Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fresher's Week 2011!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 CPFC IRL

I like your style! ;)

Led Zeppelin wouldn't be my thing so I'll be throwing on a bit of Nine Inch Nails. :D

Led Zep not your style, you need to give them another listen i think haha been meaning to give NIN more of a listen the drummer theyve been using recently josh freese is fantastic not sure if he still plays with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 Shenlok

CPFC IRL wrote: »
    Led Zep not your style, you need to give them another listen i think haha been meaning to give NIN more of a listen the drummer theyve been using recently josh freese is fantastic not sure if he still plays with them

I dunno, neither band can stand up to the likes of say, Cher Lloyd. What a genius that woman! It's admirable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭polka dot

Bit of Skrillex :D

What is the Pav?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭Tears in Rain

The Pav is the Pavillion Bar, the on campus student bar. The main attraction is that they sell 4 cans of Bavaria (or occasionally other beers) for €8, that and sitting on the green outside when it's warm out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 CPFC IRL

Shenlok wrote: »
    I dunno, neither band can stand up to the likes of say, Cher Lloyd. What a genius that woman! It's admirable.

swagger jagger is a true masterpiece our generations stairway to heaven

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,761 ✭✭✭Lawliet

andrew wrote: »
    Drugs are around in the sense that many people use them, but you probably won't even notice it. And nobody's going to pour a shot into your drink unless you request it! Christ if they did, then why would people pay extra for a drink with alcohol in it! In general, don't worry. Take every negative expectation you have and tone it down by several notches, and then you'll get a more accurate picture of reality.
    Doesn't hurt to be cautious though. Statistically one in four women will be either a victim of rape or attempted rape and good chunk of those will involve drink spiking. And that's just reported cases. It happens and young girls who might not be able to tell the difference between being drunk and drugged are ideal victims. Throw in the fact that you're probably going to be with new people who wont be able to spot anything strange about your behaviour and you're in a very vulnerable position.

This has a list of some of the most common date rape drugs and their effects, it doesn't mention ecstasy though which is another favourite. And alcohol is the most commonly used date rape drug, throwing shots into people's drinks is a much more convenient way to get someone wasted than looking for drugs, so of course it happens!

I'm not trying to scare anyone, if you're careful, keep an eye of your drink, stick with friends etc. you should be okay, but there's no point in downplaying the risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭TrollHammaren

Lawliet wrote: »
    Doesn't hurt to be cautious though. Statistically one in four women will be either a victim of rape or attempted rape and good chunk of those will involve drink spiking. And that's just reported cases. It happens and young girls who might not be able to tell the difference between being drunk and drugged are ideal victims. Throw in the fact that you're probably going to be with new people who wont be able to spot anything strange about your behaviour and you're in a very vulnerable position.

This has a list of some of the most common date rape drugs and their effects, it doesn't mention ecstasy though which is another favourite. And alcohol is the most commonly used date rape drug, throwing shots into people's drinks is a much more convenient way to get someone wasted than looking for drugs, so of course it happens!

I'm not trying to scare anyone, if you're careful, keep an eye of your drink, stick with friends etc. you should be okay, but there's no point in downplaying the risk.

I'm probably coming across as a broken record with the whole "I'm a nightclub doorman" thing, but it means I'm in a pretty good position to agree with you there. No point being paranoid, but definitely be cautious. One of the things we see consistently every year is freshers drinking waaaaaay too much and, best case scenario, making fools of themselves, but much worse can happen without due care. My advice may seem obvious, but so many people neglect these measures:

- Don't fall into the trap of drinking excessively; we always get people losing keys/phones/bags/coats/shoes, injuring themselves, getting sick, or having to be carried home. The worst I've seen so far was a girl going into what looked like anaphylactic shock or something like it.

- Always go out in groups - men and women; girls in particular are much easier targets when on their own, and men and women are in a much better position to deal with the unforeseen when in groups.

- Always leave enough money for a taxi home; the last thing you want is to be in town with no money and no idea how to get home.

- Make sure someone knows when you're leaving, and when you're due to arrive back. Have each other's numbers and a fully charged phone.

- Never leave anything, including but not limited to drinks, bags, or coats, unattended. Leave a drink down, and people can put anything in them. We had to throw a guy out for píssing in someone's drink before. I've had to deal with an alarming number of women who we suspected to have been spiked. We've also had handbag thieves running around.

- Be responsible when getting the royd or the shift! You don't need me to tell you to always keep condoms handy if you're looking to bump uglies with someone, but those aren't the only precautions to take. Women - don't leave yourselves vulnerable to assault/coercion (physical or otherwise); let your friends know what you're doing and don't go anywhere you're unfamiliar with/can't make a quick escape from. Men - always make absolutely sure you have consent; if in doubt, avoid it altogether. If you're wrongly accused of assault or anything like it, contact a member of security immediately.

