Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jay & Silent Bob Vicar Street

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Jaysus,40 bucks is a bit steep no.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,531 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Jaysus,40 bucks is a bit steep no.

Trailer Park Boys are only 30 quid, reckon it'll be a better show too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

Last time he ran on as late as possible and it was over 3 hours.
    The pre sale code will be on the viewaskew website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Fago123

Sharrow wrote: »
    Last time he ran on as late as possible and it was over 3 hours.
    The pre sale code will be on the viewaskew website.

Yeah that night was well worth the money

Can't seem to find the code anywhere though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Id be interested in seeing them tbh however I like J+SB in smaller doses like in Clerks II or Dogma.A 2/3 hour show could get tiresome.Meh,might get a couple of tickets anyway.If anyone comes across the code post it on thread purlease!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

I'd be tempted.. but to be honest, the podcast isn't much to write home about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭weezer1980

I have the presale password if anyone wants it. not sure i can post in on the thread itself so PM me and ill send it to you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Vtec On The Brain

He announced the code on Twitter a while ago

CLERKS

I'm seriously looking forward to it, huge Kevin Smith fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,936 ✭✭✭nix

Are they in character? or is it just kevin smith rambling on like he does? if i have trouble sleeping i may go, bonus dvd for strike back put me to sleep, guy could talk for the universe..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

Was at his last show in Vicar St and was excellent - very entertaining.

His "evening with" DVDs and shows are much better than his actual films.

nix wrote: »
    Are they in character? or is it just kevin smith rambling on like he does? if i have trouble sleeping i may go, bonus dvd for strike back put me to sleep, guy could talk for the universe..

They're not in character, the podcast is here if you want an idea of what to expect http://smodcast.com/channels/jay-silent-bob-get-old/

If you don't enjoy Kevin Smith "rambling on" then this won't be the show for you

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,531 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Fago123 wrote: »
    They're not in character, the podcast is here if you want an idea of what to expect http://smodcast.com/channels/jay-silent-bob-get-old/

If you don't enjoy Kevin Smith "rambling on" then this won't be the show for you

Oh right, it's like the evening with kevin smith dvds or whatever they're called? They're usually pretty good actually.

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Oh right, it's like the evening with kevin smith dvds or whatever they're called? They're usually pretty good actually.

Yeah I suppose it's similar enough, except in the shows they do together it doesn't take the form of an audience Q&A which the 'Evening With' shows do, it's just them telling stories, chatting back and forth with each other etc.

I'm not sure if they'll change it up for this short UK & Ireland tour though, but the podcast is the best indication of what to expect.

I have 2 tickets for the Wed show, seated table in ground floor, and now cant go so really would like to swap to the Tue night if poss!
    Anyone?? :)
    This may not be the right place but worth a shot :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Magi11

To say last night was a huge let down would be a massive understatement. The first 20 minutes were ok but half an hour on the history of Jason Mewes' teeth killed the whole thing. You could sense the boredom in the crowd, several punters near me (Block C) left and eventually I did too. I would be pointing the finger mainly at Smith, he's the reason most people were there and yet he let Mewes talk far too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,734 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Yeah the teeth story went on way too long and Smith should have reigned it in a lot quicker, but other than that, I really enjoyed it

Heard horrid things about this.. am kinda relieved I didn't go now.

Yeah it was a bit of a let down. From what KS mentioned last night this tour is mainly an excuse to get a house for Mewes! Had a few highlights like the mini cooper story but that oral history thing really bored the feck out of everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭beglee

Yeah, it started well enough, and Mewes had his moments such as the mini cooper story, but by god he went on and on and on about his teeth, for about 25min too long! Got back on track a bit after Smith finally put an end to it, but there was probably only 30min left at that point. Not sure why KS didnt end it sooner, surely he knew. I mean he pulled himself up after only a few minutes of "being wikipedia" for mewes about lent and easter n such.

Enjoyed the show, but that middle bit with the neverending teeth story put a bit of a dampener on the whole night.

Cant help but get more annoyed that I missed the show here last time with Smith on his own

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Magi11

Smith did get it back on track but only after he had asked Mewes about how he originally damaged his teeth which added 15 minutes more tedium because at least the first teeth story was linked to the Mini Cooper incident. It would have been forgivable if this was the first night of the tour but it wasn't. It had its moments but I'm a huge fan of KS and was expecting far better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭grimm2005

seems to be a lot of controversy over this teeth story! going tonight, hopefully wont be as long as last night. How long was he on for? Last time it must of been close to 12 when he finished, went for about 3 hours, twas great. Would prefer it to finish earlier this time though as I dont fancy paying for a taxi home and will be getting last bus.

grimm2005 wrote: »
    seems to be a lot of controversy over this teeth story! going tonight, hopefully wont be as long as last night. How long was he on for? Last time it must of been close to 12 when he finished, went for about 3 hours, twas great. Would prefer it to finish earlier this time though as I dont fancy paying for a taxi home and will be getting last bus.

