Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you excited about your teams future? or fearful?

• 07-09-2011 9:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,859 ✭✭✭✭

As a Man United fan, I am really excited about the future of my team. Young lads with great potential at the club, and in the first team, such as De Gea, Raf, Fabio, Smalling, Jones, Evans, Anderson, Cleverley, Welbeck - while the likes of Rooney, Young and Nani have many years ahead of them too. On top of this, there are young lads in the youths that could go very far - Morrison, Tunnicliffe, Pogba as the main three, then lads like Petrucci, Keane and a couple of others.

On the face of it, the United squad is balanced very well with a lot of youth with high potential, and I am really excited to see how it pans out over the next few seasons.

What are the thoughts on other clubs? City fan's obvioulsy have a lot of excitement for their present and future - with players like Aguero, Nasri et al - plus it is a certainty the owners will continue to fund big name signings as needed.

At Chelsea there seems to be a slight shift in approach, with younger players like Mata, Luis, Lukaku coming in, and I here great things about a number of their youth products such as McEachron (sp) and Clifford. AVB is a very promising young coach, and it will be interesting to see how he, and Chelsea at the same time, develop.

Liverpool are currently building a very deep squad - which I assume is the most excting they have been in a few years, and many years apart from Rafa's purple patch. I do think they have overspent on some of the players they have bought (and got a freaking bargain in Suarez) but forgetting about the money paid out, I think KD has put together a very balanced squad with a number of consistent performers, and some exciting prospects.

On the other hand, I would fear (currently) for the future of Arsenal and Spurs. Arsenal seem to be going backwards at rate of knots and are in need of a lot of transfers. On the other hand, Ramsey and Wilshere are two of the most exciting CM prospects around and AOC has impressed LOADS for the England U21's in recent weeks.

Spurs..... I just don't know. I think they are close to having an excellent squad, but if they don't make the CL places this season, I do worry for their future (short term).

After this there are the 'mid table' and below teams - is there excitement, fear or almost apathy being felt here? I remember a thread on here not too long ago bemoaning the fate of fans of certain clubs, who feel they are almost doomed to make up the numbers - developing players to a good standard, getting the club close to moving up a level, then having the 'bigger' clubs come in and take their better players. Trying to survive on a sensible financial platform while clubs higher up the table are either sugar daddied to the top or simply make use of far higher revenue streams. Or worse, trying to buy their way up the league without the financial backing to actually do it (Pompey, big recent example).

So, excited or fearful?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Newcastle United - I don't think we have a lot to look forward to under this current regime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Fearful for this season. Harry will be gone this time next year though (fingers crossed) so that's something to look forward to. There has been talks of getting in Acellotti (who's still living in London) which would be brilliant, or if Moyes finally gets sick of Everton's finicial situation I'm sure Levy would welcome him with open arms also. I just hope it's some one with a proven track record in the PL, we can't afford another Juande Ramos.

Players wise it looks good. Walker is a very good prospect at RB, far from the finished product yet. Caulker (CB) is another excellent prospect, currently on loan at Swansea, and has been touted as a future captain. Livermore in the middle also looks very competent and Harry Kane (striker) has been talked up a lot. Danny Rose, who can play anywhere on the left plus up front, should make the LB spot his own in the next 2 seasons. What we need is a young, solid keeper, another top CB and a quality CF. We'll probably need another creative midfielder this next summer barring a miracle and us finishing fourth.

To sum up, fearful for the immediate future, excited for the long term future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Very excited, nothing like quality young players coming in a shaking things up. I remember what it was like to be fearful, circa 2005 and watching David Bellion and Eric Djemba-Djemba. It all goes in cycles and right now things are looking very promising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

As a Liverpol fan, I'm both excited and wary

Firstly, the ownership situation has finally been resolved and we now have owners with the enthusiasim, dedication and accumine necessary to build the club commercially

With the bulk of the debt having been paid off, new sponsorship/kit manufacturing deals with Standard Chartered and Warrior, increased commercial revenues and a sensible wage structure, the club are well on course to being profitable, allowing for continued investment, through profit as oppose to borrowing, in the side and in the financing of either a new ground or redevelopment of the current ground

On the playing side, this summer has been very positive. Gone are the overpaid squad players, and a promising young squad has been assembled. With Kenny Dalglish back, and with the players brought in, Liverpool are now favourites for the 4th CL spot.

