Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Xperia Dilemma: Neo or Mini Pro?

• 02-09-2011 12:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭

I have a dilemma here and I would be grateful for some advice. I'm considering an upgrade and I've narrowed it down to these two handsets. The Mini Pro is cheaper and I like the idea of the slide-out keyboard but the Neo has a nice HD screen (I'm a stickler for image and video quality.) The main differences in the specs are the camera, screen size and resolution and the batteries. Both can do 720p video recording which is fantastic. The Neo has an 8.1 megapixel camera but I've heard that its photos suffer from compression and some noise. the Mini Pro has a 5MP camera which is still a step up from my current 3.2 MP SE C510. I've been researching both of these for weeks so I just wanted to see if anybody could tell me anything else I should know about each of these phones? I'm open to other handset suggestions but I don't want to spend above €300. Any help would be much appreciated. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭CombatCow

Hay, if your really set on one of these two phones then I would gopher the Neo, its quite a nice phone and the FWVGA screen is very good indeed, the battery is a lot better than the Mini Pro but as an offset the screen is bigger. One thing I will say is that the Mini Pro keyboard is horrible and the overall "android experience" on it is underwhelming to say the least. Have you seen the Xperia Ray very nice little phone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Friend has a Neo and from playing with it, its probably one of the best phones you can get new in that price range.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭McFry

Thanks for your advice lads! I've changed my mind, I still kind of have my heard set on an Xperia, but I think I'll rule out the Mini Pro. I had looked at the Ray last week, it looks like a lovely phone and I'm now considering it again, although it lacks the HDMI capability of the Neo. I've since discovered the Xperia Pro, more of a high-end model than the others, still under the Arc I guess but it also has the slide-out QWERTY keyboard which I would love to have. So I think I'll wait until the Ray and Pro are released, see what prices are like, and then I'll make up my mind! Can't wait to get into the world of Android! (That's coming am Apple iOS and Mac user!) :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

Neither. I would pay someone to take my mini pro off me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

Are you talking about the X10 mini pro or the mini pro?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Jaafa

Yeah there's a new mini pro out/coming out which is a vast upgrade from the first. 3 inch screen being one of the main improvements. Also 1GHZ processor and Android 2.3.

Are you talking about the X10 mini pro or the mini pro?

Sorry I'm talking about the X10 mini pro. But the OH has the X10 and from both our experiences I'd never buy another Sony Android phone again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Stop being a peasant and get a decent phone!

But ye, Stench balls is right. I was using an x10 mini in work last week. Useless yoke altogether. Me sister has the x10 mini pro and its crap as well, though I might be spoilt with my HTC Desire.

Either way, avoid the X10's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,963 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

But both our expierences with Sony phones have been crap. I wouldn't dare buy another one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,953 ✭✭✭granturismo

[QUOTE=McFry;74165453The Neo has an 8.1 megapixel camera ... :)[/QUOTE]

My Neo has 2 resolution options - the zoom function onlt works in 5 mpix cam and vid but no zoom in 8.1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭wildlifeboy

But both our expierences with Sony phones have been crap. I wouldn't dare buy another one.

can you explain why? I have an xperia mini since Christmas and i love it.

Well the x10 is sluggish. Freezes a lot.

The mini pro? Well, first of all the the UI is vile. It lags. The camera quality is brutal.

Limited amount of ROM'S available to choose from. None of them perfect.

Right now i'm settling for a decent camera but with a crappy dialer. Can't win.