Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Golf GTi

• 06-09-2011 10:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭

I've been offered a '00 Mark IV Golf at an absolute steal of a price from a guy I know. There are a few issues though so I'd like to hear a your thoughts.
    It's been absolutely babied but despite this he slid in the ice last year resulting in side damage to both panel and door. He spared no expense repairing it though and it looks good to any eye. I've seen plenty of badly repaired cars and this isn't one.
    After driving it the gearbox and engine pulled strongly and swapped cogs precisely. Is there anything to look out for on these? It's the 1.8T three door in black. He's removed the GTi badge and blackened the VW insignia which I like, as it gives it a Q-car aura. It's got some sort of a funny air filter too which gives it an extra 10bhp resulting in a dyno proved 161bhp.
    The one area of real concern I do have is the airbag light that's on. Apparently it's an "airbag control unit" which can be bought pretty cheaply from a scrappie. I haven't a clue about this though. It's got 106,000 miles on the odo and it drives beautifully. He wants €1000 for it and I know the guy is straight so overall do ye think I'm onto a good deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,708 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

If you could have the fault codes read and they show it's the airbag control unit then it may be worth purchasing. Does it have an NCT?. has it been for an NCT since it's crash in the snow?

Here's more about the airbag control unit:
    http://www.ross-tech.com/vag-com/vw_issues.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Thanks for the reply. Yes, it's been through the NCT and it passed with flying colours. It's been a daily driver for him since the December tip. Admittedly he pulled the warning light for the test but he told me this of his own volition. Do you think it's as good a deal as I do? It's comes with a decent set of Hankooks too which I always take as a good sign. Nothing worse than seeing a set of ditchfinders on a nippy car.

M

coolbeans wrote: »
    Admittedly he pulled the warning light for the test but he told me this of his own volition.

Must have had a dodgy test as the light is supposed to appear on when key is turned in ignition and this should have been spotted that it was missing by the tester and the car failed, could have been just missed though by the tester.

Hmmm, fair point...well it must have been missed by the test as I know that the seller is being utterly straight.

M

If I was going to buy one I'd want to give it a good drive up to the speed limit on the motorway and see everything is running smoothly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Notch000

JUST DO IT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Keith in cork

All depends on the tester, alot let it slide, others are more sticky on these issues. If its such a cheap fix then why go to the hassle of pulling out the clocks?

I'd get the fault read with vagcom before buying.

Even so, it does sound like a good deal.....

I did that already, up and down the M4 accelerating with vigour off the entry ramps. Good, linear power delivery in all gears and happy to rev. When I stopped and turned off the engine yer man nearly thumped me as I didn't leave it idle for a minute to let the turbo do its thing. That's the kind of owner he is.:) All in all, considering all I've told you do you reckon it's a good value?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Notch000

yes it spunds like very good value, well wear

Sound. I'll pull the trigger so. :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,892 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

I'd deffo do it. I bought a 01 Mk4 GTi last year for 2.8K with 85,000 miles on it. The common faults on them are all quite minor. I needed to do the thermostat, O2 sensor and drivers side track rod end. I should probably do the diverter valve on the turbo as well but it's not really a big deal. If you're anyway handy they can all be done in your driveway.

I'd also reccomend buying a VAGCOM code reading from ebay, I got one for €25.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Sounds like good value to me. I would take it if I was in your position!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

That's the kind of owner he is.:)

The kind of owner who takes out the airbag warning light for the NCT and doesn't bother to fix it? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭lafors

Taking out the airbag warning light won't help you pass the nct.
    They're supposed to check for the light appearing when the key is turned to the first position. If the light doesn't come on then they know its been messed with. I've heard of lads spicing into the light for the abs or another one so that it lights up but its a stupid thing to do.
    I've just replaced the airbag controller on my oul lads 99 vw passat 1.8T a few weeks ago.
    Poxy job. Working unit costs €40 from the scrappy. You'll need to know the part number...either get a vagcom and scan the airbag unit, you'll see it there, or you'll have to take it out first.
    To get it out you'll need to either remove the WHOLE dash to access, or if you have a chapman set you can get to the 3 screws holding it down in the small gap below the radio/ac and the gear stick.
    There's a few guides online. I'd be avoiding removing the whole dash like some say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Sounds like good value, the airbag control unit however isn't cheap. They're 480 odd euro +vat from VW and I'm fairly sure scrappies know this and won't let it go lightly.

It's located along the gearbox tunnel underneath the dash, between the two footwells we'll say, very easy change but is it awkward.

What year is it? I'm assuming it's a 150 bhp?

Sounds decent value, if you didn't like it, and it's a genuine GTI you'd definitely make a weeks wages out of it.

Sounds like good value, the airbag control unit however isn't cheap. They're 480 odd euro +vat from VW and I'm fairly sure scrappies know this and won't let it go lightly.

It's located along the gearbox tunnel underneath the dash, between the two footwells we'll say, very easy change but is it awkward.

