Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Frankie Sheahan

• 11-09-2011 6:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,874 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Is he serious? He's probably the worst pundit I've ever had to listen to in any sport. So bad I actually like listening to him :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

clsmooth wrote: »
    Is he serious? He's probably the worst pundit I've ever had to listen to in any sport. So bad I actually like listening to him :o

What he say ? Wasnt watchin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,176 ✭✭✭✭phog

Aside from a bit of red tint (no worse than analysts from other provinces) I think he's grand, obvioulsy he has a great understanding of the game and gives a good insight into the various moves/set pieces, especally from the forwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,874 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Skunkle wrote: »
    What he say ? Wasnt watchin.

Just in general. I don't think it helps when Conor O'Shea is sitting beside him talking sense. Although he did say Ireland's scrum is a real weapon going forward after matching England (the best scrummaging team in the world) and hammering the US

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

phog wrote: »
    (no worse than analysts from other provinces)

Ah, come on.

tolosenc wrote: »
    Ah, come on.

I suppose it depends on where your from and what you have to listen to ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,948 ✭✭✭jacothelad

If we had the benefit of sub-titles perhaps..............:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭flynninio

gerry thornley shud get job on tv? he always talks sense to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

The thing is, he goes from an OK pundit when Munster players aren't involved to absolutely shocking when they are there. Nevermind when his clients are on the field.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

I cant stand him, he's a poor choice of a pundit anyway IMO, he only recently stopped playing so cant be guaranteed to give an impartial view, hence his defense of Buckley after the French game.
    As well as that I dont think he played the game to a high enough standard to be a credible pundit on international rugby, he was never really an international standard hooker, I remember against France in the 2007 RWC when he came on for Flannery who clearly was struggling with an injury, Sheehan was so far off the pace that Flannery had to come back on even though he was obviously still struggling. How's he meant to offer legitimate criticism on a standard of play that he never reached. There's a reason the bbc has guys like Guscott, Davies and Wood. They mightnt be the best pundits but at least they've credibility.

clsmooth wrote: »
    Just in general. I don't think it helps when Conor O'Shea is sitting beside him talking sense. Although he did say Ireland's scrum is a real weapon going forward after matching England (the best scrummaging team in the world) and hammering the US

I think your being incredibly harsh, especially after the nonsense Hook has been spouting in the last few days (if ever a man deserved the title). I have no problem with Frankie as a pundit I think he has a good knowledge of the game and in general his points are valid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭RoryMc23

As someone whos largely neutral (I support my home province's rivals when my good friend is playing for them even against my home province) I can safely say that Sheehan is by far the most biased pundit in the business. I mean I'll never forget the MOTM award to TO'L when he was dreadful and threw and intercept and the MOTM to Wallace when Mapusa was incredible. What really grates me is that he is not there to be a pundit, he is there to promote his clients and for that reason alone he should not be allowed to comment on any games where his clients are involved. Or where any Munster players are involved for that matter!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

He's got an awful sweaty head on him too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 816 ✭✭✭vinny chase

shuffol wrote: »
    He's got an awful sweaty head on him too

:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Did nobody see Dempsey on ITV this morning?! Basically only mentioned Leinster players in anything he said!

tolosenc wrote: »
    The thing is, he goes from an OK pundit when Munster players aren't involved to absolutely shocking when they are there. Nevermind when his clients are on the field.

Yea, that seems to irk a few people cant for the life of me understand why

RoryMc23 wrote: »
    As someone whos largely neutral (I support my home province's rivals when my good friend is playing for them even against my home province) I can safely say that Sheehan is by far the most biased pundit in the business. I mean I'll never forget the MOTM award to TO'L when he was dreadful and threw and intercept and the MOTM to Wallace when Mapusa was incredible. What really grates me is that he is not there to be a pundit, he is there to promote his clients and for that reason alone he should not be allowed to comment on any games where his clients are involved. Or where any Munster players are involved for that matter!

Ah come on, what pundit or player takes MOTM awards as serious, my guess is that players would prefer not to get them as they have to go out and meet the media to get a bottle of magners or some such thing.

kmart6 wrote: »
    Did nobody see Dempsey on ITV this morning?! Basically only mentioned Leinster players in anything he said!

