Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

...I thought that went well!

• 01-09-2011 8:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭

Need to say this somewhere and I can't vent on Facebook and Twitter or the involved person will see.

The topic is: Situations that you could have handled better with the benefit of hindsight...but it's funnier that you didn't...

Mine happened in work today. On my break, as I was leaving the staff smoking area I walk out and spot a girl that I know from working with years back. Now, when I say know, we weren't close at all. Just the odd hello and whatnot, as ya do. We'd have literally nothing to talk about if caught in conversation.

She's far away and standing in a group chatting with people. Grand...I don't have to go over and make awkward small talk. Brilliant! I give a polite wave, she smiles and waves back, I keep my earphones in and keep going.

Then, out of the corner of my eye, I see a gesture from that direction and hear a faint noise (the earphones are loud). So I look over and see a big angry head on this girl and she appears to be shouting something. I'm unsure if it's me she's shouting at...but I kind of slow down, just in case, I don't want to be rude. I'm getting the distinct impression she's yelling "WHERE ARE YOU GOING?!" and isn't impressed by my attempt to shun her with a smile and wave.

She keeps shouting so I take one earphone out and look at her. She stops shouting, but continues to look angry. And we just stare at each other, silently, for what seems like an eternity (but was probably only a couple of seconds).

So I do what any reasonable man does in a mildly awkward situation like this...

...I run. Like ****ing lightning...

Still no idea why I did it. I think I just thought to myself "You won't see her again for another four years if this situation ends asap!"

Could have said or done literally ANYTHING that would have handled the situation better. But nope, a light jog quickly progressing into a sprint was how I chose to deal with this moment in my life. I'm an outgoing, confident guy generally...but I just hate awkward situations. So yep...I ran.

What made it funnier (for everyone else, not me), was that when I went back to work and told the staff, they pissed themselves at me constantly staring at the door of the shop, terrified in case your one walked in and prolonged my agony.

Your turn AH. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭dirtypanties

If you are friends with her on f/b surely she will comment on it?!:)

Should change your username to leggit :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Should change your username to leggit :D

That's actually my surname. No lies. Though it's spelled Leggett.

Lived up to it tonight anyway...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Take one for the team (AH). Find out what she wanted and let us all know :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,042 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

Your post makes you seem like you don't like talking with people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

I cringed reading that post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭nicechick!

Hilarious!! :D though I'd love to know what she was saying!

Your post makes you seem like you don't like talking with people?

I'm the chattiest bollix you'll ever meet if I know someone or click with them off the bat. But I hate idle small talk, especially when I'm on my break in work trying to just chill out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

ah, she'll be grand. Probably diss you as a snobby fcucker to anyone who'll listen, but sure it could be worse, she could have been trying to tell you about your hitherto unknown toddler, concieved that time you stuck around a bit longer than you should've.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Are you usually socially akward???

Why would anyone run away to avoid talking to someone? Its not like you used to out with her and had reason not to speak to her. Can you not make small talk??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

CJC999 wrote: »

Why would anyone run away to avoid talking to someone? Its not like you used to out with her and had reason not to speak to her. Can you not make small talk??
    judging by the length of the op, he never shuts up:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,641 ✭✭✭cml387

If we were privy to the instant reaction of George W when he was told about the second plane, as told by himself.....

If Brian Cowen could have told us all how he felt at the exact monent the bankers came in and told him they were all broke...

If Napolean at Waterloo,Michael Collins on Bloody Sunday etc. had acccess to instant messaging, then I would be interested to read about their reaction to such historical events.

But not yours, OP.

No, not really like! That's what made this so random...even to me. It was more the fact that there was a good 20ft between us, and I wasn't sure if she was actually shouting at me or not. If we were beside each other, I would've said "Ah howya" and got on with it. But it was the fact that, to do so, I would've had to walk all that way to find out she wasn't talking to me.

Plus the fact that I just really, really didn't want to 'catch up'. Obviously, by my reaction...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

She looked angry and as if she was shouting at him. Why would he talk to her? Even with his earphones out he said she still looked angry. Would you go over and talk to someone like that? He didnt have to run away but i dont think i'd stick around to hear what she had to say.

/in saying that, she couldnt have been letting one go and thats why her face was angry looking?

Still not as bad as when you say "bye" to someone, and then you both start walking the same way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Has anyone checked TLL to see if a distraught lady is posting regarding her strange encounter with a former colleague?

Sacramento wrote: »
    Still not as bad as when you say "bye" to someone, and then you both start walking the same way.

hahhahhahah ha :D been there ... ehhh awkward

Has anyone checked TLL to see if a distraught lady is posting regarding her strange encounter with a former colleague?

"Why do men always run a mile when they see me?

No...I mean, literally, run!"

leggo wrote: »
    "Why do men always run a mile when they see me?

No...I mean, literally, run!"

Men:mad:

Big question.
    What'll you do if you see her again?

Big question.

He'll run again!!

nicechick! wrote: »
    Big question.

He'll run again!!

Yep. Faster next time.

But don't be surprised if you see this thread resurrected in 6 months time with me saying "Guys...she's walking around my shop. What do I do?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

"Guys...she's walking around my shop. What do I do?"

Hopefully you`ll have grown a pair by then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Can I put this on Facebook?

Overheal wrote: »
    Can I put this on Facebook?

