Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wild Boys [** Spoilers **]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

Looking forward to it, some of it was filmed not far from where I live and have a friend who is a horse handler come Extra that is in it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

Tis out....might be worth a watch!

I watched this last night...not bad at all!, it's an Aussie western, set in the outback, bandits etc. - it was rather Americanised, as in if you didn't catch the accents you'd be forgiven for thinking this come be set in the US. the Aussie accents weren't even that heavy.

The acting is quite passable but nothing outstanding, they packed alot into the first ep. but it had a good energy and a few twists, especially the end. It looked pretty decent from a production value standpoint....they have a western type town, lots of extras pottering about, horses and chases, they preview of ep. 2 looked explosive...literally.

It was certainly watchable, think Young Guns mixed with a little bit of Sharpe and a big dollop of a supposed Aussie show that is much more American.
    The girls are pretty smokin' hot...and hot guys for the ladies. ^ mucho gracias on the spoiler tags lads.

Just wanna bump this as i've seen all 3 eps. thus far, good thing about it is you can watch it early on a Sunday evening due to the time difference, so if you're not busy it's a good way to spend 43 mins. It's enjoyable....it's not amazing and yes i conceed it has some plotholes, stories get dropped or character actions make no sense.

But my overall impression is it's light entertainment a not a bad show for Aussie tv, i'm enoying it thus far.

Any Boardsises pick up this show?...seen all four, tis a grand Sunday afternoon watch, nicely passes away 43 mins, i like the way they have a tag at the end of each ep. - like a preview of the next ep. to rope you in to watch it etc.

It's alright although it's blatantly fictional, plus I did notice a few goofs like the boots Conrad was wearing were well worn RM Williams Comfort Craftsman which are a modern boot.

are you watching this in Ireland or Oz Richard?

^ Ireland.

Ah ok you getting there already? It's actually filmed around a place called Wilberforce which Ironically is the birthplace of Captain Thunderbolt.

mandrake04 wrote: »
    Ah ok you getting there already? It's actually filmed around a place called Wilberforce which Ironically is the birthplace of Captain Thunderbolt.

Cool....just off now to watch ep. 5 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Saw the first episode, not bad at all.
    Might pick this up :)

Saw ep. 7/8 last night...really enjoying this show!, That Fuller is a mental dude!...set yer man up in flames! :eek:

The guy who plays Fuller is the best actor on the show, as much as Anna Hutchison is cute as hell, she's pretty woeful in this!...though i suspect it's to do with her character being more then one dimensional.

Has some pretty good shootouts albeit it brief, for an Aussie show it's certainly enjoyable fun, :)

I watched ep. 10/11 last Sunday....great stuff!, i've really very much enjoyed WB for it's entire run, again while not hugely original and somewhat ropey scripting, the show has appeal.

It's light entertainment for a Sunday afternoon, the three boys often have good banter and zingers, as i've said before i respect the show for having very decent production values, ep. 11 had over a hundread extras on screen at one scene. They do well at recreating the time period.

If this gets a second season i'll definately watch it!....season finale today and looking forward to it!!!

doubt it will get a 2nd season, it bombed in Aus.

mandrake04 wrote: »
    doubt it will get a 2nd season, it bombed in Aus.

^ did it??????? :eek:, i read the premiere topped ratings but heard it fell quickly...i haven't found any recent ratings info, damn! :(

Oh bollocks...it's cancelled!! http://molkstvtalk.com/opinon/wild-boys-cancelled/

http://tvweek.ninemsn.com.au/blog.aspx?blogentryid=949439&showcomments=true

After lighting up the screen with 1.6 million viewers for its first episode, Channel 7 confirmed today that they will not be renewing their 1800′s bushranger drama Wild Boys. The show will see out it’s 2011 season.

After launch the show settled around 900,000 viewers per episode, however it did constantly face stiff opposition in the 7:30pm Sunday timeslot winning it irregularly. For any other network the ratings for Wild Boys would have been sufficient to call for at least another season, however given the dogged push by Channel 7 to remain number one after so long languishing in second place it would seem unless the show was a consistent timeslot winner it isn’t worth the expenditure.

The cancellation leaves fans in the lurch, as all 13 episodes of the series are through the production cycle and ready to go to air (only two remain). Whatever cliffhanger resolution was planned for the start of season two will be left to the ages.

It was a bold move to commission the series that cynics say was a knee-jerk reaction to Channel 9′s Underbelly franchise plans to deliver a period drama story for it’s 2011 franchise entry . Wild Boys was a rare PG-rated drama series that the whole family could watch: minimal sexual innuendo; larrakin humour; stories drawn from Australia’s rich bush history. This writer hopes it doesn’t send the wrong message to an Australian drama industry already constricted by cost and copycat ideas – that you must have sex/nudity/overt violence (or vapid, self absorbed baby-boomers/Gen Y’s) to be deemed “successful”. The story is still key and Wild Boys proved it could deliver a well-constructed, threaded storyline.

The demise of Wild Boys is best summed up by Dan MacPherson, who played the lead role of Bushranger Jack Keenan. He offered this to his twitter followers this afternoon:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,004 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Well what do you know starts on RTE 2 tonight