Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sure Ireland isn't that bad...

• 06-09-2011 12:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭

Esp when you compare it to Afghanistan.

Seriously for all the whinging we do esp here in AH, today I read this and thought, thank fúck I live in Ireland.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/asia/afghanistan/5080797/Hamid-Karzai-signs-law-legalising-rape-in-marriage.html
    Hamid Karzai signs law 'legalising rape in marriage'

President Hamid Karzai has signed a law the UN says legalises rape in marriage and prevents women from leaving the house without permission.

The law, which has not been publicly released, is believed to state women can only seek work, education or doctor's appointments with their husband's permission.

Only fathers and grandfathers are granted custody of children under the law, according to the United Nations Development Fund for Women.

Opponents of the legislation governing the personal lives of Afghanistan's Shia minority have said it is "worse than during the Taliban".

Mr Karzai has been accused of electioneering at the expense of women's rights by signing the law to appeal to crucial Shia swing voters in this year's presidential poll.

While the Afghan constitution guarantees equal rights for women, it also allows the Shia community, thought to represent 10 per cent of the population, the right to settle family law cases according to Shia law.

The Shiite Personal Status Law contains provisions on marriage, divorce, inheritance, rights of movement and bankruptcy.

The bill passed both houses of the Afghan parliament, but was so contentious that the United Nations and women's rights campaigners have so far been unable to see a copy of the approved bill.

Shinkai Zahine Karokhail, a female MP, said the law had been rushed through with little debate.

She told the Guardian newspaper: "They wanted to pass it almost like a secret negotiation, "There were lots of things that we wanted to change, but they didn't want to discuss it because Karzai wants to please the Shia before the election."

The Afghan justice ministry confirmed the law had been signed, but said it would not be published until technical difficulties had been overcome.

A spokesman for President Hamid Karzai would not comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

I love living and being from this country, i feel blessed to have been born here, and lucky to live here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭Gary4279

We should do the same here. Make all the women leave their jobs so there are enough for men. Except things like hairdressing ect...

Recession solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Why do other countries get all the good laws!!!

So now they have absolute control over their women and brilliant weather too...lucky bast**ds!!

mod: poster banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

Gary4279 wrote: »
    We should do the same here. Make all the women leave their jobs so there are enough for men. Except things like hairdressing ect...

Recession solved.

You mean like ireland was in the 70s when you got married you were expected to give up your job, that is if you were in a profession, no one seems to have cared about making cleaner stop working back then when they got married.
    Tis not that long ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Mc Carthy... Is that you ??? ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Sharrow wrote: »
    Esp when you compare it to Afghanistan.

Seriously for all the whinging we do esp here in AH, today I read this and thought, thank fúck I live in Ireland.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/asia/afghanistan/5080797/Hamid-Karzai-signs-law-legalising-rape-in-marriage.html

Ireland has it a lot better than a lot of places. I like being relatively certain that I won't have to risk being sniped at on the way to work, and that the family have enough to eat. Also, pornography!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

CJC999 wrote: »

So now they have absolute control over their women and brilliant weather too...lucky bast**ds!!

Are you mildly retarded? Rape of women a good law?

I'm a bit suspect as to why the OP is quoting an article from 3 years ago however...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭Gary4279

You mean like ireland was in the 70s when you got married you were expected to give up your job, that is if you were in a profession, no one seems to have cared about making cleaner stop working back then when they got married.
    Tis not that long ago.

Pretty much yeah. Then the women can do what they really enjoy like hoovering, cooking, raring the kids ect...while the men spend their time down the pub after a long days work. good times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Tis not that long ago.

There was no rape in marriage here legally till 1990. Not that that excuses yer man.

You know that article is two years old?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Kensington

So what, we should sit back and be happy and never complain, never demand better, because there's always somewhere else has it worse off than us?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

The Shiite Personal Status Law

heh heh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

listermint wrote: »
    Mc Carthy... Is that you ??? ??

Maybe there could also be a tax on the rape in marriage? :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Over throw one set of nutters, with another set of nutters. Why do people expect things to get better for those countries in the Middle East and around Africa?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

It would do wonders for our unemployment levels

Nodin wrote: »
    There was no rape in marriage here legally till 1990. Not that that excuses yer man.

The article was posted to flush out the idiots in AH so the OP can complain about misogyny in After Hours over in Feedback. So far so good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

Sure its a grand country we have here,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

Ireland used to have the " Dangerous Lunatics and Dangerous Idiots " Act which any relative could use to lock you up in a mental home without any medical evidence.
    It was even stipulated in the law that the police would arrest you and transport you there forcibly if necessary.
    http://www.thejournal.ie/%E2%80%98we-branded-people-lunatics-and-locked-them-away%E2%80%99-217965-Sep2011/

Theres an RTE documentary on the Lunatic Asylums at the moment and the stuff that went on is just sickening.
    http://www.rte.ie/tv/programmes/behind_the_walls.html

Just like the afghans are using their laws to quieten any uppedy women, Ireland did the same to anyone who stepped out of line in the past. Social engineering past and present.

