Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running past walker

• 31-08-2011 7:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭

I think this came up before in threads but I searched the forum in vain. If mods know the previous thread please feel free to link this in...

I was running downhill on a trail this evening. Walker ahead heading the same direction, with 2 dogs. I cleared my throat loudly twice. No reaction from walker. Turns out they were on the phone, talking away. As I ran past them they shouted out F*** sake you scared the s*** outa me. I kept running.. I was doing hill reps after all and they hadn't discontinued their phone call. Up ahead I turned and came back on my uphill rep. Walker (she) didn't acknowledge me, she was still rabbiting away on the phone. I would happily of engaged her in conversation otherwise to explain I tried to alert her of my presence. In my head I was probably thinking F**k you. What gives, should I wear a big bell? She probably wouldn't have heard it anyway.

Back home my OH says I should have stopped, at least on the way back to tell her I tried to warn her I was running past. I said I didn't want to interupt said phone call and frankly I didn't want to interupt my run.

I could equally of said to walker that her dogs without leashes or muzzles scared me (they didn't but hey they were bulldogs and could have been hungry).

Was walker out of order? Was I out of order? Do you slow to a stop when running past walkers? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭DULLAHAN2

I think this came up before in threads but I searched the forum in vain. If mods know the previous thread please feel free to link this in...

I was running downhill on a trail this evening. Walker ahead heading the same direction, with 2 dogs. I cleared my throat loudly twice. No reaction from walker. Turns out they were on the phone, talking away. As I ran past them they shouted out F*** sake you scared the s*** outa me. I kept running.. I was doing hill reps after all and they hadn't discontinued their phone call. Up ahead I turned and came back on my uphill rep. Walker (she) didn't acknowledge me, she was still rabbiting away on the phone. I would happily of engaged her in conversation otherwise to explain I tried to alert her of my presence. In my head I was probably thinking F**k you. What gives, should I wear a big bell? She probably wouldn't have heard it anyway.

Back home my OH says I should have stopped, at least on the way back to tell her I tried to warn her I was running past. I said I didn't want to interupt said phone call and frankly I didn't want to interupt my run.

I could equally of said to walker that her dogs without leashes or muzzles scared me (they didn't but hey they were bulldogs and could have been hungry).

Was walker out of order? Was I out of order? Do you slow to a stop when running past walkers? :confused:

What i do is try to get on the other side of the path and shout ''coming trough on left'' or whatever side there not on. No-one has complained yet, BUT wouldn't ya think she would get off the phone when she seen you coming back and acknowledge you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

I used to scare the crap out of walkers on the Railway Walk- if I said nothing I scared them, if I shouted "coming through!" I scared them, if I scuffed the dirt and coughed I scared them. It was suggested on this forum that I shout "Ahoy-hoy!" loudly, as its so gay sounding, no-one could possibly take offence. I've tried it a few times, works a treat:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

I would have loved to have shouted back something along the lines of well get off the f**king phone so you could hear me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Tried sneaking up on a walker like that before myself. Some show off wiggling his a%^ and swinging the arms thinking he was all that. unfortunatel i couldnt pass him without killing myself on my easy day.... Damn Robbie Heffernan:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

I would have loved to have shouted back something along the lines of well get off the f**king phone so you could hear me.

I hate when you think of something cool to say later and think i wish i could have said that.:D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

One of the best things about being a forefoot runner is you're so quiet on your feet. It's brilliant on cold dark nights coming up behind someone and scaring the bejaysus out to them. I've had a few people move to defend themselves as I run past. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I had a hilarious one from a few weeks ago. Was out later one Friday night and not on one of my usual routes so wasn't very familiar with the area. Anyway, up ahead a gang of scanger teens started to filter from a field up ahead, cans of bud in hand, so became a little wary. Just as I got to where they were coming out of the head scanger and last in line came out ahead of me, bags of cans in one hand, fag in the other and cap on head. He was obviously wasn't aware of my presence as when I reached his shoulder he went down on his hunkers like a light with his arms above his head in a defensive pose. It still wasn't funny as I was expecting a can to the back of the head or a shout to his mates ahead.

Once well away I couldn't help but laugh to myself.

