Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unprovoked stabbing-No objection to bail

• 06-09-2011 2:11am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭

Garda: Man stabbed in unprovoked attack on Cork quay
    By Liam Heylin
    Tuesday, September 06, 2011
    A MAN on his way to work yesterday morning was violently stabbed by a man carrying a screwdriver in an unprovoked attack near Cork City Hall, it was alleged in court yesterday.
    At Cork District Court, Desmond O’Reilly, aged 46, of 2 Park View, Victoria Road, Cork city, was charged with assault causing harm at Terence McSwiney Quay, Cork, on a man who is aged around 40.

Judge David Riordan asked for an outline of what was alleged against O’Reilly.

The arresting officer, Garda Gearóid Whelton, said it was alleged that this was a completely unprovoked assault on a member of the public on his way to work. "It is alleged that the defendant confronted him on the quay and started to verbally abuse him. He began to ring gardaí for assistance when it is alleged that the defendant took out a screwdriver and stabbed him a couple of times in a completely unprovoked assaulted at 7.30am."

Judge Riordan asked if the parties had known each prior to the alleged incident and Garda Whelton said they had not.

There was no Garda objection to the accused man being remanded on bail but they wanted conditions attached to the bail.

Judge Riordan remanded the accused on his own bail of €1,000 on Inspector Bill Duane’s application to put it back for directions from the DPP.

The bail conditions include signing on daily at Anglesea Street Garda Station, a curfew to stay at home between 10pm and 9am and have no contact direct or indirect with the alleged complainant.

O’Reilly is also required to stay away from the City Hall area, particularly by the quays.

O’Reilly was represented on free legal aid by solicitor, Pat Horan, who said the accused was originally from Co Westmeath and had been living in Cork for the past seven years.

Gardaí have asked witnesses to this alleged incident to call Anglesea Street Garda Station.

Read more: http://www.examiner.ie/ireland/garda-man-stabbed-in-unprovoked-attack-on-cork-quay-166623.html#ixzz1X8NBLqbt

This is outrageous, An unprovoked serious attack and no objection to bail, I think this says it all. I witnessed a serious assault myself tonight and I still don't know is the guy dead or alive so reading this just makes my blood boil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

So basically your giving out about the guards even though it was some scumbag that stabbed someone? If they pressed charges he would have probably getting off, probably better looking for bail including conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Teutorix

Ah, im sure one of the bail conditions is not stabbing somebody else. He will be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Those 'imposing' conditions will certainly keep him on the straight and narrow and provide a big disincentive for further criminality.

Fúcking laughable really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

seanybiker wrote: »
    So basically your giving out about the guards even though it was some scumbag that stabbed someone? If they pressed charges he would have probably getting off, probably better looking for bail including conditions.

That someone is an innocent person who was on his way to work, He should have been remanded in custody, What do you mean by "If they pressed charges he would have probably getting off" ?
    People get remanded in custody for victimless offences and a violent scumbag has no objection to bail.

charlemont wrote: »
    That someone is an innocent person who was on his way to work, He should have been remanded in custody, What do mean by "If they pressed charges he would have probably getting off" ?
    People get remanded in custody for victimless offences and a violent scumbag has no objection to bail.

Well sadly its all alleged.
    Personally i think the fooker should be brought out the back of the station and shot in the face but hey,thats only my opinion.
    Overcrowding is a bollox so hopefully eventually this vermin will get whats coming to him.

Personally i think the fooker should be brought out the back of the station and shot in the face but hey,thats only my opinion.
    Overcrowding is a bollox so hopefully eventually this vermin will get whats coming to him.

Cool, But when someone is remanded in custody the IPS cant release him, Fair play to the Gardaí for catching the scumbag but whoever decided there should be no objection to bail is wrong but I suppose he hadn't much of a choice if the bail laws are shít but hey didn't we vote to tighten bail laws ?

Contrast this serious assault with the 4 lads caught at Cork Airport recently with €20,000 of weed, They were all remanded in custody and it would be far fetched to say that is more serious than stabbing a stranger on his way to work. Yes I know they have foreign addresses but in fairness.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2011/0831/breaking39.html

Bail for two men caught with €2m worth of Heroin, Need I say anymore.
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/bail-for-two-charged-over-euro2m-heroin-find-2852853.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Teutorix

Im sure thats great consolation to the chap with the stab wound.

"jayus fuk this hurts"

"What are ya on about paddy? Its only an alleged stab wound ya pussy"

Cool, But when someone is remanded in custody the IPS cant release him, Fair play to the Gardaí for catching the scumbag but whoever decided there should be no objection to bail is wrong but I suppose he hadn't much of a choice if the bail laws are shít but hey didn't we vote to tighten bail laws ?

Contrast this serious assault with the 4 lads caught at Cork Airport recently with €20,000 of weed, They were all remanded in custody and it would be far fetched to say that is more serious than stabbing a stranger on his way to work. Yes I know they have foreign addresses but in fairness.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2011/0831/breaking39.html

Bail for two men caught with €2m worth of Heroin, Need I say anymore.
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/bail-for-two-charged-over-euro2m-heroin-find-2852853.html

ah right didnt know he couldnt be released. thats totally different.
    Teutorix wrote: »
    Im sure thats great consolation to the chap with the stab wound.

