Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motorised Bicycle

• 09-09-2011 6:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Personally, I think they look rough and unsafe.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

As far as I know, you'd need to pay tax and insurance on a bike with an engine in this country. Just might be something to research before you take the plunge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭chinwag

OP. I spoke to a guy who was exhibiting his motorised bike at recent Phoenix Park Cycle Week - he made these bikes to suit AFAIK. He gave me his card but I cannot find it. Wonder would OPW have his name or put you in touch with other organisers as he would have been listed for the event I'm sure. He appeared to be working solo and was keen to make his little project known. If I find his card I'll send contact details. He wasn't sure about tax/insurance and said it was a grey area. Good luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Satanta

For a petrol powdered bike you'll need tax at least and also the correct license category. For electric bikes that provide power assistance when pedaling (pedelec) up to a speed of 25kmph you don't need anything. Kits can be bought for either method. Search on eBay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭chinwag

RHJ wrote: »

Found that business card OP. Sent you details in PM. You might get some info from him.
    Have you considered an electric powered bike (with battery) if you are interested in boosting power?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭SCOL

I'm looking buying one of these kits for my mountain bike
    has anyone got any advise on building the kit.

What about tax and insurance ?? has anyone got hassles by the police ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭FirstinLastout

There’s a guy in or around Ballisodare in County Sligo with one of the kits using a small auxiliary 2-stroke engine.
    Appears to be a gardener/landscaper of sorts as every time I’ve seen him he’s whizzing along towing a trailer with strimmers, mowers, various saws & gardening tools in it.
    He’s been about the last few years and is probably still buzzing about the place.

I imagine the guards would have little to be doing worrying about some guy with a 20cc motor strapped to his bicycle but then many of them often appear to have little to do.
    Personally I wouldn’t worry about the legality of them but I’d definitely bring earplugs whenever I’d head out on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,428 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Please don't use a two-stroke engine!

Two-stroke engines sound like....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,175 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Why anyone would want to strap a noisy smoky engine to there bicycle is beyond me, especially when there are so many good eBikes on the market.. totally impractical around the city anyways, just buy a Honda 50!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭drogdub

Fabian?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭kuro_man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

kuro_man wrote: »

The us one is good for 20mph or 32kmph but the eu one is only good for 25kmph
    Wonder why

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Only electricaly assisted, not powered cycles are exempt from tax, insurance etc..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

There's a few of these kicking around on adverts.ie or donedeal. Saw one go there recently for 220e, hardly used

If you get a kit, go for Staton or Gebe and get a decent engine - the engine can probably be sourced locally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭coolemon

The law must have changed recently if a license an tax is required for a motorised bicycle.

You could drive/ride something up to 30cc I think a number of years back without anything. They used to sell those petrol scooters, for example.

coolemon wrote: »
    The law must have changed recently if a license an tax is required for a motorised bicycle.

You could drive/ride something up to 30cc I think a number of years back without anything. They used to sell those petrol scooters, for example.

Been using mine for a good while now without a day's bother over it. Not taken it to cities though

saw one recently enough in Dublin with a petrol engine, 2 stroke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

How about a chainsaw powered bike, might also be handy for a zombie apocalypse.
    http://inhabitat.com/insane-russian-attack-bike-is-powered-by-a-chainsaw/

How about a chainsaw powered bike, might also be handy for a zombie apocalypse.
    http://inhabitat.com/insane-russian-attack-bike-is-powered-by-a-chainsaw/

That's a fierce unusual saw they're using. Requires 2 men to use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Got these many many years ago, still working pretty well!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Human_leg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Zyzz wrote: »
    Got these many many years ago, still working pretty well!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Human_leg

I swear mine gave trouble coming out of Glencree today....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Peter T

There's a guy on adverts selling kits. You can get 2 stroke and 4 stroke versions. Can see much point in them really myself

I use mine to get to work about twice a week 56Km round trip and cycle the other
    three days I think it's great. It takes about 1 hour to cycle and about 40 minutes to use the motor.

Shey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Peter T

SCOL wrote: »
    I use mine to get to work about twice a week 56Km round trip and cycle the other
    three days I think it's great. It takes about 1 hour to cycle and about 40 minutes to use the motor.

Shey.

Any unwanted attention ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Saw a bloke coming up the hill out of Damastown the other day on a pretty cool easy rider type one. Anyone here?

I get a few strange looks but I have not come accross a check point yet on it.
    If I did I would cut the engine and cycle past. The engine on the bike is a small
    2 stroke and it probable would not be noticed.

But bofore I took it out on the road I asked in the Garda Station and I was told no
    Licence or tax required but I don't want to put it to the test !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Fella passes me in Lucan on a mtb converted. Noisy and smoky yoke. Looks like it was cobbled together in his shed. Can hold a decent 40kph I would say.

It comes as a kit. Bolt the engine and petrol tank onto the frame only takes a few
    minutes attaching the sproket onto the back wheel is a bit tricky and takes time to get it right. In total it took 3 evenings to sort out and them another 1 or 2
    just to twick it here and there.
    I do about 35-40KPH per hour.