Just under two hours I think. Smith tweeted that Vicar St asked them to start a bit later than advertised because people were still taking their seats and getting drinks (they were videoing the show too so wanted a full audience when they came out). So the show went on from maybe 9 to just before 11.

Magi11 wrote: »
    It would have been forgivable if this was the first night of the tour but it wasn't.
    Its not like this is a routine they have, and theyve been honing the teeth stories for a few shows. Every show is different and mostly ad-libbed.

Just about to listen to the manchester show as it has gone up as a podcast. Will see how that shapes up in comparison

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭Sideshow Mark

I'd love to know what people were expecting for this? It's not a Kevin Smith show, it's Mewes telling stories from his life. There are 60 or so episodes of the podcast available for free.

Anyways I'm going tonight, very much looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭JJ

I would agree that the teeth stories from Mews went on for way too long. I could sense the crowd getting a bit bored with it after a while. Thankfully it picked up again and anybody who left early missed out on some funny stuff.

I'd love to know what people were expecting for this? It's not a Kevin Smith show, it's Mewes telling stories from his life. There are 60 or so episodes of the podcast available for free.
    I knew what to expect, and so did many (if not most) attending, and Mewes did have some good stories as has been said. But he really did end up talking about how bad his teeth are, detailing the procedures he's had done and how they were repaired for too long. The stories about how he damaged his teeth were funny, but talking about dentistry for 15-20min was putting everyone to sleep. That certainly wont be making it into the DVD they are making of the tour.

It was still a good show with a lot of laughs, just with a dodgy part in the middle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭Sideshow Mark

beglee wrote: »
    It was still a good show with a lot of laughs, just with a dodgy part in the middle.

That's good to hear :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Phony Scott

I went to the previous show when Smith was alone answering a bunch of questions. It was very funny and insightful. Last night started off great, but there wasn't any genuine interaction with the audience like last time, which I guess is the format of the show (I never listen to the smodcasts).

The story about pulling teeth felt more like a lecture, so I left to have a cigarette and then went to the toilet and came back and they were still talking about it. The audience around me looked bored and some of them started heckling. The atmosphere was pretty bad, but it started to pick up again towards the end.

Compared to the previous show, this was a big letdown. I won't go again if Mewes is in tow, it's just not for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Just in from tonight's show. Thought it was very enjoyable with quite a few laugh out loud moments. I won't say it was worth the price for Mr Tayto alone but it came close.

iguana wrote: »
    Just in from tonight's show. Thought it was very enjoyable with quite a few laugh out loud moments. I won't say it was worth the price for Mr Tayto alone but it came close.

I was literally crying laughing at the Mr Tayto bit, so funny. A great show overall and nice to see a short return to the Q&A at the end. Sounds like it was better then last nights show anyway, absolutely nothing to do with teeth this time, I guess maybe they realised it didn't work last night based on twitter feedback. Definitely don't regret going though, was a bit concerned after the feedback on here after last night but I needn't be. Don't think it was as good as his last solo show but I'd deffo go again. He said they'd be back around these parts next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

Sometimes you get the impression that an act might be playing up to the local audience but I don't think that he could have come up with Mr.Tayto - classic! I really enjoyed the show, it sounds like we went on the right night. Smith is always good but Mewes was surprisingly funny for a guy who you can tell is a bit shy. Quite a life he's lived too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Awesome show tonight. I am very glad I went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 hoyeean

I had to leave early at around 11 tonight, just as the "Let's ****" game was about to start. How much more did I miss?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭vumpireofkid

Really enjoyed last nights show! The Mr Tayto bit was brilliant, and Smith trying to explain to Mewes the whole concept of Ash Wednesday and Lent!

The worst bit for me was that girl who was up on the stage talking to Smith while the others were preparing for that game with Mewes. Talking about the dole and pretty much saying how she was proud that she was getting it!
    Thank god Smith could barely understand her accent!!!!

All in all I would say it was money well spent! It was after 11.30 before we were out of the place, I had expected to be home much earlier!

hoyeean wrote: »
    I had to leave early at around 11 tonight, just as the "Let's ****" game was about to start. How much more did I miss?

it ended at exactly 11:22pm! I was in the upstairs section and standing by the door ready to leg it to get my last bus, made it and all! The rest of it was pretty much just that game, twas pretty funny, he also read out tweets from a guy who went last night who said it was very dissapointing and hoped itd improve tonight.

Agreed with your one he was talking to though, she was a bit of a buzz kill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

She wasn't the only Q&A person who annoyed me, tbh. Quite a few of them seemed to think they were really funny when they weren't. I got the impression that at least one guy was a wannabe stand-up, though maybe they were just really drunk.