Sounds decent value, if you didn't like it, and it's a genuine GTI you'd definitely make a weeks wages out of it.
    Thanks for that. I'm not going to assume it's an easy fix but I'm getting a code reading before I hand the cash over just so I'm fully aware of all issues.
    It's the turbo alright. That 125bhp was undeserving of the badge. Even with faulty ACU I reckon it's a great price for a car with a pretty minor fault.

Thanks for that. I'm not going to assume it's an easy fix but I'm getting a code reading before I hand the cash over just so I'm fully aware of all issues.
    It's the turbo alright. That 125bhp was undeserving of the badge. Even with faulty ACU I reckon it's a great price for a car with a pretty minor fault.

Incidentally, was the 125bhp sold anywhere else, apart from the UK and Ireland?

The 2.0 8v? Not so sure outside of here, but it was very unworthy of the badge.

What year is the one you are getting?

The 2.0 8v? Not so sure outside of here, but it was very unworthy of the badge.

What year is the one you are getting?

It's 2000.

It's 2000.

Not so bad, do post pictures when she arrives ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭lafors

Obviously you both missed my post, its €40 from a scrappy for a working airbag control unit.
    It's not an easy job, but it is do'able by any diy enthusiast. I did it in about 3 hours but could do it in an hour or less now.....always the way with the first time ;)

lafors wrote: »
    Obviously you both missed my post, its €40 from a scrappy for a working airbag control unit.
    It's not an easy job, but it is do'able by any diy enthusiast. I did it in about 3 hours but could do it in an hour or less now.....always the way with the first time ;)

Sound, but if I were to budget E40 sod's law dictates that it'll cost a multiple of that. ;) I'll assume the worst and feign surprise if I get off a lightly as you say I could.

Not so bad, do post pictures when she arrives ;)
    Will do, it'll be a fortnight or so though. The seller has to source an S3 before he parts with the Golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭tossy

2000 will mean it has recaros also so a nice added bonus.

Buy it get the Airbag ECU sorted and then put a decent suspension set up in it and talk to Joe at chippedIRE about freeing up some extra horses.Then down the line when the you have to replace discs/pads due to wear and tear buy some 312mm discs and caliper carriers from the 180bhp GTI/VRS/S3/TT/Cupra and enjoy some improved stopping power.

Well wear.

Yes, it's definitely got the Recaros which are in my opinion much nicer than the cream leather seats in my friend's five door '01 GTI.
    Interesting you should mention the suspension as it's been done already with Bilsteins (whatever they are, shocks?), I think. I know feck all about modding but it's nice and subtle and looks well.
    It's got a CD changer and cassette player in the dash, each separate from as far as I can see. Don't suppose there's any easy and cheap way to get an auxiliary input for the old tunes without serious dash upheaval..I'm not awfully handy with cars to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭tossy

Yes, it's definitely got the Recaros which are in my opinion much nicer than the cream leather seats in my friend's five door '01 GTI.
    Interesting you should mention the suspension as it's been done already with Bilsteins (whatever they are, shocks?), I think. I know feck all about modding but it's nice and subtle and looks well.
    It's got a CD changer and cassette player in the dash, each separate from as far as I can see. Don't suppose there's any easy and cheap way to get an auxiliary input for the old tunes without serious dash upheaval..I'm not awfully handy with cars to be honest.

The recaro seats in the mk4 golfs and boras are probably one of the most comfortable seats ever put into any car.

Upgrading to a tasty after market head unit with aux in or ipod control is no biggy.

The fact the suspension has been done is a major plus also as the standard GTI set up is rubbish same as all 2wd mk4s (anniversary excluded which is slightly better)

I'll be bringing my Recaros with me into every car I own, Irrelevant to the amount of welding required :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭(F.L.) Anders

Hey op what do you drive at the moment? Gti performance will depend on what you're coming from.
    For the price I wouldn't pass it up.
    I know the car and Paul is honest with what sort of life it's had!
    I'm almost positive it's back on standard suspension though.

Hey op what do you drive at the moment? Gti performance will depend on what you're coming from.
    For the price I wouldn't pass it up.
    I kknow the car and Paul is honest with what sort of life it's had!
    I'm almost positive it's back on standard suspension though.
    Ah you know Paul do you! I come from a Focus 1.4, a good car apart from the preformance. He's pretty good with maintenance and driving it confirms that so I should be happy. I'm pretty sure it's got different shocks but it's at its original ride height with no GTI badging at all which is nice and subtle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭(F.L.) Anders

Yeah the car drives fine, have taken it for a spin myself.
    TBH i'm only speaking from memory of last year but it was on cheap coil overs like JOM brand or some such and for comfort he raised it and put on 17"s instead of 18". New shocks I thought were oem but might not be?

To be fair the car is worth more than he's asking by a good few hundered quid. Check out donedeal for comparison... You could probably double your money if you were to break it. Wheels alone would claw back half your outlay.