One of the best things about being a forefoot runner is you're so quiet on your feet. It's brilliant on cold dark nights coming up behind someone and scaring the bejaysus out to them. I've had a few people move to defend themselves as I run past. :pac:

Probably scaring poor defensive men :D lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭cwgatling

No way you were out of order. A cough and your footsteps are plenty of notice. I wouldn't have bothered trying to explain either.

The only time I slow or stop is if there's a loose dog. They get a bit freaked if you go tearing past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,553 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

I find the best strategy is to sneak up behind them, and when you're within 5 feet, scream at the top of your voice. That'll stop them visiting your trails. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

I find the best strategy is to sneak up behind them, and when you're within 5 feet, scream at the top of your voice. That'll stop them visiting your trails. :)
    Works even better if your wearing a mask:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭pmcd22

As I ran past them they shouted out F*** sake you scared the s*** outa me.

as you were on the way back, she was probably thinking, oh god hes coming back after i let a roar at him. Probably safe option was to stay on the phone and avoid eye contact.

Dont get many walkers out my way, really just cars whizzing by scaring the **** out of me. On my bicycle, i was going downhill around 50km.. i earned that speed from climbing up it so I didn't want to stop as walkers were out in the middle of a country lane. I flew by coming up on the left. Just 5 meters before reaching them, the man in front just lept to the left.. I was the one ending up nearly ****ting a brick.. thank god i skimmed by..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭brownian

Running up from 3rock to Fairy castle the other day, killing myself, lungs in mouth. Man with big dog standing on path, arms akimbo, looking down at me.

There's no moving in him, sure enough, I have to sacrifice a lung and half a leg and hack up the ditch

me: don't move over or anything
    him: do you own the path?
    me: no, but I'm moving and working and you're just standing there
    him: have you no mouth to ask me to move?
    me: I thought you might have manners enough to do that on your own

...conversation might have gone further downhill, but I was going uphill and not stopping.

Was I rude? I hope I was a little :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭BrokenMan

brownian wrote: »
    Was I rude? I hope I was a little :)

no but you weren't running hard enough if you could hold that coversation :D. I'm joking of course

Some people just will never think of anyone else and move to one side even ever so slightly. Unfortunately I think its a sign of the times we live in where most people are just interested in themselves and have no consideration for anyone else.

Solution : run with a balaclava and a hammer - no one will get in your way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭zico10

She was fully entitled to have been on her phone, in fairness. There's no law against using your mobile while walking, that I'm aware of.

I don't think anybody's right or wrong, you scared her and that's all there is to it. Her natural reaction was "F*** sake you scared the s*** outa me." Maybe it was the way she said, but it's hardly personal abuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭BobMc

on wednesday was approaching two ladies, narrow enough path, I expect them to go single file, girl on inside shows no speed to move single file, I prepare shoulder to give a little shove last minute she barely moves a couple inches just enough to scrape by, its all manners and there are far to unmannerly people about any more, if approaching from behind I'd normally shout which side I want to pass (normally the road side so they can move in) and then always say thanks when passing, Manners!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

BrokenMan wrote: »
    no but you weren't running hard enough if you could hold that coversation :D. I'm joking of course

Some people just will never think of anyone else and move to one side even ever so slightly. Unfortunately I think its a sign of the times we live in where most people are just interested in themselves and have no consideration for anyone else.

Solution : run with a balaclava and a hammer - no one will get in your way

That gives me an idea. Design a t-shirt that looks like its covered in blood. The "Sex in the City" line walk is in the female genes alright :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,107 ✭✭✭✭Stark

I quite enjoy scaring them as I tear down the hills. Makes me feel like a big man.

The evenings will be getting dark soon enough anyway. That'll clear the trails of walkers.

Stark wrote: »
    I quite enjoy scaring them as I tear down the hills. Makes me feel like a big man.

The evenings will be getting dark soon enough anyway. That'll clear the trails of walkers.

Might try out my glow in the dark Jason mask

mask-hockey-glow-in-dark-082686013277.png

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,540 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

rom wrote: »
    Might try out my glow in the dark Jason mask

mask-hockey-glow-in-dark-082686013277.png

Don't forget your chainsaw....you know for those errr branches that get in your way while running trails

14vodac.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭lway

I find old couples the worst. The walk side by side to show that they are married but with a gap between them due to the resentment that has festered over the years. This gap is never enough to run through so around you have to go :D.

