Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Horse Racing Game

• 02-09-2011 4:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭

Have found a serious horse racing game for the PC! Its like a championship manager except its horses that you train:D

It has real race names in both flat and jumps with real jockeys and trainers. Theres also a great forum where other members have made great modifications to the game. Even if your not into computer games, you will be addicted to this!

Its £20 for the game but the demo is free to download so I recommend giving it a try. Although the demo is not as good as the real satisfaction comes from breeding and training a classic winners!

http://www.startersorders.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭sonnky

It looks unreal, any version on the playstation do you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭bit of a bogey

sonnky wrote: »
    It looks unreal, any version on the playstation do you know?

No pretty sure there isint but would still definitely recommend checking it out for the PC!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Downloading the demo,did anyone buy the game?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Downloading the demo,did anyone buy the game?

I had the very 1st version of this when they sold it in the shop i work. Best €5 i ever spent! Have 2 of them but will be getting the new version soon. No.3 is the worst of them but the new version has a few new things on it. To get your money up run your horse Mark Prescott style over the wrong trip and in higher grades then lower there colours or send them over there right distance then auction them off for €€€€'s:D I really should get out more!!!

Completely hooked on this game though--> www.horseracegame.com/
    You build up your points either betting or racing as the jockey and can buy races from yesteryear or even for you Urban you can go and go and breed your own horses! Very addictive but worth the download;) Also they have a very generous bookie who gives you 100,000 everytime you ask:p

Haha thanks Jingle. That game is hard lads. I lost all my bank roll on my second runner,he was the 6/4 fav.

Is that one free?

Jingle I'm downloading that
    If there's a way to see how friends are doing add me it's blacksambellamy

Haha thanks Jingle. That game is hard lads. I lost all my bank roll on my second fav,he was the 6/4 fav.

Is that one free?

Yep free download. You can buy horses and race files for $$$'s but I just play the quickstart version all the time. Its a lot of American racing with the odd Nad Al Sheba race thrown in, theres a load of old Breeders Cup Races,Triple Crown races etc. Would love to see a UK& Ire version! Its also great craic holding your horse up last and flying late and getting beat a head or so it really brings the Spencer out in ya:D

Damn it wouldn't set up I have to download some Microsoft thing

Jingle I'm downloading that
    If there's a way to see how friends are doing add me it's blacksambellamy

My username is rubygeraghty:o They have there own forum too but its all american racing but they do give good info on it if you back in american races. You can find out who's online on the right side of the community part of the site. Must say it really is a top class game well worth a look lads passes time no end between races on tv or so!

Jingle do you know what that Microsoft yoke is I have to download?

Not sure Urban it's about 3yrs since i signed up! I just downloaded everything so couldnt say whats what!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

There is a new game out for the xbox/PS3/Wii called Champion Jockey. I think its to do with the motion sensor thing, so you are riding the horse :D

As opposed to riding in prison eh Richard? How's the family? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭smartaform

I used to play starters orders 2, very nice.
    However a friend sent me across a link to www.finalfurlong.org and it's quite addictive. Would really recommend it to anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭chickendinner

I think you will find this to be the
    greatest horse racing game of all time

I ended up buying the game. It froze in the second race though.

Are there proper stallions in it no

This game is unreal lads.

I just won my first group1 with a filly I bred. She's the best miler in the game,happened to call her Frankel. Won the BC juveneile fillies at 2,and has won her first three races at three,the Godolphin mile and the French and English Guineas,won the English by 3 and a half lengths. I've a two year old sister to her aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

How did I miss this.

The game in the OP looks amazing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 photolessons

Looks pretty sweet! I have to be careful I dont get hooked though :)

Is pretty addictive alright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

It is a dangerously addictive game all right, when you get a decent breeding operation going then you get properly hooked. Naming your 2yo's every season can be a pain in the hole though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭clare ny

Anyone try racing game called trackking ..
    just on first season find it good ..

Christ this game is addictive.

Following on from the success of Frankel,I have a full brother to her called Montjeu:
    Won the Group 2 Superlative stakes on debut at 2,before being placed in the National Stakes and Racing Post Trophy at 2.
    Won the Dante at 3 before not staying in the Derby.
    Then went back to ten and won the Eclipse. Then was second in the Arlington Million,before winning the Breeders Cup Classic.
    At 4 he disappointed. Close up forth in the World Cup and then another race that I can't remember before finishing down the field in the Classic,retired him to stud now.

