Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is it with teenage Dublin boys with hands in their tracksuit bottoms

• 04-09-2011 8:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭

I notice this in Dublin alot.

Feeling their nuts in public without a care in the world

What's it all about?

Anyone know?

These lads never thought about civic decency?

If nothing else I'd think it's un hygienic for who / what ever they come in contact with next?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

I feel so cocky when I do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

just gettin an oul ball full!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭Mr_Roger_Bongos

lolz!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

I blame micheal Jackson for the nuts bit.

The reason the power of marketing, but they are a practicable and comfortable especially if you are a young man bursting with energy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

I've noticed that too.

Hand in the jocks, cupping their ball sack as if it was a perfectly normal thing to do in public.

I can't offer an explanation for it I'm afraid, other than the offenders are probably a bit simple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

They have to make sure to be ready for when Jacinta wants to go somewhere 10 months later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

What's it all about?

Anyone know?

If nothing else I'd think it's un hygienic for who / what ever they come in contact with next?!?

It is the lice infestations they picked up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 acadia

A friend of mine age 22 does it because his mate does it, it seems to make them cool, but when I asked my friend if all the Dads and Mams were to walk down the street playing with themselves would it be still cool , and he replied thats discusting taught, total skanks the lot of them, hand straight from the boxers into thier mouths, or straight from the boxers and wrap around there chicken sandwich roll that they just bought, now if a man in his 40s walked along the street with his hands down his boxers and openly feeling himself he would be called a peado or a queer, but not the youth of today they can do anything and there normal , god help us all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 AnnieBaby

It's not just the Irish.

American teens do it too, but in their blue jeans :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

That's what being feral does to you :D. You have the constant urge to show your genitals to your mates to try and impress the pack. And since they can't expose themselves without being arrested they finger the pack and do the mental math :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Maybe they're scratching off the crusty after being with tracey or Stacey the night before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

What's it all about?

Anyone know?

Eh, they're already wearing tracksuits bottoms...? That's the male equivalent of wearing pyjamas in public (unless, you're actually doing something sporty).

As for the reason, boredom.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Maybe they're scratching off the crusty after being with tracey or Stacey the night before.

Oh yuck, it's a bit too early for mental images like that. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Eh, they're already wearing tracksuits bottoms...? That's the male equivalent of wearing pyjamas in public (unless, you're actually doing something sporty).

You can hardly compare a bloke wearing tracksuit bottoms to a girl wearing pyjamas in public?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

I don't believe they are feeling themselves. I used to do it years ago when playing football in the cold, hands down the front of your tracksuit for a few minutes would really warm them up, there was no touching involved.

I'm guessing the trend started from there, I see it when visiting engerland all the time.

Joe10000 wrote: »
    I don't believe they are feeling themselves. I used to do it years ago when playing football in the cold, hands down the front of your tracksuit for a few minutes would really warm them up, there was no touching involved.

I'm guessing the trend started from there, I see it when visiting engerland all the time.

You WOULD say that, wouldn't ya?? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

The delusional little twats thinks it makes them look cool.

Passed this group of about six ten year olds a while ago, everyone of them swaggering along with their right hand stuck into their grey tracksuit bottoms clutching their undeveloped little genitalia.

Nearly crashed the car laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

I don't get it at all either, see it all the time outside the local shop where I'm from, 6 lads, standing round, drinking coffee and spitting all day....

But all with their hands on their sutnack, wtf like?

Seems to be more prevalent these days then in my teenage hey day... (im 31)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

The real question here is:

Why was the OP watching young men play with their balls while he walked down the street?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭unclebill98

Maybe it's a primal mating ritual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

Sonics2k wrote: »
    The real question here is:

Why was the OP watching young men play with their balls while he walked down the street?

I was wondering when that would come up :D I was admiring their 3 stripes :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 468 ✭✭J K

You were looking at young lads cocks and you were wondering when "it would come up"!!!