Sure but I pray to god you're not friends with this gal.

Anyone else wanna offer up a story and spare my blushes? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

I once gave a chick concussion during sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭toodleytoo

Yep. Faster next time.

But don't be surprised if you see this thread resurrected in 6 months time with me saying "Guys...she's walking around my shop. What do I do?"

I'm following the thread just in case this happens :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Dodd

Just be sure you don't run into a pole while legging it for freedom.:)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

What's worse is when you meet someone in the supermarket, talk to them for a good while on one aisle, then you leave and keep meeting on other aisles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

What's worse is when you meet someone in the supermarket, talk to them for a good while on one aisle, then you leave and keep meeting on other aisles.

*groan* I hate that! And you both have to do the raised eyebrow thing and one of you has to say, 'We gotta stop meeting like this!'

Not cool. Ever

"Good luck with the book!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

I have bad eyesight, and once, before my sight became so poor it made functioning without some sort of visionary aid practically impossible, I was walking on the main road towards my house alongside heavy traffic without glasses or lenses. The traffic was moving so slow that I was pretty much going the same speed as it.

I blurrily noticed someone in a van travelling right next to me waving at me from the passenger seat. Unfortunately, due to my optical handicap I had no idea who was waving, how well I knew them or how to respond to the waving. It was just a waving shape to me!
    Awkwardness ensued: wave back? go to the window and say hello? pretend I don't notice them and carry on? or just kindof half-wave, put the head down and power-walk away faster than the traffic? I took the latter option!

I wonder how many times my eyesight has led to people thinking I was one seriously antisocial baxtard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

That's one of the best stories I've heard in a long time OP :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Reminds me of one night, I was coming out of a club.. I was getting a taxi and this girl jumps in with me. I'm like - Ok, we're sharing a taxi so...

Anyway, she gets dropped off first - and she tells the taxi driver that I'm getting off with her. I'm actually shocked by this and get out.. realising 10 seconds later when the taxi is gone, that I'm bolloxed drunk and want to go home for some food - and that this girl wasn't much of a looker anyway (not ugly by any means, just average).

So we're standing outside her apartment, and she tells me she's waiting for her house-mate to come back with the keys. I realise now that 1 - I'm out of pocket for a taxi home, 2 - I'm starving, and 3 - I'm stuck outside in the cold with this girl I've never met before..

So I tell her I need to take a leak - I walk up around the corner, and just PEG IT through a laneway and only stop running 20 minutes later when I'm at my house. I remember thinking about her probably giving me a few minutes to come back, and then looking around the corner to see myself replaced by thin air.

Haven't shared a taxi since. In hindsight, I would have done the exact same! But you reminded me of it with how you pegged it off.

dlofnep wrote: »
    Reminds me of one night, I was coming out of a club.. I was getting a taxi and this girl jumps in with me. I'm like - Ok, we're sharing a taxi so...

Anyway, she gets dropped off first - and she tells the taxi driver that I'm getting off with her. I'm actually shocked by this and get out.. realising 10 seconds later when the taxi is gone, that I'm bolloxed drunk and want to go home for some food - and that this girl wasn't much of a looker anyway (not ugly by any means, just average).

So we're standing outside her apartment, and she tells me she's waiting for her house-mate to come back with the keys. I realize now that 1 - I'm out of pocket for a taxi home, 2 - I'm starving, and 3 - I'm stuck outside in the cold with this girl I've never met before..

So I tell her I need to take a leak - I walk up around the corner, and just PEG IT through a laneway and only stop running 20 minutes later when I'm at my house. I remember thinking about her probably giving me a few minutes to come back, and then looking around the corner to see myself replaced by thin air.

Haven't shared a taxi since. In hindsight, I would have done the exact same! But you reminded me of it with how you pegged it off.

You were drunk and an 'average' looking girl offered you no-guilt sex

- and you legged it.

I am in awe of your valour sir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

..I'm an outgoing, confident guy generally.

That part I seriously doubt, because your actions suggest otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

You were drunk and an 'average' looking girl offered you no-guilt sex

- and you legged it.

I am in awe of your valour sir.

No sex was guaranteed - and it was starting to piss rain. T'was freezing, and her friend wasn't going to be home for at least an hour. Leftover pizza, a **** and a warm bed were much more enticing on the night.

That part I seriously doubt, because your actions suggest otherwise.

Haha, doubt all you want, both of my jobs pretty much demand I have a bit of neck.

But, like I said, I'm a wuss when it comes to small-talk. If I can avoid it and don't care what's new in their life...I don't want to have to pretend to.

dlofnep wrote: »
    No sex was guaranteed - and it was starting to piss rain. T'was freezing, and her friend wasn't going to be home for at least an hour. Leftover pizza, a **** and a warm bed were much more enticing on the night.

If she knew her housemate wasn't going to be there...there's a reason she got in the taxi. You missed out on a blowie at the very least. Fair play to your resilience unless she was absolutely rotten!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭paulosham

That's actually my surname. No lies. Though it's spelled Leggett.

Lived up to it tonight anyway...:D

Your name is Leggo Leggett? Parents can be cnuts sometimes.

It was either that or Quick.

So could have been worse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

leggo, poker face that bitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

By the fact that she had a big angry head on her .. I imply that you must have fathered a child with her best friend.