Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rock Shandys

• 08-09-2011 11:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭

...shall be made with Club Orange and Club Lemon only. Piss off with your Finches barman, Club is the only way!

Pour both the orange and the lemon from glass bottles into a cool, clean pint glass over 4 large cubes of ice, at the same time, with equal flow. Garnish with a slice of orange and a slice of lemon. Leave to sit for 60 seconds to allow the ice, lemon and orange to infuse together.

The most refreshing drink in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

ghey drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

The pleasure I get when I buy a bottle of Club lemon and Club orange, and then mix them together.

Like creating a magic potion, that oozes happiness and tastyness! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Instant heartburn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Club Orange with 7up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

And of course a swizzle stick. . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Club Orange with 7up!

Eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

4 cubes of ice?
    i like a glass FULL of ice before i pour anything into it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭alphabeat

gets some werthers sucking sweets and some slippers while you are at it grandad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,291 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

My favourite is a can of coke mixed with can of club lemon. Very refreshing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Club Orange with 7up!

How dare you utter the word 7up in a Rock Shandy thread. You may leave!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭ontheditch2

Us culchies would call that a Club Shandy.

A Rock Shandy as far as i am concerned is Red Lemonade and Orange.. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I ****ing hate when they put fruit in my drink.

I want a coke, not a coke with lemon it.
    As for putting lemon and/or orange in a lemon and/or orange drink? Also retarded.

Well you're wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

Samich wrote: »
    The pleasure I get when I buy a bottle of Club lemon and Club orange, and then mix them together.

Like creating a magic potion, that oozes happiness and tastyness! :)

You know you can just buy a bottle of rockshandy right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Mr. Boo

Nah, Club shandy was in the brown can and had half a percent of alcohol in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 garyc1987

cider shandy mmmmmmm :D

The-Rigger wrote: »

As for putting lemon and/or orange in a lemon and/or orange drink? Also retarded.

I agree, lemon in a coke is retarded.
    However adding the same fruit as the drink itself is incredible. I'd liken it to gentle summer rain on my skin. And sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 JMcG92

...shall be made with Club Orange and Club Lemon only. Piss off with your Finches barman, Club is the only way!

Pour both the orange and the lemon from glass bottles into a cool, clean pint glass over 4 large cubes of ice, at the same time, with equal flow. Garnish with a slice of orange and a slice of lemon. Leave to sit for 60 seconds to allow the ice, lemon and orange to infuse together.

Best post I've seen in ages. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭ontheditch2

Mr. Boo wrote: »
    Nah, Club shandy was in the brown can and had half a percent of alcohol in it.

We used to call that the alcoholic club shandy and the other one was the non alcoholic club shandy.. The alcoholic club shandy was horrible ****e anyway..

Glad to see the Finches fanboys aren't out in force yet. :)

I agree, lemon in a coke is retarded.
    However adding the same fruit as the drink itself is incredible. I'd liken it to gentle summer rain on my skin. And sex.

Get Xhibit on the case.
    Yo dawg, we head you like lemon in your lemonade....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭Old Perry

What have I just stepped into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭itsnotmyname

It was a very '80s drink ....when Club was seen as the high end of the mineral market .....TK was to be avoided ....:pac:

All u needed was your leg warmers and Human League hair style and away with you and your rock shandy ! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Old Perry wrote: »
    What have I just stepped into.

Dog shi* maybe.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 1,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Michael Collins

If you're driving and can't drink and one of your friends asks you if you want a soft drink, you should say "a Rock Shandy please" since it costs €5.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Getuptheyard with your Club

It's not a quality Rock Shandy unless it's Finches :cool:

I am disappointed how few pubs stock Finches

It's the most common drink around Tipp though, it's made there and well used to sponsor the hurling team too so the publicans like it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Was out in the pub and one of the lads brought out a french lad from work. My mate was driving and gets a shandy, the french lad asked what it was and mate said "oh thats called a shandy". my other, tipsy mate was like "lol yeah a hand shandy". Que french guy going up and asking the barman for a hand shandy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

By any chance, are you from Cork?
    The only place I've ever gotten a rock shandy with red lemonade has been in the rebel county!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

It was a very '80s drink ....when Club was seen as the high end of the mineral market .....TK was to be avoided ....:pac:
    Some things never change! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

By any chance, are you from Cork?
    The only place I've ever gotten a rock shandy with red lemonade has been in the rebel county!

Red lemonade? That would be the sort of travesty that the OP thinks putting Finches in his club shandy is. A rock shandy should be Tanora and Club Orange.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭Gearheart

Finches is the best, as for rock shadys ill stick to the beer ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Most expensive soft drink you can buy in pub. Fncking robbing publicans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

You can die if you have too many rock shandys.

No wait, that's hand shandys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

If you wanna pay €4.(something) for a soft drink in a pub...

your the fool! not the barman!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

You have no clue what you are talking about!!! :eek:

...and 'garnish' a drink ?? You sir are confused :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Caveman1

The pub is used to work in stopped stocking rock shandy because they wanted people to buy cans of orange and lemon separate, I should of put this on the stingiest things thread ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Orangina FTW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭RoryMurphyJnr

The-Rigger wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

hondasam wrote: »
    ghey drink.

Me bollix! You could nearly have a hand shandy over a good glass of rock shandy!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

kfallon wrote: »
    Me bollix! You could nearly have a hand shandy over a good glass of rock shandy!!!

That's wrong on so many levels :eek: *puke*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Pour both the orange and the lemon from glass bottles into a cool, clean pint glass over 4 large cubes of ice, at the same time, with equal flow. Garnish with a slice of orange and a slice of lemon and three vodkas. Leave to sit for 60 seconds to allow the ice, lemon and orange to infuse together.

FYP