Nodin wrote: »

I saw the link on twitter and only read it today.
    Kensington wrote: »
    So what, we should sit back and be happy and never complain, never demand better, because there's always somewhere else has it worse off than us?

Nope, we should always strive to make things better but the article made me count my blessings and reminded me there are worse places I could be living.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

In Ireland you can be brought before a court with no jury and face three judges though the law allows three army officers to judge you too

And the word of a senior garda can be enough to convict you

I wonder if Afghanistan has this

TheZohan wrote: »
    The article was posted to flush out the idiots in AH so the OP can complain about misogyny in After Hours over in Feedback. So far so good.

Wow you seem to have much insight, any chance you can tell me why I put the sugar in the fridge this morning instead of the milk when I made my coffee?
    Cos I am damned if I know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

I'm certainly glad I live in Ireland and not somewhere like Venus, where the dense carbon dixiode atmosphere 420 degree surface temperatures would be most unpleasant.

Wow you seem to have much insight, any chance you can tell me why I put the sugar in the fridge this morning instead of the milk when I made my coffee,
    cos I am damned if I know?

I would wager that your mind was on greater things than the location of milk and condiments, happens to us all. Additionally you hadn't had your coffee yet.

Ireland used to have the " Dangerous Lunatics and Dangerous Idiots " Act which any relative could use to lock you up in a mental home without any medical evidence.
    It was even stipulated in the law that the police would arrest you and transport you there forcibly if necessary.
    http://www.thejournal.ie/%E2%80%98we-branded-people-lunatics-and-locked-them-away%E2%80%99-217965-Sep2011/

Theres an RTE documentary on the Lunatic Asylums at the moment and the stuff that went on is just sickening.
    http://www.rte.ie/tv/programmes/behind_the_walls.html

Just like the afghans are using their laws to quieten any uppedy women, Ireland did the same to anyone who stepped out of line in the past. Social engineering past and present.

In fairness the Brits started that, when there was no divorce they'd get a dr to say the Mrs was a looney and suffering from hysterics, and sure the only cure for that was to wip out her womb and then he could have an annulment cos she wasn't able to give him kids.

Same thing was later done here, if you got your spouse committed then you could apply for an annulment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

We have a tolerant society, Good police force, We're thankfully not short of food, Peace with our neighbouring countries, Plenty of water, Our people are welcome in other countries, Proud history.

Our past under DeValera was a bloody disgrace and goes someway to explain the mess we have made of things here, As another poster said "Ireland did the same to anyone who stepped out of line in the past", That creates fear which creates the sheep mentality, Dont think out of the box !!

charlemont wrote: »
    We have a tolerant society, Good police force, We're thankfully not short of food, Peace with our neighbouring countries, Plenty of water, Our people are welcome in other countries, Proud history.

No lethal snakes or spiders or scorpions.
    No big fecking wildcats or wolves.
    Our past under DeValera was a bloody disgrace and goes someway to explain the mess we have made of things here, As another poster said "Ireland did the same to anyone who stepped out of line in the past", That creates fear which creates the sheep mentality, Dont think out of the box !!

In fairness we are a pretty young republic and we haven't had our independence a 100 years yet, yeah Dev did fúck up and the constitution do with a do over but, who gets it right first time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭rounding tattenham Corner

good police force i'd take issue with, corrupt as ****. The Vatican church still has to much power, with a police force which has never had any interest in investigating and prosecuting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

In fairness the Brits started that, when there was no divorce they'd get a dr to say the Mrs was a looney and suffering from hysterics, and sure the only cure for that was to wip out her womb and then he could have an annulment cos she wasn't able to give him kids.

Same thing was later done here, if you got your spouse committed then you could apply for an annulment.
    The brits started the idea of Lunatic asylums but the Irish ran with it and had the highest rates of commitals for mental illness in the world by a long way.
    AND those days pre-independence we had our own legal system, same as Scotland is separate from England nowadays so this was an irish law for Irish problems

And for any unruly women we had the laundries and whatnot.

And then we had decades of the Church running the country once we had independence.

They werent quite the Taliban but there was a level of social control in Ireland a generation and further back that we cant imagine nowadays

EDIT: not forgetting that Irish society was unbelievably dysfunctional - 70% of 45 year old men not married, because post famine only the eldest brother got the farm meaning everyone else was an unskilled labourer in a land without jobs - so unmarriable. Bertie Aherns dole system that allows a comfy living without working is only there for the past half dozen years you must remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭Shiner11

About that law coming into effect in Afghanistan, according to the Islam calendar, they are in the year 1432 i think. When the Christian religion went through the 15th century, the middle ages were ongoing and weren't a great time to be alive in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Anyone moaning about living in a comparatively wealthy country like Ireland needs to stfu. You've won the lottery of life, you're not going to go without food for any long stretch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭chickendinner

I'm certainly glad I live in Ireland and not somewhere like Venus, where the dense carbon dixiode atmosphere 420 degree surface temperatures would be most unpleasant.

You are an idiot, if you lived in Venus, you would be dead.