Pull the trigger, the difference between a 1.4 focus and it will be a minor revelation.

I just did the deal today on the Golf. I'll have pics in a few days once I actually take delivery. :D Thanks for all replies.

• Site Banned Posts: 957 ✭✭✭leeomurchu

I used to have one of these, great car sorry I ever sold it. Only faults I had with it were the with the clutch. The engines are usually bullet proof but bare in mind you're buying a gti with an uprated filter and it's been dyno'd so I doubt it's been driven easy to mass on a sunday. Check the head gasket isn't gone and a clutch kit will cost you around 300-400 fitted. They drink the go go juice though so hope you've got deep pockets. for a 1000 yoyos sounds like a good deal. Oh yeah if it has the recaro badge stitched into the seats its an english import the irish gti didn't have this, not really a big deal once you get a cartell make sure it hasn't been pinched. good luck with it they're a lovely car to drive.

Replacing the ACU will take you all of 30 mins tops only a bit of trim covering it and 4 screws you'll probably find the trim screws behind the ash trays or under the pocket at the bottom of the stereo console. you might need to get the fault cleared tough as it won't self cancel after you've replaced the ACU. watch out for dodgy feckers selling 2.0 8v with gti badges though theres loads of them out there. you'd ahve more fun in a micra than one of them VW ****est engine by far :D

Hey guys, I think I've finally managed to upload a few pics of the Golf. I'm very pleased with the car. It's plenty nippy with an induction kit, a MAF (whatever that is) and a fancy looking air filter. It's very willing to rev all the way to 6500rpm and has a power band that's just lacking in any comparable diesel. I particularly like the looks apart from the German style plates which I will not be changing. There's no GTI badge for that Q-car effect and I'm very grateful that it's still got the original smoked rear lenses which are far classier than some cheapo "Lexus" jobs you see so often. The Recaros are great too although the suspension is original contrary to earlier utterances which means it understeers way more than the Focus that preceded it.

I attached pics and uploaded them then clicked 'submit'. I can never get this bit right!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

You could setup a photobucket account, upload them there and host them here :)

I'd really like to see this car, you got a bargain!

Edit: Sweeeet! :D

Finally got pics up. See previous post.

nice car, not the standard gti rear spoiler on it :confused: and I'd get shot of the alloys standard ones are far nicer. I see where he was goin with the black look wouldn't be for me though just looks like another 1.4 kitted out in halfords :D enjoy it though and keep her between the ditches :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Nice motor and well wear. The wheels wouldnt be my cup of tea though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭Damokc

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Nice motor and well wear. The wheels wouldnt be my cup of tea though.

Agree,some nice shiny BBS's would be nice. think they would be the originalish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭savagecabbages

Mk4 Anniversary came with these as standard. I think they look amazing on any car

BBS RC
    GTI%252025th%2520Anniversary.jpg

Damokc wrote: »
    Agree,some nice shiny BBS's would be nice. think they would be the originalish?

Hmmm...I like the wheels but I suppose it does look like a tarted up 1.4 when I think about it. Doesn't bother me though. I think the original GTI alloys are very dull altogether and wouldn't want them. I don't know anything about the spoiler, I'm not really a VAG head and only bought the car cos I thought it a good deal so I'm happy. One nice feature is the sunroof and windows closing once you push the central locking button on the key fob. All electrics work which is a big thing on these apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Damokc wrote: »
    Agree,some nice shiny BBS's would be nice. think they would be the originalish?[/QUOTE]

I think the stock wheels will do that better..:D:D I am not into BBS wheels prob because I am a bit older for that type of thing. The car would be a way nicer with the original wheels. The last thing any GTI owner wants is people thinking he drove a 1.4 straight through Halfrauds..:)

Edit savage cabbage posted a pic of savage looking rims..

nah they aren't standard on the anniversary ed used to have one, not bad looking though. I always preferred the gti standard maybe i'm just getting old. Electrics on these are bullet proof never had a problam and I've owned 4 gti over the years great cars :D bit thristy these days though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭savagecabbages

leeomurchu wrote: »
    nah they aren't standard on the anniversary ed used to have one, not bad looking though.

I'm almost 100% certain every mk4 25th anniversary ed came with 18" BBS RC wheels from the factory... They had some fairly specific non-optional equipment like the golf ball gearstick, steering wheel, red pattern seats, numbered plaque etc. and of course the wheels!

Another very nice OEM wheel is that found on the R32. Not so sure of the name of these, and they may make the car look a bit high without a bodykit(just like the RC's i posted earlier)...
    L-VW-R32-Mk4-8.jpg

mine were similar to these wheels but didn't have that chrome effect on them and fairly sure they weren't bbs. It was a good few years ago now since I owned it maybe I'm wrong :confused: great cars though. never got the chance to buy an R32 mucho $$$ :(