- Never be afraid to ask for help.

This advice may come across as simply common sense or preachy bullshít you've heard a million times, but I've seen so many people fail to adhere to these precautions and end up in the shít. Sorry if this is unwelcome or in the wrong place - I felt this would be a golden opportunity to pass on my advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭thysol

alxsoky wrote: »
    SORRY! I don't notice when I get a pm. ):

No problem!:)
    Are we allowed to blast the speakers in trinity hall? Well, not blast per se, just slightly louder than audible.

Unfortunately not by what other people are saying.

By the way to get some things straight:

I actually don't mind parties, as long as I know 75-100% of the people attending. I love house parties, but I think I will hate clubs because I would only know like 0-10% of the people in a club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭Hollzy

I really think you're overthinking this stuff thysol. Stop worrying about it. Just go with the flow =]

Hollzy wrote: »
    I really think you're overthinking this stuff thysol. Stop worrying about it. Just go with the flow =]

Ok, I might just give it a go.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭alxsoky

I'm probably coming across as a broken record with the whole "I'm a nightclub doorman" thing, but it means I'm in a pretty good position to agree with you there. No point being paranoid, but definitely be cautious. One of the things we see consistently every year is freshers drinking waaaaaay too much and, best case scenario, making fools of themselves, but much worse can happen without due care. My advice may seem obvious, but so many people neglect these measures:

- Don't fall into the trap of drinking excessively; we always get people losing keys/phones/bags/coats/shoes, injuring themselves, getting sick, or having to be carried home. The worst I've seen so far was a girl going into what looked like anaphylactic shock or something like it.

- Always go out in groups - men and women; girls in particular are much easier targets when on their own, and men and women are in a much better position to deal with the unforeseen when in groups.

- Always leave enough money for a taxi home; the last thing you want is to be in town with no money and no idea how to get home.

- Make sure someone knows when you're leaving, and when you're due to arrive back. Have each other's numbers and a fully charged phone.

- Never leave anything, including but not limited to drinks, bags, or coats, unattended. Leave a drink down, and people can put anything in them. We had to throw a guy out for píssing in someone's drink before. I've had to deal with an alarming number of women who we suspected to have been spiked. We've also had handbag thieves running around.

- Be responsible when getting the royd or the shift! You don't need me to tell you to always keep condoms handy if you're looking to bump uglies with someone, but those aren't the only precautions to take. Women - don't leave yourselves vulnerable to assault/coercion (physical or otherwise); let your friends know what you're doing and don't go anywhere you're unfamiliar with/can't make a quick escape from. Men - always make absolutely sure you have consent; if in doubt, avoid it altogether. If you're wrongly accused of assault or anything like it, contact a member of security immediately.

- Never be afraid to ask for help.

This advice may come across as simply common sense or preachy bullshít you've heard a million times, but I've seen so many people fail to adhere to these precautions and end up in the shít. Sorry if this is unwelcome or in the wrong place - I felt this would be a golden opportunity to pass on my advice.

Thanks Mr. Bouncer dude. Where I'm from, the bouncers are terrifying so having one on this thread is surreal.

thysol wrote: »
    Unfortunately not by what other people are saying.

By the way to get some things straight:

I actually don't mind parties, as long as I know 75-100% of the people attending. I love house parties, but I think I will hate clubs because I would only know like 0-10% of the people in a club.

Major bummer there. /: I like my music. Haha, I've never been clubbing without my buddies before though, but yeah as holly said, don't over think it. Take it as it comes. (:

M_ark wrote: »
    I know this might sound slightly irrelevant but all this pre-preparing just reminds me of people trying to predict what was coming up on the leaving, all the obscure worst case scenarios! I'm sure we'll be grand! And besides there'll be such a big group of people in the same boat in the clubs, all new to everything, that we'll be fine. We'll make fools of ourselves as we display our lack of social tact but I'm sure we'll be able to laugh about it later. Now can we please stop stressing so much?? It's going to be great guys!

Optimism at it's best. (:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Meller

Wish I was a year older for Freshers Week - is there much going on night for people who won't get into big clubs? I imagine there must be lots of 17-year-olds who don't want to be sitting home on their own every night.

Meller wrote: »
    Wish I was a year older for Freshers Week - is there much going on night for people who won't get into big clubs? I imagine there must be lots of 17-year-olds who don't want to be sitting home on their own every night.

Well over here if we have connections with the club ambassadors, they close one eye on the age and let us in. We have raids here though. ): not familiar with how things work in ireland. Besides, there are loads of pubs around.

