tricky to get out so I can't have a look at it myself.

I'll source the fascia and the radio and maybe ring him and tell him I can't sort the ISO block, he might do the whole lot for 40/50e.

oh! A quick google brought me to this: http://www.nexxia.co.uk/products.asp?category=Ford%20Fitting%20Kits&section=CAR%20AUDIO

I think that is what you're looking for.

oh! A quick google brought me to this: http://www.nexxia.co.uk/products.asp?category=Ford%20Fitting%20Kits&section=CAR%20AUDIO

I think that is what you're looking for.

Ah you legend, the 23.99 Ford Focus >05 one I take it? Has that my lot so, inc. ISO blocky-yoke, just order that and source the radio in Halfords?

Yeap! http://www.nexxia.co.uk/product.asp?product_code=FKS-532&category=Ford%20Fitting%20Kits&section=CAR%20AUDIO

that one I'm 99% sure will do you grand.

All you need then is the radio and your man in the shop will get your sorted the rest of the way.

Yeap! http://www.nexxia.co.uk/product.asp?product_code=FKS-532&category=Ford%20Fitting%20Kits&section=CAR%20AUDIO

that one I'm 99% sure will do you grand.

All you need then is the radio and your man in the shop will get your sorted the rest of the way.

Brilliant, listen thanks a million for your help Barura, much appreciated. This radio has been driving me mad since I bought the car. Just have to clear the feckin' credit card to order it now! Thanks again

No problemo. I'd almost suggest giving it a try yourself if you wanted to save 40euro, but at least if your auto sparks does it you'll be sure it works.

Best of luck!