You need to be arrested :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭Kanoe

this thread just reminded me that I bought a new pair of trackie bottoms yesterday which I hadn't put on yet so I just did, only to find there's no pockets. no ball scratching for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Ah sure just shove your hands down the front and work away.

If anyone looks just give them a look of disgusted indignation and call em a pervert. That'll shut up em

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Ask one of them.

If you can do that without busting into tears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭Kanoe

no wait,I found em. mmmfleecey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

lastlaugh wrote: »
    You can hardly compare a bloke wearing tracksuit bottoms to a girl wearing pyjamas in public?

Why not? The girls aren't going to bed, and the guys aren't off to training. Both are inappropriately dressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

lastlaugh wrote: »

I did say when not engaged in sport. Or physical exercise, obviously.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Lol, saw what you did there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

I'm going to start using hand sanitizer every time I touch a pole/button/seat on dublin bus and the Luas now.

Paranoid thought of the day... If said "ball cupper" has HIV or AIDS and manages to get any of the fluid from that area while cupping and transfers it to a Dublin bus stop button and I come along a few moments later.. get off the bus to have a smoke and lick my finger.....

Well? Is this as stupid as asking can you get aids from a toilet seat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

They don't know any better. Their parents have effectively abandoned them. Their only goal in life is to make other people's lives miserable because that's what they've grown up with. It's all very pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭tommyboy26

My brother inlaw is 16 and he says its so you look cool....... I also asked him why they tuck tracksuit bottoms in there socks and he informs me that the higher your socks are the "harder" you are..... Good god what happened to the youth of this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,606 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I saw one sleeve muncher doing this at Beechwood luas stop back when there was a shop there. Looked about 17 or 18. Old enough to know better.

There was a CCTV pointed right at him and the shop owner didn't seem to thrilled with what he was doing.

He came out and went crazy. The young lad looked so confused. It was if he truely didn't know that there was something wrong with touching yourself in public.

Unfortunately at this point the Luas I was on drove off. Really wanted to see how that one unfolded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

"Herb, let's ask those athletes over there." :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Billy Connolly answered this question years ago:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

its warm in there!
    not in public though lads, come on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭Hangballlouie

afraid they are going to misplace it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭eirn

Sadly, not just a Dublin problem. Apparently in body language terms guys that constantly seem to have the need to 'adjust' themselves want to draw attention to how big they think they are.
    A few of my friends that are teaching said they have seen it happen in schools too, young fellas, at their desk, hands where they shouldn't be. Eeeww.
    Bit of a judgement call between giving out to them or throwing up. Must be a normal way to behave in some people's homes, hard to understand how they can't distinguish between what is and isn't acceptable in public.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I blame the hippityhop and tendency of youngsters to buy clothes that don't fit them properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

wild_cat wrote: »
    Paranoid thought of the day... If said "ball cupper" has HIV or AIDS and manages to get any of the fluid from that area while cupping and transfers it to a Dublin bus stop button and I come along a few moments later.. get off the bus to have a smoke and lick my finger.....

Well? Is this as stupid as asking can you get aids from a toilet seat?

Yes. HTH. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭bazza1

We had Sesame Street! They need to do this to count up to 2!

I hope they dont count 3! :eek:

Why not? The girls aren't going to bed, and the guys aren't off to training. Both are inappropriately dressed.

This is ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

This is ridiculous

this is ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

With their hands down their pants it makes it easier to punch them. These kids with their hands down their pants, tracksuit tucked into their socks and their hoods up are the same kids that complain about being "harrassed" by the garda. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭BASHIR

Natures pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭chiloutus

this is ridiculous

Joe this is ridiculous!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Think of the song which defined Dublin Youth Culture this summer.
    The opening line is "Heading down the offo with me hands down me jocks" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭emul8ter25

AnnieBaby wrote: »
    It's not just the Irish.

American teens do it too, but in their blue jeans :P

I lives in the states for years and never noticed it.

Over here now im even seeing pre-teens doing it on a regular basis. i just laugh at how absurd and stupid it makes em look.