Worse still if they have a dog as inevitably it will be at the full extension of the leash as it too resents them both.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,150 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Can't believe the attitude and the intolerance. Obviously our footpaths and scenic pedestrian areas are akin to the roads now, it's a case of I own the path and I'm not moving for you.

The girl got a fright and reacted, a wave and a "sorry!" would have been the obvious thing to do, on your return she would have given a smile and a wave, no doubt about it, but I think that day is gone now. Women and men can feel somewhat vulnerable when walking alone particularly with recent attacks, a mobile phone and a dog can be a great comfort.

A certain amount of friendship and camaraderie on the beaten tracks is needed. Positivity is usually greeted with positivity. Bobmc, I'm amazed that you  would position yourself to shoulder a girl in case she didn't move out of your way. Thank fook she did, the momentum of a shoulder from a running man will hurt, ask the lads on the rugby forum.

cwgatling, fair play to you for respecting the dog owners.

I run my dogs in a park where it is legal to have the unlisted breeds off the lead, but under control. I have them trained to heel and sit, so, as soon as I see a jogger or a biker I get them to heel and sit. They wait patiently for their treats as the jogger/biker goes by. Most people will wave or say thanks, give a bit of distance and run by.. no probs. But, there are some (women and men) that run at full tilt inches away from the dog, they will not adjust their bearing even thought there are metres of room for maneuver.

A while ago one of the dogs sensed a runner bearing down on him and he turned his head sharply to see what was happening. The jogger jumped to the side and roared "JESUS" at the top of her voice! She was about eight inches from the dogs head, so I don't know what she expected.

It's only a matter of time before a dog will snap out defensively at one of these people and of course, it will be the dogs fault and there will be an outcry to put the dog down.

Overall, judging by this forum, the rising popularity of running and jogging has bred contempt and spite among some of us. It's a crying shame, Ireland used to be a place for a salute and a smile on the path.

A lot of what has been posted here is in jest and light hearted, I don't think it can be used as a snapshot of Irish society today.

To be honest runner can be just as bad as people on the phone. I used to wear an ipod and didn't hear cars and had a few close calls. Warning people when you have an ipod on you shout or are too low in your voice. But when people see you 1/2 a mile away and are walking 2-3 abreast and don't make way is when I get annoyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,150 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

ThisRegard wrote: »
    A lot of what has been posted here is in jest and light hearted, I don't think it can be used as a snapshot of Irish society today.

Of course, the hammer, chainsaw, mask stuff is funny, I'm not referring to that at all. I don't mean to use the thread as a snapshot, but I think some people need to take themselves less seriously.

Fair points. While I run very often on my local trails I certainly don't feel any sense of ownership or entitlement. I feel lucky that I have that resource close at hand.

I'll shout louder next time I'm approaching walkers. If they are on the phone or wearing headphones then theres not much warning they are going to hear. The vast majority of people I meet whilst I'm running salute me and vice versa. Can't really do that when heading the same direction. I should get a few t-shirts made up with Howdy on the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Overall, judging by this forum, the rising popularity of running and jogging has bred contempt and spite among some of us. It's a crying shame, Ireland used to be a place for a salute and a smile on the path.

Agree with most of your points John_Rambo but think you have to remember this a a runners thread, so sometimes people like to have a little rant with others who know where they are coming from.
    I also don't think the women in question was feeling too vulnerable if she was f'ing and blinding down the road after the runner in question!
    Of course it would be great if everybody considered others be they walkers, runners, cyclists, dog owners etc but I have noticed peoples patience getting shorter with each other over the last few years which is unfortunate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Head The Wall

sideswipe wrote: »
    Agree with most of your points John_Rambo but think you have to remember this a a runners thread, so sometimes people like to have a little rant with others who know where they are coming from.
    I also don't think the women in question was feeling too vulnerable if she was f'ing and blinding down the road after the runner in question!
    Of course it would be great if everybody considered others be they walkers, runners, cyclists, dog owners etc but I have noticed peoples patience getting shorter with each other over the last few years which is unfortunate.
    Exactly, if they feel that vulnerable about being out there well then they shouldn't be there. She was totally at fault for not being aware of her surroundings, which included other people or animals be they walking, running or sneaking.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

