Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hair dresser that can cut and style curly hair

• 03-09-2011 10:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭

Hi Guys,
    I've moved to Dublin and I'm looking for a decent hairdresser in the Dublin city area that can cut curly hair without making it look like I was plugged into the electric socket :)!

I've had such bad experience in the last couple of years that I'm afraid to go to the hairdressers half the time now. Tried Peter Marks a couple of years back but the girl thinned my hair out using a razor (big no no for curly hair) and then went and straightened it..I cried afterwards and it took over a year to grow out the mess she caused.

I tend to opt for a twisty blow dry these days however some hairdressers leave me looking like I belong on the stage doing Irish dancing when all I want are some nice soft curls..I got my hair cut a month ago but the layers are so short that it's now a nightmare to manage.

I just really want to find a proper professional hair dresser who can actually style and cut curly hair..can anyone recommend some places? Couple of people mentioned Toni and Guys to me..any thoughts greatly appreciated :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Go to Hilary at Toni & Guy on Clarendon Street. She's excellent and does a great job on my thick, semi-curly hair.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

I go to Alan at Toni & Guy Clarendon St! I also went to Joe once as I couldn't get Alan last minute, he was also very good. I have thick enough curly hair that's about 5 inches past my shoulders. Been over three months since my last cut and it's hanging well still.

^^ Alan also cut my hair once while Hilary was on maternity leave. He did a great job too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭*shadow*

Thanks a million guys..going to give them a ring in the next couple of weeks and make an appointment..I see there open until 8 during the week too which is great!! What sort of prices do they charge for either of the hairdressers mentioned for a cut wash and blowdry??

They're not cheap I'm afraid, as they're senior stylists / style directors. I think I paid E80 for my last haircut with Hilary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭*shadow*

That's grand..I was expecting it to be some where in that price region. I don't get my hair cut that much so I think it's worth it for a proper cut. Thanks a million for all the help guys..can't wait for my appointment :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭solovely

Natural Cut on Exchequer St. Can't recommend them highly enough. Was going to Toni & Guy for years before that as I know they are the only professional salon that have specialists training in curly cuts, but couldn't get over the difference when I moved to the Natural Cut. I went there based on a thread here in Boards years ago.

Their ethos is completely different to conventional hairdressers, even their studio is a bit off the wall. They dry cut only, and work with the natural bounce of your hair, so they cut curl by curl. Think about it, it makes no sense to cut curly hair wet as then all the curls are then weighed down and taken out of shape.

Ask for Tracey, she's better than the two lads (who are also great). You will have fun there too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭JessieJ

*shadow* wrote: »
    Thanks a million guys..going to give them a ring in the next couple of weeks and make an appointment..I see there open until 8 during the week too which is great!! What sort of prices do they charge for either of the hairdressers mentioned for a cut wash and blowdry??

Hi OP, just wondering how you got on in Toni and Guy? Or did you go elsewhere? I need to get my curly mop cut badly so am loking for recommendations!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭JessieJ

dudara wrote: »
    Go to Hilary at Toni & Guy on Clarendon Street. She's excellent and does a great job on my thick, semi-curly hair.
    Twee. wrote: »
    I go to Alan at Toni & Guy Clarendon St! I also went to Joe once as I couldn't get Alan last minute, he was also very good. I have thick enough curly hair that's about 5 inches past my shoulders. Been over three months since my last cut and it's hanging well still.

Guys, do either of ye have any experience with Mari-Jo (??) I tried to make an appointment with Hilary and Alan, but neither were available :(