The Academy, after its reorganisation by Rafa, finally seems to be coming to fruition. With the likes of Spearing, Kelly, Flanagan and Robinson having all broke through recently, its surely only a matter of time before the likes of Coady, Wisdom, Suso and Sterling get their chance. While not every young player will make it, or become a first team regular, for even two or three to make it at the club would be extremely promising given the lack of players having come through in previous years

While finishing fourth shouldn't be the limit of the ambitions of the club, it would represent real progress, and provide much welcomed additional revenue, given the league performances over the past two seasons and the strength of the top 6 this year relative to previous years

On the negative side, the top 6 is stronger then ever, and the top 3 in particular. Regardless of how Liverpool do, seeing how both Man City and Chelsea have unlimited resources, and seem quiet content to blatantly flaunt the FFP rules, it will make surpassing either increasingly difficult.

Utd too will be there usual selves and while it could be argued that having lost Scholes and VDS that they're weaker this season, I don't believe that to be the case, particularly given the potential of the some of the younger players at the club. Utd will continue to improve as these players develop and will as ever be fighting for the title come May

The aim for Liverpool long term has to be to win the league, and while I'm optimistic about the long term future of the club, I do believe that winning the league is probably more difficult now then it ever has been, given the present competition

Excited.

The leeches that owned the club are gone and the massive debt is cleared.

A young squad is being built, how they fair over a season can't be judged yet but they should hopefully challenge for top 4 again.

The stadium issue is the one big worry I'd have at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

tl;dr

tl;dr

What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭TheEscapist

tl;dr = Too long didn't read. A good insight into how he feels for the future of his club I'm sure you'll agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,959 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Shelbourne fan, we're about to be promoted back to the Premier Division so alot to be optimistic about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

First club in Ireland to qualify for Europe proper. Very excited about the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭TheEscapist

As a Man United fan I'm pretty excited. They're playing good football, have a good blend of youth and experience and the best manager ever imo so it all bodes well. I think Jones and Smalling look great if a little cavalier at times, I think the twins although not in the team at the minute have a future there. De Gea has his doubters but I think over the next couple of years he'll mature into a great keeper.

Midfield looks better with Anderson and Cleverley but I'd like another signing in there, they have great options on the wings and a great forward line. So all in all it's good stuff and the youth system looks to be working a little better(it had been producing premier league players but not Man Utd players) with Welbeck and Cleverley fitting right into the team.

So all in all optimistic and happy but would like someone to come into the midfield with experience and quality.

As for Ireland I'm fearful because I don't think we have the same quality of players coming through as the players we'll inevitably lose over the next 2-3 years. There's some good prospects for sure but nothing like the luck we had with Dunne, O'Shea, Keane and Duff all coming into the team at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,859 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

iregk wrote: »
    First club in Ireland to qualify for Europe proper. Very excited about the future.

how do you think it will effect Rovers long term?

There are obvious immediate financial benefits to getting to the group stage, but do you think it will be translated to long term success? People talk about Rosenburg and the dominance they exerted over the Norwegian league as a result of European money, but they were competing in the group stage year in year out, so the money coming in was sustained. Do you think Rovers can get themselves to the stage where competing in the group stages is more normal than amazing? Could there not be the worry that the money raised this time will be used to try fund participation in the competition next year (which should obviously be a goal) and failure to do so could have large financial implications.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Royal Antwerp FC (belgium second division).

Very optimistic, our chairman (who's been in charge for over 40 years) and brought the club from European Cup Winner's Cup finalists to a second division average team is gone.

A new group came in, bought a decent team and we're looking forward to the coming seasons with hopefully promotion in the end.

tl;dr

I hate posts like this

If the post's are too long for you to read, and you have nothing to add then why the fcuk reply?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 615 ✭✭✭bobbyg

Everton fan and very fearful for this season!!!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Borussia Dortmund: Exited, might be a good season ahead, defending the championship plus some great nights in the Champions League

St.Pauli: Exited, looking forward to promotion.