I'd only ever make a noise if they've a dog on a loose lead and there ain't much room to get past, don't want to trip across the dog. Apart from that I wouldn't bother unless it's dark, if they're on a trail or path they should be expecting traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭CorkonianRebel

On a related note, I had an experience last week that I am still annoyed about.I was on the home stretch of my 7 mile run with only 100m left and I was trying to give it everything I had left.I was on the footpath and then a voice from behind scared the life out of me."Get out of the Way!" was the call and it was a cyclist.

I shouted at her as she rode by as there was a designated cycle lane next to the footpath! She is the only idiot I have seen doing this as all other cyclists go in the lane and I have found most to be friendly as we give each other a nod of "keep it going" as we pass each other if you understand me. It really made me angry as I was just finishing my run and especially when there is a cycle lane that is clearly marked!

I get that running down the footpath on the slip road from the Palmerstown bypass into Chapelizod. Now you often meet cyclists coming the other way which is understandable as the alternative route involves taking a detour to join a heavily trafficked dual carriageway and crossing 3 lanes of fast moving traffic to get back to where you were (and it's uphill so it's not dangerous) but whizzing past people going downhill is just reckless. There's one particular old guy idiot on a racer bike who could rival Dublin Bus drivers for close buzzing, it would give me no end of satisfaction if he lost control clipping me one day and fell into traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

Stark wrote: »
    There's one particular old guy idiot on a racer bike who could rival Dublin Bus drivers for close buzzing, it would give me no end of satisfaction if he lost control clipping me one day and fell into traffic.

Cyclist crashing and falling into the traffic lane. Very satisfying indeed.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,147 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

When did it become the norm for people to ride on footpaths? I certainly remember as a teenager getting told off by cops for riding on footpaths, but although I'd not have a problem with children riding on the path, when did it become acceptable for adults to do so?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

Just make sure the dogs arent startled in case they bite !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

It was suggested on this forum that I shout "Ahoy-hoy!" loudly

Excellent.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,540 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Excellent.
    Telephone inventor Alexander Graham Bell originally suggested "ahoy" be adopted as the standard greeting when answering a telephone, before "Hello" (suggested by Thomas Edison) became common.[citation needed] In The Simpsons, Mr Burns is usually heard answering the phone with the greeting "Ahoy-hoy".

On a related note, I had an experience last week that I am still annoyed about.I was on the home stretch of my 7 mile run with only 100m left and I was trying to give it everything I had left.I was on the footpath and then a voice from behind scared the life out of me."Get out of the Way!" was the call and it was a cyclist.

I shouted at her as she rode by as there was a designated cycle lane next to the footpath! She is the only idiot I have seen doing this as all other cyclists go in the lane and I have found most to be friendly as we give each other a nod of "keep it going" as we pass each other if you understand me. It really made me angry as I was just finishing my run and especially when there is a cycle lane that is clearly marked!

I tend to keep my line in cases like that - let people on wheels move over. I dont mind getting off the path for pedestrians but to hell with cyclists.

If it's one of the "helmets, bells and hi-viz" footpath riding brigade though, it's obligatory to stop, point and laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭ocnoc

On a bike, I give way to cars when I can as they are moving faster.

If I'm training in the hills and a walker is in the middle of the path, a nice loud "Heads up" (if travelling at speed), they turn to look and thats have a person space is plenty for me and the gang to nip by.
    Everyones happy

Then again, not many walkers in some parts of the mountains :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

robinph wrote: »
    When did it become the norm for people to ride on footpaths? I certainly remember as a teenager getting told off by cops for riding on footpaths, but although I'd not have a problem with children riding on the path, when did it become acceptable for adults to do so?

That's very true - a ticking off by a policeman, especially if you had no lights. The cycling on pavements thing seems to be a recent continental import. To be fair if I was forced to ride a bike I too would take my chances on the pavement rather than risk my neck in today's traffic where it's dog-eat-dog and pedestrians/runners/cyclists are invisible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

robinph wrote: »

I doubt its acceptable.

