Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What were you doing 10 years ago tomorrow/ today around 2 pm

• 10-09-2011 3:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭

I was putting lead on my brothers chimney for the masons to build stone over.
    Big gang on site that day, most of us boiled from drink- ok maybe that was just me :-).
    We all retired to a local establishment to watch the tv coverage.
    My brag is that after the second plane hit, I said "this is yer man Osama Bin Laden". The lads were like "who ?". (I had read an article in Time about him)

One of the other guys said "they'll flatten half the middleast over this"

Prophetic !!

Anyway - what were you at ? Apart from 'yore Ma'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

Aged 7, driving home from school with Joooooooooooooe Duffy on. Had no idea how big a thing it was, despite watching it on Sky for the entire evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

I was on my couch half-asleep. My dad came in and said 'turn on the TV - you won't believe what's happened.' My first thought was 'that prick Roy Keane isn't going to play for Ireland.' This was prior to Saipan and if I remember correctly we were having problems with him. Anyway, turn on the TV and I was extremely confused by what was going on. It was our generation's JFK moment. It was probably bigger than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Just getting home from school. RTE dragged Brian Dobson out of bed to do a special report on it. I was 9 at the time and can still remember it.

The next day me and my twin brother stood side by side in the school yard as our friends took turns 'flying' into us. Good craic! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

I was at work in Sligo and we switched the cctv monitors to tv channel. I have no idea what I was doing the day before or the day after tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

Skived of work to go home, was just in time to see the second plane go in. (not that is a good thing)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

I was 8, just got home from school and saw my family standing around the television in shock. I started watching too and asking a million questions. I remember me and my friends talking about it constantly for a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Was in bed having finished working a night shift.

My dad woke me up, snapped out of my daze fairly quickly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Superbus wrote: »
    Aged 7, driving home from school with Joooooooooooooe Duffy on. Had no idea how big a thing it was, despite watching it on Sky for the entire evening.

Didnt know you could drive at that age back then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Is this AH's tribute? Start a 9/11 thread for all 3,000+ victims?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Use this thread