Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

thinking of moving from eircom to skype (2 questions)

Options
  • 01-09-2011 6:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11

Hi - I am a newbie to this thread so apologies if I'm repeating a previously asked question

I am keen to reduce my (eircom) phone bill and am considering skype

1. does anyone know skype's rates compared to eircom for mobiles/landlines and if there is any *significant* saving

2. anyone know anything about skype phones that do not require a PC - I am looking at RTX Dualphone 3058 Skype Phone on amazon for about 40 sterling and can connect this to my eircom broadband router. would think this is handier than phone connected to my laptop

thanks in advance
    t.
    Tagged:

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 13,999 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

Unless you have some unstated reason for choosing Skype, I would suggest you look into SIP VOIP providers.

There are several threads on this forum which should give you a starting point.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 4,621 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. G

Hi - I am a newbie to this thread so apologies if I'm repeating a previously asked question

I am keen to reduce my (eircom) phone bill and am considering skype

1. does anyone know skype's rates compared to eircom for mobiles/landlines and if there is any *significant* saving

2. anyone know anything about skype phones that do not require a PC - I am looking at RTX Dualphone 3058 Skype Phone on amazon for about 40 sterling and can connect this to my eircom broadband router. would think this is handier than phone connected to my laptop

thanks in advance
    t.