Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If ROG Doesn't Start on Saturday.

• 13-09-2011 2:35am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11

Ok Kidney has annoyed me intensely as I have lost count how many times he has started Sexton over Ireland's premier Fly- Half.

O'Gara's vast experience and skills gives him a huge advantage over the less experienced Sexton. O'Gara is easily a world class out half and has notable advantages over Sexton as an overall kicker, and in leadership and for consistency.

Sexton has just yet again just proved himself to be unreliable during the USA game. He performed awfully overall. He Missed chances, couldn't get Ireland moving in the backs and did not have the range of kicking to make it a hard day for the USA's back three. As soon as ROG came on he put himself in the frame for a start in a week's time with an assured display. Kicked well and got the backline moving better.

O'Gara's forte is his kicking from hand and reliability when in front of goal. He has scored over 1'000 points for his country and more than double that for Munster. He is as consistent as a kicker across the board as anyone else in world rugby whether it be drop goals, kicking from hand or garryowens.

O'Garas distribution and passing skills are far more advanced than Sextons without a doubt. He has quicker hands, is able to perform set-plays better and He isn't greedy with the ball either unlike Sexton.

I know the majority of the people reading this are instantly going to ramble on about O'Gara's defensive game. But It's not that much of a problem. He CAN tackle! He wouldn't be a professional rugby player if he couldn't. Nevertheless an Out-halfs job is not tied to defense. Flankers from and right and centers from the left can help ROG in his defense if the opposition target him.

Ronan as our Fly- Half needs to start in probably his final Rugby World cup. Think back to 2009, who was the man to bring us the grand slam home after 61 years awaiting?

Can you really justify leaving one of the greatest kickers to ever play rugby on the bench Kidney?

I can't believe the IRFU have just signed another contract with Kidney before the Tournament even started. At least let him manage the team with his job on the line!

_51390029_ronan_jon.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

ROGFOR10 wrote: »
    Think back to 2009, who was the man to bring us the grand slam home after 61 years awaiting?

Brian O'Driscoll?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 ROGFOR10

CouchSmart wrote: »
    Brian O'Driscoll?

I don't think Dricco got the drop goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭circos

3055131436_feed20the20troll_xlarge.jpeg

circos wrote: »
    3055131436_feed20the20troll_xlarge.jpeg

What sort of stupid input is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭basillarkin

I don't think Dricco got the drop goal
    should you not be training for the game at the weekend?

None of yous are funny. I expected half intelligent replies from dedicated rugby fans. Not smart arsed twats with nonsense replies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭yawha

Think back to 2009, who was the man to bring us the grand slam home after 61 years awaiting?
    Stephen Jones?

yawha wrote: »
    Stephen Jones?

More smart arsed twats, I give up. I'm not going to bother reading any more replies until the afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭circos

Ok Kidney has annoyed me intensely as I have lost count how many times he has started Sexton over Ireland's premier Fly- Half.

O'Gara's vast experience and skills gives him a huge advantage over the less experienced Sexton. O'Gara is easily a world class out half and has notable advantages over Sexton as an overall kicker, and in leadership and for consistency.

Sexton has just yet again just proved himself to be unreliable during the USA game. He performed awfully overall. He Missed chances, couldn't get Ireland moving in the backs and did not have the range of kicking to make it a hard day for the USA's back three. As soon as ROG came on he put himself in the frame for a start in a week's time with an assured display. Kicked well and got the backline moving better.

O'Gara's forte is his kicking from hand and reliability when in front of goal. He has scored over 1'000 points for his country and more than double that for Munster. He is as consistent as a kicker across the board as anyone else in world rugby whether it be drop goals, kicking from hand or garryowens.

O'Garas distribution and passing skills are far more advanced than Sextons without a doubt. He has quicker hands, is able to perform set-plays better and He isn't greedy with the ball either unlike Sexton.

I know the majority of the people reading this are instantly going to ramble on about O'Gara's defensive game. But It's not that much of a problem. He CAN tackle! He wouldn't be a professional rugby player if he couldn't. Nevertheless an Out-halfs job is not tied to defense. Flankers from and right and centers from the left can help ROG in his defense if the opposition target him.

Ronan as our Fly- Half needs to start in probably his final Rugby World cup. Think back to 2009, who was the man to bring us the grand slam home after 61 years awaiting?

Can you really justify leaving one of the greatest kickers to ever play rugby on the bench Kidney?

I can't believe the IRFU have just signed another contract with Kidney before the Tournament even started. At least let him manage the team with his job on the line!

_51390029_ronan_jon.jpg

Getting a bit ahead of yourself there.

ROG is now Irelands backup 10. No question about it. Great man to have to come on but hes not our no.1

Sexton is a great passer of the ball his distribution in the backline is one of his strengths i dont know how you can say ROG is better at that...

Think back to 2009? Its 2011, new rules, new game. And one drop goal didnt win us the grand slam. The team won us a grand slam.

People "ramble" on about his defense game because its an issue. If you cant see it then take off your glasses and look closer.

INHO ROG did nothing of merit in the USA game. He had a 50% kick success rate. 1 from 2.

Sexton to start against Aus all day long in my book.

You sound like an angry Munster/ROG fan, or a troll. Maybe you should have angled your thread as a debate rather than you saying "DONT PLAY SEXTON I WANT ROG!!!! EVERYONE AGREE!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭basillarkin

More smart arsed twats, I give up. I'm not going to bother reading any more replies until the afternoon.
    Rog has had his days in the sun, he has been a great servant to Irish rugby, especially Munster but I believe his best days are behind him, it's time to throw our lotin with Johnny, this world cup will be a great experience for him and should bring him on loads.
    No matter what you say about Rog, his defence is suspect, he just cant seem to get in the right positions and if started against the Aussies, I believe Deans will exploit this by sending Pocock, Elsom, samo, Palu, Higginbottom or whoever will be backrow down his channel.
    Australia use their blind side wingers alot also and I would expect Cooper to use Mitchell/O' Connor/ Ashley Cooper and target Rog. I just hope Sexton gets the nod as I believe Ireland will be on the backfoot for the majority of the game.
    Goalkicking at this tournament has been shocking so far, in fairness to Sexton it was wet the last day and while his goalkicking is not as good as Rog I firmly believe he is the better option for the Aussies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 974 ✭✭✭BarackPyjama

*sigh*

IBTL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭doomed

Is this another Leinster fan supports Sexton; Munster fan for O'Gara thread? For me it comes down to the conditions and the type of game. If its wet again and we are going to go for a 10 man game with a lot of kicking then for me its O'Gara. If we want to have a real go at them and handle the ball then I would have Sexton. We are lucky to have a cholce between two really top quality out halves.