Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chevrolet Nubira??

• 31-08-2011 7:36pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 573 ✭✭✭

looking at a 2005 one with 40k on it

any opinions??

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Syllabus wrote: »
    looking at a 2005 one with 40k on it

any opinions??

thanks

Rebadged Daewoo. Nasty inside, lots of horrible plastic. Petrol or Diesel? (Was there even a diesel option in them?)

789_3.jpg

Tbh, unless it's incredibly cheap, there are far better cars available for the money.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 573 ✭✭✭Syllabus

Rebadged Daewoo. Nasty inside, lots of horrible plastic. Petrol or Diesel? (Was there even a diesel option in them?)

789_3.jpg

Tbh, unless it's incredibly cheap, there are far better cars available for the money.

i would consider it cheap. i've spent the last week looking for a car, and being a mechanic, i'm particular about what i dont want

>french
    >ford
    >french
    >german(except maybe skoda)
    >french

-ideally i want jap/korean but they seem to be out of my price range or huuuuuuge miles

dont know much about the chevy tbh - are they opel engines?

anyway, not worried about looks in the slightest - drove 2 mid 90s felicias - all i'm interested in is reliability tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,523 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

You'll get them for 3k. Nasty yoke though.

I wouldn't but for anyone not fussed on looks, or used to a car from the 90s it'd probably do.

It's old opel design mixed with daewoo leftovers. Utterly disgusting and I don't know how people buy them but no worse than most Korean 3 grand cars I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Looks like Top gear are selling off all the old 'Reasonably priced cars' now that they have the Cee'd.... ;):D

166man wrote: »
    Looks like Top gear are selling off all the old 'Reasonably priced cars' now that they have the Cee'd.... ;):D

would love a cee'd but the budget is what the budget is:rolleyes:

currently building a bike trying to shift another one, have an impending life changing arrival and the current jammer(rover) isnt up to the job

needs must

i work in the motor trade and see lots of french cars and seats, mercs, bmws, fords, fiats and VWs in everyday needing work but dont remember having a Nubira in tbh

Top gear had a lacetti I think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

i work in the motor trade and see lots of french cars and seats, mercs, bmws, fords, fiats and VWs in everyday needing work but dont remember having a Nubira in tbh

Possibly because bugger all people actually bought them?

thats probably true but what im wondering is why nobody bought them:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

thats probably true but what im wondering is why nobody bought them:confused:

Presumably because they got a look at one before handing over cash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Because they're Daewoos. If you're prepared to turn your nose up at a Ford in preference to a Daewoo then I can't help. Illogical reasoning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Top gear had a lacetti I think!

It would appear you are correct, I always thought it was a 'Nu$^%^&* something or other'... Ah well the're all the same!

squod wrote: »
    Because they're Daewoos. If you're prepared to turn your nose up at a Ford in preference to a Daewoo then I can't help. Illogical reasoning!

you find me a 2004-2006 ford focus with low miles for 2500 - 3500!!!

cant stand the fords tbh

the father has had 2 - first engine seized ~ second needs 4 shocks(general wear fair enuf)

the sister had 2 - wheel bearings on all of them, coil packs, burning oil

just would never have one

as said - i know nothing of the chevy

hoping to get opinions from owners tbh - first hand as it were

I don't think anyone will own up to having one :D

Kia cerato, mitsubishi lancer?

I don't think anyone will own up to having one :D

Kia cerato, mitsubishi lancer?

lancer would be ideal but they're mad money or mad miles

had a look at a few ceratos but haven't found a decent one so far

miles a little more than i would like and then theres the serious issue of the reg

i mean, Kerry!! dont think i could live with that:D

seriously though, its a bit far to travel to look at a car

Jesus, no wonder you can't find a car.

70k on a 7 year old car is high now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Have driven a fair amount of different cars in my time and I can safely say that the two worst were a Daewoo Matiz (hire car on holidays and every mechanical part was shot after 50k miles) and the Daewoo/ Chevrolet Nubira - had one for a week when my normal motor was in the garage and I was shocked at how bad it was in every way.

The road holding of the Nubirawas appalling, it had no power - nearly killed myself trying to overtake a truck in it. I actually felt unsafe in it and would dread to think of the state of it after any type of accident - felt like being inside a tin can. It was a 2007 one so no idea if this is the current model.

Apart from that have nothing against them... :D

Jesus, no wonder you can't find a car.

70k on a 7 year old car is high now?