Celtic: Exited, because the future has just begun (to have a free quote on Neil Lennon)

Liverpool FC: Exited, because it can only get better, titlewise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Shelbourne:
    Short term, very excited and happy to be going back to the Premier Division
    Long Term, We have no future. No ground and no money, we are screwed.

Lars1916 wrote: »
    St.Pauli: Exited, looking forward to promotion.

Went over to a St Pauli match there recently, some atmosphere there. Hope they get back up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Chelsea fan, excited and sad.

We have brought in Lukkau, one the brightest young strikers in Europe.

Mata, a highly regarder Spanish International.

David Luiz, showing great potential and settling quickly.

Ramires, one of our better players last year when our midfield was cack.

MacEchran, great future ahead of him as a future starter for us.

Piazon coming in from Brazil, could be one for the future.

Romeu from Barcelona could push Mikel this year in Essien absence.

Courtois has gone on loan to A.Madrid for experience so hopefully he'll be ready when hes back next year.

We have brought in AVB too, and hopefully he and his young coaching staff can be given a chance by Roman.

Sad that in the next year or two, Lamps, JT, Drogba, Anelka will be on there way out but we are in transisation so its expected.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

how do you think it will effect Rovers long term?

There are obvious immediate financial benefits to getting to the group stage, but do you think it will be translated to long term success? People talk about Rosenburg and the dominance they exerted over the Norwegian league as a result of European money, but they were competing in the group stage year in year out, so the money coming in was sustained. Do you think Rovers can get themselves to the stage where competing in the group stages is more normal than amazing? Could there not be the worry that the money raised this time will be used to try fund participation in the competition next year (which should obviously be a goal) and failure to do so could have large financial implications.

I think it has happened a bit early in the Rovers plan...a bit of a shock. It hasn't been a gradual introduction of European football. It's also unchartered territory. Nobody knows how it will work out and Rovers will, as everything else in the past five years, have to play it by year and find out how to organise everything off the pitch, mobilising volunteers etc.

But it's great.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,546 ✭✭✭Masked Man

gavredking wrote: »
    David Luiz, already a legend

FYP

Also just to add:

Danny, Dávila, Kakuta, Bertrand, PVA, Bruma.

Reading good things about: 3 young Brazilians that we own a % of the rights to (lb, rb, and forward), Kaby, Pirez, + whoever else comes from the youth/reserves which I'm not that familiar with. Probably forgot about some people and don't know about others.

We have a few youngsters out on loan, hopefully they do well. Walker, Kalas and Lalkovic off the top of my head.

And hopefully we'll sign De Bruyne.

Also give JT a few more years along with Cole, probably with reduced playing time. Kalou won't be here next year as well. Mikel is probably going to be here for a long time as well.

Roman looks willing to spend.

Future is bright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭ImpossibleDuck

Arsenal fan - you know the story :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,472 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Sligo Rovers: Not too excited but I'm not concerned. I'm happy enough with a Euro spot every year and good showings in the cup. Fearful that Shams will dominate for the next few years and take all our best players.

Hamburg: Concerned. I think Arnesen might have done too much too fast and now we have a team of inexperienced youngsters. If we don't start getting points soon we'll be dragged into a battle at the bottom and then the inexperience will hurt most. A top 12 finish this year I'll be happy, and in the long run this summers mass exodus will just make the club better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,959 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Shelbourne:
    If we're not screwed now, why will we be in a few years time? Especially with Tolka looking like being ours for use for the foreseeable future?

As for the Rovers fan, who said they were the first team to get through to a European competition proper, not quite true, we did it against Lille, there just wasn't a group stage then so we only got the 2 games as opposed to 6.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Forest: New manager usually means a good start...we are back beating the same drum about not having a left back and a big enough squad. Our rivals have splashed the cash where as your chairman prefer's to ensure the club's long term future looks good. Can see his point but getting to EPL is the long term goal but looking highly unlikely so early in the season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Arsenal

I think the future's peachy, but the next few seasons could be hairy to say the least!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,077 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

Everton............Whats the next level after fearful?? No money and the smallest squad in the league. A chairman who doesnt know where 24m in operating costs goes and a ground with wooden seats and about 12 corporate boxes. An ageing squad and any decent young players will more than likely be sold to balance the books.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Quietly optimistic rather than shouting from the top of the Clock Tower.