Saw a small bit when I flicked over during a break on RTE's coverage.

Thought The Girvanator was poor all around in his analysis; seemed to be trotting out the ITV line of "a win's a win", but didn't notice him mentioning any Leinster players in particular.

phog wrote:
    Yea, that seems to irk a few people cant for the life of me understand why
    How could you possibly not see why it would irk people? It's impossible for him to speak impartially with regards to those players, or even with regard to players in competition for places with guys he has a financial interest. That's my only real problem with him. Don't think he's a good analyst by any stretch, but he's not alone in RTE in that regard.

shuffol wrote: »
    I cant stand him, he's a poor choice of a pundit anyway IMO, he only recently stopped playing so cant be guaranteed to give an impartial view, hence his defense of Buckley after the French game.

So no injured played should be used as a pundit as they're too close to give an impartial view? Let's start the campaign to get Horgan off the TV now, maybe Joe Schmidt should be axed from RTE too.

As well as that I dont think he played the game to a high enough standard to be a credible pundit on international rugby, he was never really an international standard hooker, I remember against France in the 2007 RWC when he came on for Flannery who clearly was struggling with an injury, Sheehan was so far off the pace that Flannery had to come back on even though he was obviously still struggling. How's he meant to offer legitimate criticism on a standard of play that he never reached. There's a reason the bbc has guys like Guscott, Davies and Wood. They mightnt be the best pundits but at least they've credibility

Are you for real? For your info, he got seriously injured in 2006 and was probably never the same player since then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Saw a small bit when I flicked over during a break on RTE's coverage.

Thought The Girvanator was poor all around in his analysis; seemed to be trotting out the ITV line of "a win's a win", but didn't notice him mentioning any Leinster players in particular.

Ah even Doyle ripped it outta him constantly saying ''a win's a win''!

He passed comment that having SO'B and Healy back next week will make a huge improvement! Ok, it might, but if anything I could only see SO'B having an impact, as the front row had no problems today!

Mentioned how the ball was awful slow in the first half and only quickened up with Reddan....once again this is somewhat true!

But just felt he wasn't critical of Leinster lads at all....said nothing of Sexton's terrible kicking...or the poor performance by BO'D and D'Arcy!

How could you possibly not see why it would irk people? It's impossible for him to speak impartially with regards to those players, or even with regard to players in competition for places with guys he has a financial interest. That's my only real problem with him. Don't think he's a good analyst by any stretch, but he's not alone in RTE in that regard.

But he doesn't pick players for those places, surely you dont think players are picked on the basis of a MOTM award????????????????? Do you?:eek:

He passed comment that having SO'B and Healy back next week will make a huge improvement! Ok, it might, but if anything I could only see SO'B having an impact, as the front row had no problems today!

Mentioned how the ball was awful slow in the first half and only quickened up with Reddan....once again this is somewhat true!

But just felt he wasn't critical of Leinster lads at all....said nothing of Sexton's terrible kicking...or the poor performance by BO'D and D'Arcy!

You must be joking if you think that because Tom Court did okay today that that means anything in real rugby terms? Cian Healy is better than Tom Court in every possible way.

I don't think it's 'Leinster bias' for Girv to say they'll improve by bringing in Healy & O'Brien.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

girv also started every single sentence with definitely, it's called a comfort word according to psychologists, roy keane's is "obviously"

watching frankie and shane horgan on rte was like a microcosm of these boards, two lads with strong bias to their home provinces and what's wrong with that - i'll admit I am biased towards Munster, it's just the way we are but when it comes to Ireland I'd like to think most us try to put the bias to one side as much as possible

oh and I am a bit tired of the frankie bashing, he is entitled to his opinion, disagree with him all you like but no need to slag the guy off, i was disappointed by shane horgan on the show, he was trying to spin the usa game like it was a good performance and using the excuses of the conditions, the date etc etc, obviously like frankie he still has mates in the camp and this affects his punditry, anyone, whether it be kidney or horgan, who tries to tell is that that was a decent performance is full of it

But he doesn't pick players for those places, surely you dont think players are picked on the basis of a MOTM award????????????????? Do you?:eek:

No, I didn't say he did. But I'm saying that what is the value of an analyst if his opinions on everything are coloured by his financial interests?

