Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Be wary of Ladbrokes

• 30-08-2011 11:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭

Monday night:
    Villa Wincast in the Barca v Villarreal match, Boyles 8/11, PP 8/13, Ladbrokes 5/6.
    Powers went 11/10 in the shops.
    Ladbrokes had a Best Price Guarantee on their 5/6 screen in the shop.
    Asked in Ladbrokes what it meant and the girl said they would be Best Price so I mentioned that PP were 11/10 in the shop beside them, would they match or better it I asked?
    Girl rang HQ and after a number of minutes, they came back and said PP were 4/6 on the Net so they were 5/6 and therefore Best Price?
    Argued that the shop was better but to no avail.
    So they use the Internet Prices in their shops and ignore all the shop offers :eek:
    Make sure you check the competitors before backing anything (goes for all bookies, shops sometimes have better offers).
    Check their SP Favourite placepots against PP & Boyles as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

okidoki987 wrote: »
    Check their placepots against PP & Boyles as well.

Individual bookies dont determine placepots, they are based on tote returns and will be the same in all bookies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

Sorry that should have read SP Favourite Placepots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭RichieD

<
    Is now wary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

How were the Ladbrokes head office staff supposed to verify what price Powers were in the shops? Presumably they only had access to the PP website at the time, and according to that they were best price

I offered to take a picture and walk back in and show them!
    If it only applies to the Internet maybe they should state that on the shop screen.

Mind you Boyles did a Money Back if your horse was 2nd at Galway & Goodwood couple of weeks ago, advertised all over the shops, papers & net but only applying to the Phone App!

Yesterday Lads had up another screen "we won;t be beaten on price" Keane to score 1st goal of the match Friday at 9/2.
    No idea what PP or Boyles were in their shops but Boyles were 5/1 on the Net!
    All I am saying what you are told may not be true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭raheny red

When you go to Tescos to buy your weekly shopping do you mention to the girl at the checkout that it would be cheaper in Dunnes and then ask for reduction on the overall cost?

If Tesco said "we are Best Price on an item" and I knew it was cheaper in Dunnes, I would point that out to the manager and expect a refund of the difference.
    Tesco don't do that so pointless making that comparison.

Just to point out:
    Lads had a screen up saying we're best price at 5/6, may have been only for the Net and not in the shops but that's where I saw the screen.
    If it wasn't for shops, should have stated it on the screen.

They then had another screen up the following day saying we're best price at 9/2 R Keane when Boyles were 5/1 so they weren't Best Price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭shaggykev

But ladbrokes were best price on the wincast. Powers were engaging that price perhaps for a limited time only to drum up trade

The bigger issue should be Powers 3 card trickerey of going a pathetic 8/13 as their standard price and shine a big light on the 11/10 making it look a better offer than it actually is. Powers are the worst culprit of issuing poor prices most of the time, then flashing the odd decent odds and crowing loud about it.

Ladbrokes did nothing wrong in this instance. Perhaps Powers saw ladbrokes in one of their shops and decided to enhance it for limited time.

Remember enhanced price will be for limited time & for limited stake as well

What it actually says on the screen is:confused:
    "we won't be beaten on price"
    Ladbrokes did nothing wrong in this instance
    In the 2nd example they certainley did.
    Perhaps Powers saw ladbrokes in one of their shops and decided to enhance it for limited time.

Could very well have done.
    Remember enhanced price will be for limited time & for limited stake as well

Very true but really depends on what the enhance is and who it's with.

At Lunchtime last Tuesday:
    Enhanced horse in Ladbrokes (Their lay of the day) was €500 max stake
    Enhanced horse in PP (on the show) was max stake €1,000
    &
    Enhanced horse in Boyles Lunch time special (with Lads & PP lower prices beside it) was max stake of..........€50 :eek:

Bookies mainly enhance something because they don't fancy it and want to lay it.
    Some of the enhances in the last few weeks between all the bookies have been very generous ;).

But ladbrokes were best price on the wincast. Powers were engaging that price perhaps for a limited time only to drum up trade

Don't know where you got that from as Boyles were 1/1 on the Net for the same bet that Lads were 5/6 on.

Lads today (again on screen "we won't be beaten on price)
    Kempton SP favs all to be placed today 25/1.
    &
    Boyles exact same bet...........30/1.

They have an amazing Money Back offer in the Hurling Final Sunday.
    Money Back if Corbett or Shefflin score a goal anytime, applies on all losing goalscorer bets.
    Also a Red card refund on the same markets.
    Boyles have a refund if losing 1st goalscorer scores the 2nd goal of the match.
    PP have a money back if Corbett scores the last goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Ladbrokes are now on Oddschecker :)!

Are back on Oddschecker.

They used to be on it and pulled out because of some interest they had in Best Betting, said it wouldn't be in their inetrest to be on it anymore.
    Something must have changed recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭beeintheknow

okidoki987 wrote: »
    Are back on Oddschecker.

They used to be on it and pulled out because of some interest they had in Best Betting, said it wouldn't be in their inetrest to be on it anymore.
    Something must have changed recently.

Just a disturbance in the force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭ianburke

paddy power are the wolrds worst..time and time again they settle bets wrong.90 percent of the time never in my favor. the latest one was a guy to win a point on serve...he won and typically its down as a loss...went onto live help and they sent it off to be settled....that was 6 hrs ago....the settlers are the biggest shower of incompetent yokes ive ever had the displeasure of doing business with. the live help are very friendly and helpful. a pity the traders are useless trolls who would be better suited in less important job. wasnt it a few weeks back they cost paddy thousands on a carling cup game by giving odds of 100/1 on a winning team...uselss shower....anyways rant over. just a warning to everyone to always check their bets with these crooks

90 percent of the time never in my favor

You're doing well if you're keeping 10%!
    cost paddy thousands on a carling cup game by giving odds of 100/1 on a winning team

They would cancel the winning bets anyway.

Go to the shops if you're looking for value these days ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭ianburke

oki,

many of the winners withdrew the money to their accounts before paddy voided the bets. their accounts were then negative balance in the hundreds....paddy returned their balances to zero as a "goodwill gesture".

there is a thread on it somehwere here. people who werent able to withdraw to their cards/banks had their bets settled at 1/100 etc...so it did cost them thousands