As a cyclist, I'd never cycle on the foot path.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,553 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

I was running this morning in a pedestrian lane, which had a cycle lane beside it. A cyclist comes straight towards me, in my lane. I'm not budging. He's not budging. Mexican standoff. Just as we're about to clash, he swerves left, and I swerve right. I scowl, and point in an irritated fashion, to the other lane. He shouts at me. I run on another 100m. I look at the markings on the ground. I'm in the cycling lane. Cyclists: keep an eye out for idiot runners. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Has anyone checked the cycling forum, to see if there's a
    Damn runners in the Cycle lane AGAIN!!!
    thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

You're hard pressed to keep to the pedestrian lane in Blackrock Park with all the dog****e on it - sorry to see things not improving in Ireland in this respect on my recent trip.

(Not an anti-dog rant)

RoyMcC wrote: »
    You're hard pressed to keep to the pedestrian lane in Blackrock Park with all the dog****e on it - sorry to see things not improving in Ireland in this respect on my recent trip.

(Not an anti-dog rant)
    Sure I was in the UCC farm last night. First time there. Big signs "No Dogs allowed on pitches" and still %^&*head walking there dogs on the pitches.
    Cleaning dog $^&^ off my runners is bad enough but I not as bad as the rugby players have it :)(This is not an anti-dog rant, but an any dog owner one :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Rashers23

Sure I was in the UCC farm last night. First time there. Big signs "No Dogs allowed on pitches" and still %^&*head walking there dogs on the pitches.
    Cleaning dog $^&^ off my runners is bad enough but I not as bad as the rugby players have it :)(This is not an anti-dog rant, but an any dog owner one :) )

I run at the Farm when I am home and also walk my dogs there.
    From my experience, my dogs are more interested in what smells are in the ditches. I always pick up after them (even though I have driven home with bags of dog poo in the car and the windows open coz there are no bins!) but have never seen any other dog walker picking up after their dogs.:mad:

I have been running there for about six months and mostly it is ok. Bit annoying if you get into the car without relaising there is poo on your shoes but as they say **** happens ! My bigger concern about dogs is where people have them on the expanding leads - particularily on relatively narrow paths- these leads are somtimes not easily visible and I have had to take evasive action to avoid being tripped a few times. I think I would nearly prefer to see the dogs run free.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,147 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

anymore wrote: »
    I have been running there for about six months and mostly it is ok. Bit annoying if you get into the car without relaising there is poo on your shoes but as they say **** happens ! My bigger concern about dogs is where people have them on the expanding leads - particularily on relatively narrow paths- these leads are somtimes not easily visible and I have had to take evasive action to avoid being tripped a few times. I think I would nearly prefer to see the dogs run free.

Next time I see a small dog on one of these I might just "not notice" the lead to see what happens. :D

......and not on one of my usual routes so wasn't very familiar with the area..

On the topic of dogs, I ran the route were I had my amusing encounter in my other post here last night. As I turned onto the road were the first incident happened I wasn't expecting any knacker drinkers as it was a pissy night. But I also wasn't expecting a big bloody german sheppard having a good sniff right around the corner. I think he got a bigger fright than me, he ran right out into the middle of a busy road so I hung back to keep an eye out for him.

The fecker quickly gathered his composure and ran after me up the road, right up to my bloody heels, it was the first time in a long time I got worried over what a dog might do to me. Anyway, I think his plan was just to put the frighteners into me as a form of revenge.

On the topic of dogs, I ran the route were I had my amusing encounter in my other post here last night. As I turned onto the road were the first incident happened I wasn't expecting any knacker drinkers as it was a pissy night. But I also wasn't expecting a big bloody german sheppard having a good sniff right around the corner. I think he got a bigger fright than me, he ran right out into the middle of a busy road so I hung back to keep an eye out for him.

The fecker quickly gathered his composure and ran after me up the road, right up to my bloody heels, it was the first time in a long time I got worried over what a dog might do to me. Anyway, I think his plan was just to put the frighteners into me as a form of revenge.

Did you clock it on your garmin ?