The red headed Sarah was so (unintentionally) funny when she tried to be confrontational about religion. "I bet you think that all Irish people are Catholics, we're not. I'm actually an atheist!" I'm not sure what she was expecting from the guy who had spent a a fair bit of the start of the show talking about how his atheist wife takes the piss out of his beliefs. I wasn't quite sure if Smith really didn't understand her or if he just chose to ignore what he knew would have been a boring lecture.

She wasn't the only Q&A person who annoyed me, tbh. Quite a few of them seemed to think they were really funny when they weren't. I got the impression that at least one guy was a wannabe stand-up, though maybe they were just really drunk.

I think a few of them might have had a regret or two this morning :)

The red headed Sarah was so (unintentionally) funny when she tried to be confrontational about religion. "I bet you think that all Irish people are Catholics, we're not. I'm actually an atheist!" I'm not sure what she was expecting from the guy who had spent a a fair bit of the start of the show talking about how his atheist wife takes the piss out of his beliefs. I wasn't quite sure if Smith really didn't understand her or if he just chose to ignore what he knew would have been a boring lecture.

Yeah,she seemed to think that the previous 2 hours were some kind of Bble lecture,luckily I don't think that Smith could understand her.I feel sorry for the second guy during the Q&A,he was doing such an over-the-top American stoner accent,very put on - if he hears himself years from now he'll be fairly embarrassed.Lot of drunk people there!

Benny_Cake wrote: »
    I feel sorry for the second guy during the Q&A,he was doing such an over-the-top American stoner accent,very put on - if he hears himself years from now he'll be fairly embarrassed.Lot of drunk people there!

The guy who was on about taking a hit from his bong?

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    The guy who was on about taking a hit from his bong?

Yeah,the guy who saw Chasing Amy when he was 9...

The show from the 21st is online now :)

http://jsbgetold.smodcast.libsynpro.com/rss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,088 ✭✭✭OU812

Regretttably I missed this, but...

"The Swearing Of The Green" is getting a video release apparently

Jay-bob-Get-Irish.jpeg

Was at the first of the two shows, which wasn't great. Very funny at the beginning, but went in completely the wrong direction to the point where they had to recognise the crowd was getting restless. Second night was apparently a lot better.

• Moderators Posts: 51,922 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

Penn wrote: »
    Was at the first of the two shows, which wasn't great. Very funny at the beginning, but went in completely the wrong direction to the point where they had to recognise the crowd was getting restless. Second night was apparently a lot better.

The long story about Jay going to the dentist really didn't impress the crowd. A number of people sitting at tables around me had to be quieted by ushers as they were getting pissed off with that part of the night.

If you can read this, you're too close!

Started watching it this morning, enjoying it so far - Liam Neeson/Evian Bottle

koth wrote: »

The long story about Jay going to the dentist really didn't impress the crowd. A number of people sitting at tables around me had to be quieted by ushers as they were getting pissed off with that part of the night.

Yeah. Some of the dentist stuff was fine. The trouble was they didn't seem to realise they had been talking about teeth for about an hour, and whenever a funny part came which would be the point to stop, they kept talking about teeth.

The tables in Vicar Street aren't exactly a fun place to sit and listen to people talk about dental procedures they've had. My back was f*cking killing me.

Will watch it this weekend.. hope it's better than the Aussie one - that was awful!

Have seen a few of the J&SB shows.. and they're not a patch on Kevin's "Evening With" shows.

Unfortunately, I just don't find Mewes funny or engaging enough and he does tend to take over the J&SB shows with Kevin just there to bounce off and throw in a comment here and there.

If Kevin did a few more "Evening With" shows or shows on his own, I'd be far happier... even his "Too Fat For 40" was decent.

There's some hot looking women in that audience. He'll I a lot of fat bearded nerds (of which I'm one), but some hot looking women :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,602 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Basq wrote: »
    Will watch it this weekend.. hope it's better than the Aussie one - that was awful!

Have seen a few of the J&SB shows.. and they're not a patch on Kevin's "Evening With" shows.

Unfortunately, I just don't find Mewes funny or engaging enough and he does tend to take over the J&SB shows with Kevin just there to bounce off and throw in a comment here and there.

If Kevin did a few more "Evening With" shows or shows on his own, I'd be far happier... even his "Too Fat For 40" was decent.

Have you listened to any Hollywood Babble On? That's pretty funny stuff, a facetious look at Hollywood news of the week. Though I prefer the earlier episodes of that. Listen to a fair few J & SB's but they are more hit and miss than the HBOs. Some of his other Podcasts are autobiographical too with Smodcast being almost history of his and Scott Mosier's film making history. Very entertaining stuff for long bus rides or commutes.