How could he possibly be expected to give an honest opinion as to whether or not TO'L should have been included in the WC squad or not? He mentions lads like Ian Nagle & Peter O'Mahony and how promising they are in games they aren't playing in. His opinion in these areas is worthless.

Also though, by exaggerating the talents of 'his' players from his role as a pundit, and giving them greater public exposure, it makes it easier for him to get endorsement contracts for those same players. I don't think it's fair he can promote his agency business while picking up a cheque from the public broadcaster at the same time.

All those are just valid points that anyone would make. Its not a Leinster bias. No problems in the scrum but as for the breakdown they were bullied off the ball a few times and the forwards were not carrying particularly well. Healy and O'Brien are essential in the Aussie game.

And its not somewhat true about the the ball quickening when Reddan came one, its a fact.

No, I didn't say he did. But I'm saying that what is the value of an analyst if his opinions on everything are coloured by his financial interests?

How could he possibly be expected to give an honest opinion as to whether or not TO'L should have been included in the WC squad or not? He mentions lads like Ian Nagle & Peter O'Mahony and how promising they are in games they aren't playing in. His opinion in these areas is worthless.

Also though, by exaggerating the talents of 'his' players from his role as a pundit, and giving them greater public exposure, it makes it easier for him to get endorsement contracts for those same players. I don't think it's fair he can promote his agency business while picking up a cheque from the public broadcaster at the same time.

If you feel that strong about it and you feel he is abusing his positionr report it to the BCC.

Report it to the BCC.

Yeah, that was a very intelligent, well-thought out response. Good job. :rolleyes:

Well I have my point of view and you have yours, it doesnt bother me but it seems to bother you. I cant make you change your mind.

If I felt the same as you I'd write a complaint.

Well I have my point of view and you have yours, it doesnt bother me but it seems to bother you. I cant make you change your mind.

You were the one who claimed you "couldn't understand" why people would be irked by the fact that he has a pecuniary interest in some of the guys he's also getting paid to objectively analyse, when I pointed out to you a perfectly valid reason why this would 'irk' people, you responded with that nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭RoryMc23

If you feel that strong about it and you feel he is abusing his positionr report it to the BCC.

My friend actually emailed Paddy Power after losing a MOTM bet on a Heineken Cup game, saying he wanted a refund because Sheehan was impartial and it was unfair, he actually got a free 5 euro bet out of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,163 ✭✭✭joseywhales

Well it was his fault for not hedging Frankies Bias.

You were the one who claimed you "couldn't understand" why people would be irked by the fact that he has a pecuniary interest in some of the guys he's also getting paid to objectively analyse, when I pointed out to you a perfectly valid reason why this would 'irk' people, you responded with that nonsense.

I dont feel the irritation that you seem to, if you or any other poster genuinely feels that there's a conflict of interest you have the option of making a formal complaint or coming onto a public forum and bitching about the individual, only one of those options can lead to a Frankie losing the gig and it aint the public forum option.

Well that's a little different than claiming you 'couldn't understand' why people would be irked by this fact about Frankie. I wouldn't say it irritated me that much, but it's a legit reason to feel that he shouldn't be in commentary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Please attack the post and not the poster. Also any name calling of pundits will get instant bans

• phog wrote: »

funnily enough, when a thread is started that involves something that you have an opinion on, you are allowed post in it.

This is a ridiculous argument to get involved in, and you are far too good a poster to get dragged into it.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

Girv the swerve?

It was the same with Hoggy on RTE highlights. Licking the balls off Johnny Sexton on television.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

you are far too good a poster to get dragged into it.

Holy moly emmet did you just use the "im not angry just dissappointed line"??

That's low :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

jayteecork wrote: »
    Girv the swerve?

It was the same with Hoggy on RTE highlights. Licking the balls off Johnny Sexton on television.

Girv was poor. He reminded me of Alan Quinlan insofar as he was petrified in front of the camera. Very clichéd and dull. Horgan was quite good in front of the camera. Very confident and well spoken as someone with a masters in law should. Had to laugh when they asked him about Wales and Spala to which he replied wryly "I've spent the last 4 years trying to forget about that place..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

ah leave Frankie alone

how can anyone dislike that chubby cheeky face of his:D

he's good craic