Have a full sister named Frankelle: Ran ok at 2,her best was thrid in the Rockfel stakes. Placed in the French Guineas at 3,before losing her maiden tag in the English Guineas. Then second in the Coronation,before not staying the Nassau,and then third in the Matron.

Have a now three year old who is the first foal by Frankel who I sent to a 5 time group 1 winning stallion. Called her Nijinsky. Started off at 7 in a listed race,running down the field. Dropped her to six where she won the group 2 lowther,before winning the group 1 Cheveley Park stakes at the end of the season,quite comprohensively

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

It's a brilliant game, was addicted to it for a while have to get back into it.

Highlight was winning the Betfair Chase at 40/1, horse did nothing after that though. :o

i'm still trying to get a decent stallion prospect over less than 2 Miles, HOWEVER won the Breeders Cup Classic yesterday with Lieutenant Dunbar... Maybe something happening soon enough :D

Have just bred the best filly I've ever had.
    Named her Up.
    Was second in two maidens at two. Won a 10 furlong maiden at three,before winning a ten furlong group 3 at Longchamp. Went on to beat another horse of mine called Misty for Me in the Oaks,before winning the Irish Oaks,Prix Vermeille,Yorkshire Oaks. Was meant to go to the Arc,but was was over trained. Just made her first race at 4 there,a close up second in the Dubai Sheema Classic.

That horse she beat in the Oaks Misty for Me isn't bad. She didn't quite stay the 12 furlongs but won the Lancashire Oaks over 11. She's best at 10 furlongs and was third in the Dubai World Cup there.

Have a full sister to Frankel. 3 starts at two,won a maiden and the Group 1 National Stakes. Didn't stay a mile in the BC,and disappointed first run at 3 in the Dubai Mile. Will go to the Greenham next.

Frankel's Daughter didn't do much first 2 starts,but improved to be third in the Superlative Stakes at 2(group 2 over 7)
    Won next time out over a mile in the Group 1 fillies' mile,before beating the boys in the Racing Post Trophy.

smartaform wrote: »
    i'm still trying to get a decent stallion prospect over less than 2 Miles, HOWEVER won the Breeders Cup Classic yesterday with Lieutenant Dunbar... Maybe something happening soon enough :D

I only have two stallions but a rake of broodmares.

One won the Kings Stand and Golden Jubilee. The other is Montjeu,who I mentioned above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭bit of a bogey

Ha! Great to see your enjoying it. Be careful to to completely waste you life away because it is entirley possible with that game!

Too late. My bank balance is about 115million

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭closeline

Hi lads, I was looking at the champion jockey game for ps3..anyone know what it is like..would you need to be really big into the racing to enjoy it..I heard it is good. I would like this racing but in general I wouldnt be that big into racing and wouldnt know a whole pile about it.

Is that the G1 jockey game?

ya think so

Don't need to be into racing at all. It's good craic

Had a brilliant hurdler who won 7 Grade 1's. The Christmas Hurdle 3 times, The Fighting Fifth once, the Champion Hurdle twice and the Aintree Hurdle over 2m 4f. Also won a few Grade 2's and Grade 3's. By far the best horse I have had was rated 180 at his peak. Just retired him aged 11, time for some breeding. :)

Johner wrote: »
    Had a brilliant hurdler who won 7 Grade 1's. The Christmas Hurdle 3 times, The Fighting Fifth once, the Champion Hurdle twice and the Aintree Hurdle over 2m 4f. Also won a few Grade 2's and Grade 3's. By far the best horse I have had was rated 180 at his peak. Just retired him aged 11, time for some breeding. :)

Is it a very good game ya??

closeline wrote: »
    Is it a very good game ya??

Yeah it's brilliant. I just downloaded a mod for the National hunt season and it is a lot more up to date and has a lot more races now which makes it even more enjoyable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭sonnky

Can u buy a disc for this Starters order game or download to laptop?

Can a similar game be played online just to have an idea what it is like..

closeline wrote: »
    Can a similar game be played online just to have an idea what it is like..

The demo is free, http://www.startersorders.com/ Just download it and you can buy it after if you like it.

sonnky wrote: »
    Can u buy a disc for this Starters order game or download to laptop?

It's a download. You download the game free which is a demo at first but once you pay by PayPal or credit card they email you a code to unlock the full game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

I think you'll find that this is the greatest horse racing training game of them all:

Racehorse Tycoon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭cichlid child

Starters orders 5 is out now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭tonic wine

Starters orders 5 is out now.

I've just found this game from another recent thread on here. It's brilliant and very hard to turn off. Just one more race lol

What's a good tactic to improve you bank balance starting off in the game?