Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Using Facemasks When Stalking ?

• 12-09-2011 9:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭

Lads, I stalk with two different groups of lads, one group always use camoflage face masks every time we're out, but the other lads dont use them at all.
    In ye're experience are face masks of any benefit at all and would ye be for or against them ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Well the face is usually one of the biggest pieces of exposed skin when hunting, be that sitting in a hide for duck or out stalking.

Went for a night flight on Saturday night, (got one mallard) my old man was sitting a fair distance from me and as the light faded the only thing I could see was his face. In the twilight his jacket blended all of him into the bushes, bar his skin.

In faded light as things become a bit more monochrome it might actually simulate black and white or colorblind vision. So I can only guess that covering the face would be a good thing from a concealment point of view.

Do you need it on every stalk, certainly not. Would it help on stalks where you are a little more exposed than you'd like, probably.

I don't think it would need to be camo or a face mask. A plain colored snood and hat would cover most of the skin a

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭natdog

they have there benefits i wouldnt go stalking or pigeon shooting without it but i use the gauze type very breedable i tried snoods and the rest and the heat would kill you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭moby30

i just always carry one in my pocket anyway. wouldnt say you need it all the time but for the sake of a few euros just bring one with you. i have the guaze one aswell-very light and doesnt shrink your head with the heat, just gets a little uncomfortable around the mouth/nose if i have it on for too long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

I wear an Australian bush hat, bow your head and the brim of the hat covers your white face, which is what deer associate with danger.

I agree with the guys on heat, I sometimes wore a mozzy net while walking in the hills of Wickla and Kilworth and the heat would make you wanna boil over.

Most important part of stalking is covering your sound and smell.
    Today although a shi*e day, you could get to within 10 yards of deer if you walk into the wind.

Hopefully unlike me they will not be all fecking females :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 864 ✭✭✭session savage

I always use a scarf type thing. Dont know what they are called but its basically a fabric tube that looks like a really light scarf and when I want to hide my face i just pull it up cowbow style over my nose and over my ears too. so my hat covers the rest and only my eyes are out.
    Its also REALLY handy for keepin the flies out of my ears and mouth when I'm camped up in some dyke or ditch:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

Also one of the benifits of a face mask is the deer will not be able to formally identify you in a line up :D

I have one that i use for ducks to keep the midges off my face more than any thing
    If the animals can see your siluette they they are already gone, face mask would only be necessary while hiding in a blind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭natdog

[QUOTE=4gun;74361770
    If the animals can see your siluette they they are already gone, face mask would only be necessary while hiding in a blind[/QUOTE]
    Thats what camo was invented for to break up your siluette and the face mask then covers the rest. You have a much better chance with the face mask on a stalk but maybe that depends on the shots you take.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

natdog wrote: »
    Thats what camo was invented for to break up your siluette and the face mask then covers the rest. You have a much better chance with the face mask on a stalk but maybe that depends on the shots you take.

Disruptive patterned material will not break up your silloutte any better than a pair of jeans, what does, is not getting yourself out on open ground, sticking close to cover so if you see a dee you stop motionless and often teh deer will not even notice you UNLESS YOU MOVE ;)

QSome guys go to town and tie strips of old hession sack and green material to your body so your outline is less defined.

Although this only causes more hassle than it's worth getting snagged in brambles.

What gets you close to deer is moving with caution, and no clanging, coins in the pocket, metal in pocket, knifes keys etc, get rid.

Smells, you can use non scented soap to wash, and you can get non sented wipes for the underarms.

And as Dwighet says, NEVER wash your stalking clothes as they will smell like the fields.:D

No need to roll in poop now boys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭mrbrianj

Don't know about never washing your gear, reckon they may smell BO as quick as Daz, wind in your face may work just as well

I reckon that a face mask and gloves whilst not essential, are really useful and at a small hassle and cost are definitely worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭sikastag

If you have one, a beard is always quite useful I find.

Lot of lads may be out with a facemask with them and not know it. If you find yourself in a predicament where one is needed (general covering up or extreme midges) its useful to wear two t-shirts or a shirt and t-shirt as the extra layer (t-shirt) can double as a face mask. Just pop the t-shirt over your head (as if to put it on), leaving your arms out of sleeves with your face sticking out of head hole. Basically the crew neck would be surrounding your face, then just tie the sleeves behind your head, pull the bottom part of crew neck which should be at your chin up to desired level (leave your nose in or out, up to you), tighten sleeves and voila. Basic but works when your stuck! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

natdog wrote: »

i dont use a face mask for deer, I never had a problem shooting them
    if they run I'm pretty sure it had nothing to do with my dashing good looks:D
    think of it this way if some one was hunting you with a gun ( imagine your a deer) would you stick around to see what they looked like.
    I'm a full believer that some animals can tell the differance between types of gun, it could of course be my imagination that whenever I'm out with the shottie crows will give you an exceptionally wide berth ...take out a rifle and they will fly straight over your head.
    I could draw the same conclusion for deer that they could tell the differance between a gun and say a stick..they just wouldn't give you the benifit of the doubt :D

if your sitting in a blind I definately would say that a face mask is an essential piece of kit, absolutely ...but on the other hand if your actively mobile while stalking DPM isn't even necessary
    Some of the lads i have stalked with just have plain green clothing and hasn't had anegative effect on their stalking abilities.
    plus a lot of the clothing we buy for stalking doesn't have the correct patterns for irish flora, they have American patterns which usually hasn't got enough green and too much brown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭demonloop

Jack Pyke make a balaclava thats lightweight mesh. In their English Oak camo patern it is really good.

You can have your eyes showing, or pull down a flap which covers them too.

They also do a Leaf version, that has leaves stitched on, like a ghillie, and still really lightweight

Can't recall the prices off-hand...