70,000 miles IS high milage imo

am i wrong for wanting a car(that i plan to have for a number of yrs) to have as little miles on it as possible:confused:

Tom Joad wrote: »
    Have driven a fair amount of different cars in my time and I can safely say that the two worst were a Daewoo Matiz (hire car on holidays and every mechanical part was shot after 50k miles) and the Daewoo/ Chevrolet Nubira - had one for a week when my normal motor was in the garage and I was shocked at how bad it was in every way.

The road holding of the Nubirawas appalling, it had no power - nearly killed myself trying to overtake a truck in it. I actually felt unsafe in it and would dread to think of the state of it after any type of accident - felt like being inside a tin can. It was a 2007 one so no idea if this is the current model.

Apart from that have nothing against them... :D

had noticed that the bhp was quite low for a 1.4:(

70,000 miles IS high milage imo

am i wrong for wanting a car(that i plan to have for a number of yrs) to have as little miles on it as possible:confused:

My car just turned 140 and I'd have more faith in it than a lot of cars with half the mileage.
    70000 is nothing. I did half that last year.mileage is just a number. It'll tell you how many times the front wheels turned, that's all.

My car just turned 140 and I'd have more faith in it than a lot of cars with half the mileage.
    70000 is nothing. I did half that last year.mileage is just a number. It'll tell you how many times the front wheels turned, that's all.

it will also tell you how much milage is on the shocks, wishbones, wheel bearings, coils, injectors, fuel pump, p/s pump, p/s rack, alternator, exhaust etc

it will give you an idea of the wear on other items such as window regulators, c/l actuators, handbrake cables etc and just general engine wear really

the higher the mileage the more likely heavy/expensive maintenance is/will be needed

What about a 2004 Kia Rio??

i've been searching the sites all night, looking at everything really, even some i ruled out.

anything i like in my price range has more miles than i'm happy with and anything with decent miles is out of my price range

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭Hiace.

Have you checked out Fiat Pandas ?

Very cheap, very reliable, 60mpg, and even fun to drive if you don't mind image.
    Ten times better than any Nubira.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2298472

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭Victor_M

The Daewoo (at the time) Nubria, is second only to an Opel Vectra as the worst car I have ever driven. I had one as a rental car for nearly 2 weeks before I brought it back and demanded a different car, they gave me a Subaru impreza instead and it was night and day, Subaru was a fab car.

Soft brakes, steering wheel felt like it was not connected to the front wheels, horrid interior, but it just didn't feel safe to drive unbelievable understeer under shockingly slow steering, any amount of weight in the car made it even worse, I took 3 lads for a spin and we were all shocked by how poorly the car behaved.

I would suggest looking elsewhere, an old Toyota or Honda of some sort.

it will also tell you how much milage is on the shocks, wishbones, wheel bearings, coils, injectors, fuel pump, p/s pump, p/s rack, alternator, exhaust etc

it will give you an idea of the wear on other items such as window regulators, c/l actuators, handbrake cables etc and just general engine wear really

the higher the mileage the more likely heavy/expensive maintenance is/will be needed
    you're looking at a car that is a collection of parts all manufactured by the lowest bidder. Mileage isn't that relevant if the car is a crap model to start with. Also a car with 70k motorway miles will usually have less wear than a 40k car used on back roads and in town for example.

Most mechanics I know don't care about year or mileage on their own car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Fishtits

Spend your money on an Opel or sum such... no risk

Hiace. wrote: »
    Have you checked out Fiat Pandas ?

Very cheap, very reliable, 60mpg, and even fun to drive if you don't mind image.
    Ten times better than any Nubira.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2298472

need a big boot unfortunately

Most mechanics I know don't care about year or mileage on their own car.

and i have been one of them believe me - any number of rovers, skodas and a few jap cars

an impending arrival is dictating a decent reliable car, with a decent sized boot:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

One car with 70k miles could be driven on crap roads and driven like it was stolen by it's former owner, another identical car with 140k miles could be driven on decent roads and not abused. I know which one I'd rather buy. Mileage is not an accurate indication of wear and people need to get out of the mind set that cars implode as soon as they hit 100k miles.

Back to the original topic.

How about a Mazda 323, very little goes wrong with them and this one has a long NCT:
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201117202164028

or this one:
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201123202751159

Also look at the Honda Civic saloon:
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2424357

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

need a big boot unfortunately

.... must ....resist... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

.... must ....resist... :pac:

Good, because it's not even funny anymore.

OP, as a mechanic you should know that you'd get a better car if you go back a couple of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

That Mazda posted by bazz26 is a nice car

I like the civic!!!

EPM wrote: »
    Good, because it's not even funny anymore.

OP, as a mechanic you should know that you'd get a better car if you go back a couple of years.

Trying to go up the years tbh. Have a 02 atm