Owners who, despite being steeped in rounders, want to understand soccerball and dig deep into Liverpool lore and legend. Its still early days for Dalglish as a Liverpool manager now he has the job full time but I feel that he has bought and sold pretty well (a couple of queries about Carroll in and Meireles out but hey that's football) and has an excellent supporting team. The kids are definitely alright and a pretty decent production line of talent looks to be in train for the next 3/4 years.

The only outstanding matter is the stadium which is a regeneration conundrum wrapped in a budgeting enigma at the moment but time is tight and we'll have a major announcement before the end of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

tommyhaas wrote: »
    I hate posts like this

If the post's are too long for you to read, and you have nothing to add then why the fcuk reply?

+1 to that.

They add nothing to the forum apart from enhancing the users gobshite rating.

On topic; Arsenal.

I don't think things are as apocolyptic as some predict. I think a lot of the cause of our troubles is friction between AW and the Board. The former I think wants to spend the money necessary to bring the M'Vila's/Mata's etc of this world to the club whilst the latter are content with keeping the purse strings tight, selling our polished diamonds for top dollar and spending a small portion of that reinforcing the squad in the hope AW pulls another rabbit out of the hat. It's been discussed on the Arsenal superthread - seems to be the crux of the issue is we don't have the transfer funds everyone thinks we have - whatever we had went on AOC and Gervinho leaving us to wait until Fabregas and Nasri left to have the funds to buy some more [the mistake being that we didn't ship the duo out sooner in the summer]. Wenger takes the flak for most of the above which is unfair tbh. We need David Dein back tbh.

Short term I think we'll struggle for the next couple of seasons I think; I do believe we should try to retain AW insofar as possible with a few caveats; he seems judging by his latest purchases to have grasped the notion that he needs to marry youth and experience and not rely exclusively on the former. He [and the club] also needs to address recurring issues; the amount we concede from set plays, the amount we score from set plays; closing out a match; sorting out our perennial injury list by either changing out training methods or bringing in the appropriate professionals to ensure we don't have players out for long periods.

Long term I optimistic; we have the stadium more or less paid off, we'll have all of our debt cleared by 2020 I believe, we have new sponsorship deals to be negotiated in 2014 so financially we're secure. We can't compete with City and Chelsea's filthy oil dollars but we should be able to spend in the market again once the fair play rules come in - they'll benefit us. We have some good youngsters coming through in the next couple of years hopefully - Szczesny is 21 and looks the real deal so that should be GK sorted for 10+ years all going well, Chamberlain, Wilshere and Ramsey should all continue to progress as players - Wilshere bleeds Arsenal and is a future captain [that future may not be too far off either], we have some prospects otherwise in Frimpong, Lansbury, Miyachi and loanees Bartley and Botelho.

Overall [for the tl;dr's :rolleyes:] Cautiously Optimistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

Galway United

I'm fearful for my team's future.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Galway United

I'm fearful for my team's future.
    Bohs fan, pretty much the same. Be happy if we can just keep existing.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭born2bwild

Shelbourne:

Yeah. What he said.

Bohs fan, pretty much the same. Be happy if we can just keep existing.

Would hope that Bohs still exist. I quite enjoy going to Dalymount of a Friday night.

Planning to buy a season ticket for next season.

That_Guy wrote: »
    Would hope that Bohs still exist. I quite enjoy going to Dalymount of a Friday night.

Planning to buy a season ticket for next season.

"You're only here for the Burdocks"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

born2bwild wrote: »

Leo is heading out to Tolka next season

note: not fact.

born2bwild wrote: »

Tis the future of the Burdocks van I fear for. :D

Leo is heading out to Tolka next season

note: not fact.
    Yeah I think I might be your 'source' for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

Sure you'd be grand anyway if it goes; just grab your bag of chips from the one in Phibsboro Centre on your way in. Sorted. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Lars1916 wrote: »
    Celtic: Exited, because the future has just begun (to have a free quote on Davie Cooper)

Fixed that for you. :P

Notice the difference between fans of huge clubs of local clubs.
    One is 'fearful' because they didn't spend enough billions, the other one is terrified in case their club will go bust.

Priorities I guess.