"jayus fuk this hurts"

"What are ya on about paddy? Its only an alleged stab wound ya pussy"
    whats the point trying to be funny about what I said, I dont make the laws, as i said in my last reply, the fella who done it should be dealt with properly. We can only go on facts here and the fact is, the fella is only "alleged" to have done this.
    Im getting my superseany cloak outta the dry cleaners tomorrow so Ill try my best to out a stop to all this tomfoolery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

We trust these fine gents of the legal establishment with our safety and they detain people who bring the wrong plant into the country and let people out who are total anti-social potentially murderous nut-jobs.

People getting suspended sentences for rape and child sexual abuse and people in jail for unpaid debts and fines.

Way to go assholes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

If it was up to me the scumbag would get 20-30 years in jail. Casually I would stipulate "Twenty to thirty years."

Give him just enough food to stop him from starving to death, and let him use up all his recycled urine before he gets some filthy water. Oh ya, healthcare delayed for 4 days in the case of a serious accident.

CorkMan wrote: »
    If it was up to me the scumbag would get 20-30 years in jail. Casually I would stipulate "Twenty to thirty years."

Give him just enough food to stop him from starving to death, and let him use up all his recycled urine before he gets some filthy water. Oh ya, healthcare delayed for 4 days in the case of a serious accident.

man after me own heart. excellent thinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Kadongy

Innocent until proven guilty anyone?

How can I put this delicately: Your attitudes are disgraceful and disgusting, and clearly out of touch.

No I'm not defending scumbags. I'm not even defending this guy in particular. I'm defending the concept that accusations don't equate to guilt per se.

You lot sound more bloodthirsty than most of the violent crimes you get so worked up over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Let's start a superhero team. My superhero name is Clive.

Kadongy wrote: »
    Innocent until proven guilty anyone?

How can I put this delicately: Your attitudes are disgraceful and disgusting, and clearly out of touch.

No I'm not defending scumbags. I'm not even defending this guy in particular. I'm defending the concept that accusations don't equate to guilt per se.

Well thats the sad thing.
    years ago when i was only a teenager, it was claimed that I bet the crap outta some fella. turns out while it this was supposedly happening I was up in a field near his house getting jumped on by 3 fella's. Worse thing was I hung around with the fella at the time. I didnt get many slaps, an ould ear stinger till the adrenaline kicked in and I went ape****, and the fella who I supposedly bet up was down in his house watching telly haha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

You have to have reason to object to bail. You can't just object for the hell of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Sure there's a lad on bail at the moment for a murder charge. Great system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

We trust these fine gents of the legal establishment with our safety and they detain people who bring the wrong plant into the country and let people out who are total anti-social potentially murderous nut-jobs.Way to go assholes.

Let's have a look at what they are up against shall we...
    The court was told that Barry had a considerable number of previous convictions, including a five-year prision sentence for violent disorder in connection with the murder of Tipperary man Colm Phelan in Eyre Square in Galway in July 1996.
    Supt Durkan also told the court that Barry had received a two-year sentence in October 1998 for an aggravated burglary in which a pensioner lost the sight in his remaining good eye as the result of Barry's assault.
    He had also received a six-month sentence in February 2006 for the sexual assault of an ex-partner
    Gerald Barry, who is serving a life sentence for the murder of Manuela in Galway city in October 2007, was yesterday given two further life sentences for the rape of a 21 year old french student
    The 29 year old, with an address in Rosan Glas Rahoon, raped the student near a GAA pitch in Mervue on August 16 2007
    Days after raping the French student Barry was in court in Galway on a seperate assault charge involving his former partner, and despite objections by gardaí he was released on bail.
    Seven weeks later he murdered 17-year-old Swiss student Manuel Riedo on the outskirts of Galway City.

From a number of sources but you get a picture of the kind of man Barry was. Gardaí in that case objected strenuously to bail being granted but it was granted anyway, and cost Manuela Riedo her life. The problem is not with AGS but with the justice system and the courts.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/snqlcwqlcw/rss2/ for more on the litany of legal system failures in that case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭thomasm

I witnessed a serious assault myself tonight and I still don't know is the guy dead or alive so reading this just makes my blood boil.

Whats the story here

thomasm wrote: »
    Whats the story here

I heard noise near my car and looked out and saw a guy get a severe kicking off his so called friend, He was panned out on the ground motionless for few minutes till the scum who done it came out and brought his body into their house, Multiple 999 calls were made but when the Gardaí arrived (which was very quick in fairness) the scum wouldn't let them into the house which basically means a man who was in need of serious medical help was injured inside that house, i had enough of it and went for a walk and iv heard nothing since so whether the Gardaí came back or what I don't know but that guy was clearly unconsciousness or dead.

Seanbeag1 wrote: »
    You have to have reason to object to bail. You can't just object for the hell of it.

I can understand that but this is a random unprovoked serious assault so a guy like that is a threat to the public, Iv often thought the system itself is seriously outdated. The post about Barry is a good one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

prinz wrote: »
    Let's have a look at what they are up against shall we...

From a number of sources but you get a picture of the kind of man Barry was. Gardaí in that case objected strenuously to bail being granted but it was granted anyway, and cost Manuela Riedo her life. The problem is not with AGS but with the justice system and the courts.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/snqlcwqlcw/rss2/ for more on the litany of legal system failures in that case.

It wasn't clear in my original response but I'm not blaming AGS per se. I'm critical of judges (and a legal system) which apears to be soft on violent people who are such an obvious danger to the public.

I'm very sceptical of our penal system but when it comes to people like that guy you're talking about incarceration is the best/only option we have when it comes to protecting people. (Maybe those tracking things they put on people's ankles even though they still wouldn't stop someone determined enough).