Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I just realized...I hate TEXTING!!

• 13-09-2011 11:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,630 ✭✭✭

When someone texts me a question, I hate having to sit there and text back and wait ages for another reply only for the person to say "sorry i was busy".

I do something that nobody expects, when someone texts me a question, I RING them back and tell them the answer, I prefer it that way. The conversation comes and goes nice and easy rather than;

"You wanna go out drinkin'?"
    *send*....................
    *waits 15 mins*
    *beep*..
    "Nah sorry I'm having a night in with the missus, maybe tomorrow yeah?" ....
    *recieve* "Yeah alright, what time will we meet up?"
    *send*.....*wait 30mins!!*
    *beep*
    "9".....
    30 minutes to type one key.

A whole conversation ends after almost an hour when compared to a phone call;
    "Fancy a drink?"
    "Nah can't I'm having a night in, tomorrow?"
    "Yeah sound what time?"
    "Ah 9 be grand"

DONE. 10 seconds.

This is based off my own experience with the mobile phone and the friends I have that use them. Most of 'em take as long as a full day to text back.

One night I send 4 lads the same text asking "Who's all going out?"

I got 1 out of the 4 replies back sayin "I'm at a wedding boy sorry" within a minute

The other 3 came the following afternoon: "Sorry, couldn't make it", "I'm in Greece ya dope", "Sorry, phone was in the other room"

Yeah, I hate texting.

Rant over....?
    :P

EDIT: Forgot to mention, 2 out of the 4 lads' phones were off when I tried to ring them and one of them rang out (the one with the phone in the other room)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Sorry, I can't reply to your thread as I just hate typing on the internet :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,694 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

textins for wimmin and chizzlers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

Texts are great for breaking up with girls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

how did you not know one of your 4 friends was in greece ye dope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Seems like you love typing though OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

I actually hate talking on the phone! I have no idea why...its an awkward thing!

Sometimes I prefer to just do it casually over a few texts. Although it works out a lot more expensive than a 10sec call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

At least attach your phone number so that we can call you with our thoughts :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

gamercfc wrote: »

Nobody ever sends me texts like that! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

py2006 wrote: »
    I actually hate talking on the phone! I have no idea why...its an awkward thing!

Sometimes I prefer to just do it casually over a few texts. Although it works out a lot more expensive than a 10sec call.

lol paying for texts, how quaint, i hate talking on the phone too, i do it 8 hours a day so dont want to chat at home, calls are quick meetimg up arrangements and thats it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭TheBody

I'm on your side op. Hate texting!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

That post speaks to my heart OP. Texting frustrates the hell out of me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

get friends who reply faster.

I love texts, they stop me having to actually hear peoples voices. The one feature I wish my phone didnt have was calls, I hate talking on the phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Texting gets you straight to the point without all the smalltalk bullsh*t!

Text, "Are you going out tonight?"
    Answer of "Yes" or "No"

Make a call on the same subject and it then turns into:

Me: You out tonight
    Him: Na, can't tonight
    *awkward silence*
    Him: Any news?
    Me: Na not really?
    Him: how's the brother? Is he still up in the other place?
    Me: Yeah he's working away, keeping himself busy!
    *awkward silence*
    Him: Jaysus he's some man, is he still with that quare wan?
    Me: Oh yeah he is, she's up the stink, didn't I tell you this last Saturday night?
    Him: You might have done, I was locked!
    Me: So was I
    *awkward silence*
    Him: Did you see the game today?
    Me: No
    *awkward silence*
    Him: Back any win.....
    Me: Have to go, bye
    *hang up*

So a one word answer turned into a couple of minutes of awkward conversation that neither party wanted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,630 ✭✭✭Gamer Bhoy 89

wonton wrote: »
    how did you not know one of your 4 friends was in greece ye dope.

I forgot lol

kfallon wrote: »

Answer of "Yes" or "No"

*awkward silence*
    Me: Oh yeah he is, she's up the stink, didn't I tell you this last Saturday night?
    *awkward silence*
    *hang up*

So a one word answer turned into a couple of minutes of awkward conversation that neither party wanted!

Like i said, it's based on what I deal with when texting anybody not just friends, i used that one night as a prime example because it was a big pain in the a*se

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Caveman1

It doesnt bother me whether I text or talk on the phone but I hate when I get a phone call on a packed bus or train so that's where texting comes in handy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

I hate texting as well it takes me ages
    I dream
    If only they could come up with a better way to communicate
    Imagine if we could actually talk to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

EDIT: Forgot to mention, 2 out of the 4 lads' phones were off when I tried to ring them and one of them rang out (the one with the phone in the other room)

He was fapping in the other room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Eroticfishcake

Much prefer texting when organising a night out coz you can just send one group text instead of making many phone calls and wasting all the pub conversation for later.

I hate texting too. Mainly because I'm too lazy to push the buttons to create letters. Oh, and also because I can't really be bothered... :p

I hate it the most when I get texts only saying:
    "Wot u doin?"

I mean, what the hay??
    ... As if I'm going to reply to a stupid text like that :p

You were self pleasuring, weren't you? :P

Was just waiting for that one. How very original :p

The truth is always the most original :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Answer of "Yes" or "No"

*awkward silence*
    *hang up*

Strange because thats how I feel about Instant Messaging:

Bootytooty: Hi
    Overheal: Hey
    Bootytooty: What you doin
    Overheal: nm
    *pause*
    *pause*
    *pause*
    Overheal: You?
    *pause*
    Bootytooty: nm
    *pause*
    *long pause*
    Bootytooty: Wanna go get a drink?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Answer of "Yes" or "No"

*awkward silence*
    *hang up*

So you wanted to head out with this person but can't speak to them on the phone for 5 minutes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Omeceron

I got 1 out of the 4 replies back sayin "I'm at a wedding boy sorry" within a minute

The other 3 came the following afternoon: "Sorry, couldn't make it", "I'm in Greece ya dope", "Sorry, phone was in the other room"

Yeah, I hate texting.

Rant over....?

You got better results from texting than you did from ringing.

mconigol wrote: »
    So you wanted to head out with this person but can't speak to them on the phone for 5 minutes?

Gotta round up the rest of the gang obviously!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Perhaps they couldn't understand what you meant and it just took them that long to figure it out?

That or they just don't like you. I'm always slow / don't reply to people I don't really like. Instant reply for those I do ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

mconigol wrote: »

Whats the point when you're going to see them in an hour or two!

Omeceron wrote: »
    You got better results from texting than you did from ringing.

This was after a texted them after waiting an hour i tried ringing them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Dovies wrote: »
    Nobody ever sends me texts like that! :(

Aaaawwww, PM text sent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭mr.noobie

When someone texts me a question, I hate having to sit there and text back and wait ages for another reply only for the person to say "sorry i was busy".

I do something that nobody expects, when someone texts me a question, I RING them back and tell them the answer, I prefer it that way. The conversation comes and goes nice and easy rather than;

*send*....................
    *waits 15 mins*
    *beep*..
    "Nah sorry I'm having a night in with the missus, maybe tomorrow yeah?" ....
    *recieve* "Yeah alright, what time will we meet up?"
    *send*.....*wait 30mins!!*
    *beep*
    "9".....
    30 minutes to type one key.

A whole conversation ends after almost an hour when compared to a phone call;
    "Fancy a drink?"
    "Nah can't I'm having a night in, tomorrow?"
    "Yeah sound what time?"
    "Ah 9 be grand"

DONE. 10 seconds.

This is based off my own experience with the mobile phone and the friends I have that use them. Most of 'em take as long as a full day to text back.

Yeah, I hate texting.

Rant over....?

Ever thought that i dunno, just maybe they dont like you? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭LaVail

I rather txting some folk but ringing others. Some people act like they have adhd on the phone and can't pause even for one second due to fear of an awkward silence. They need to be the party starter and feel every word out of their mouths is comic gold or at least very very interesting....well I have news for you, it's not.

I always had one guy phone me after work a few years back, he craved attention and couldn't help but talk ****e down the phone to me for an hour thinking he was the man. In the finish I used to just hang up and turn off the phone because I had pins n needles in my arm and my ear was roasted from listening to the guy.

Texting gets the job done in most cases and people who get offended because we don't wait by the phone every second of the day just to listen to you should cop on a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

A few words in a text wouldn't hurt anyone!? 'You going out' 'you fancy a pint'? Just state time and place and your there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭nicechick!

so do I! no one bothers text me anyone I won't reply or if I do I would be very like your friends... texting after the event, the next day or if ever for that matter