Where I'm from, the bouncers are terrifying

Bouncers aren't exactly supposed to be wimps so no wonder they're terrifying:P, lol.
    Major bummer there. /: I like my music.

Buy headphones.:)
    Haha, I've never been clubbing without my buddies before though, but yeah as holly said, don't over think it. Take it as it comes. (:

I'll try but I'll probably be really nervous.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Meller

Well over here if we have connections with the club ambassadors, they close one eye on the age and let us in. We have raids here though. ): not familiar with how things work in ireland. Besides, there are loads of pubs around.

I imagine they're going to be quite strict during Freshers week (?), knowing there'll be loads of underage people trying to get in. I just wonder if most people will want to be going to clubs as opposed to pubs, leaving the rest of us at home moaning on here about not getting in. :P

Are you from Ireland? Have you been to a club before? HM, any experienced tcd peeps willing to show us the light here?

There was a discussion about it in this thread. The basic points things to know are:

Clubs are in general strict to the extent that you will be ID'd unless you're quite clearly well over 18 (or over 21 if applicable).

Saying that, they're also probably lax enough that you can probably just borrow anyone's ID and you won't be put under too much scrutiny. However they might be a little stricter on Freshers' week considering the greater volumes of underage people.

Just to dampen any high expectations you might have, the club scene in Dublin isn't exactly great, London or Berlin it most certainly isn't. I don't know if you know this already, but under relatively new laws created by one of our particularly dull-witted leaders, all nightclubs close at around 3 or so, and drinks can't be sold past 02:30. They can't even keep dancefloors open later if the bars are closed, which is a real downer if you're going to clubs to see DJs and live-acts rather than just to get drunk.

Interestingly, a lot of the legislation that's stifling Ireland's current night life has its roots in the anti-cultural and racially motivated Dance Hall Act of 1935 that was passed to try and stop jazz, the music that apparently was "borrowed from the language of the savages of Africa" and whose object is to "destroy virtue in the human soul." Seemingly, nothing has changed in the country since then, considering how little progress has been made in bringing Ireland's nightlife into the 21st century, and comparable to other modern European capitals.

That aside, there are a fair few clubs in Dublin, and don't think that the ones that cater to Freshers' week madness are the only ones on show, there are plenty of nights on in town catering to different ages and different types of music, and it's not all "cram as many drunk 18 year olds as we can into our crowded club", which might be the impression you'd get from Freshers' Week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Sir Ophiuchus

Thanks Mr. Bouncer dude. Where I'm from, the bouncers are terrifying so having one on this thread is surreal.

Ah, TrollHammaren is as cuddly as they come.

Other important info for our international Freshers: due to similar recent legislation, you can only buy alcohol from off-licenses before 10pm at night, they can't sell it after that unless they're a licensed premise like a bar or club. So if you're planning to buy drinks for a party, do so before 10pm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭polka dot

Do you get ID'd in the Pav? ... just if you're going in, not if you're drinking. This is probably the dumbest question ever :rolleyes: Hopefully I've made someone laugh.

Sorry if someone's asked this, I haven't seen it!

polka dot wrote: »
    Do you get ID'd in the Pav? ... just if you're going in, not if you're drinking. This is probably the dumbest question ever :rolleyes: Hopefully I've made someone laugh.

Sorry if someone's asked this, I haven't seen it!

No, never*, there's no problem with being in the Pav and being underage if you're not drinking (and checking ID at the bar is relatively rare, though again expect stricter rules around Freshers' Week).

*This isn't strictly true, the Pav is Trinity's sports bar, and you have to be staff or a student to drink there (technically, it's some rule like you must be a member of the Sports Club, or something like that, but it doesn't matter since whatever the rule is, all students meet the criteria). The Pav is a fairly popular spot during the summer, and as it goes on you might notice an upsurge in the number of people who are quite clearly coming from work, i.e. non-students drinking there. Pav staff don't take particularly kindly to this, so every couple of summers there's a crackdown, where they'll go around and asking everyone who doesn't have student ID (etc.) to leave. Of course this isn't really what you were asking, and if you have student ID, you'll be allowed at the Pav.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭Hollzy

So during Freshers, underagers can go to the Pav? :]

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,373 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

Hollzy wrote: »
    So during Freshers, underagers can go to the Pav? :]

Yeah. Though of course, nobody would ever buy an underager a drink. Because that'd be against the law. And nobody in college would dare break the law.

andrew wrote: »
    Yeah. Though of course, nobody would ever buy an underager a drink. Because that'd be against the law. And nobody in college would dare break the law.

What law abiding citizens we are. They should give us a medal, or a trophy. Whichever is more shiny.
    Ah, TrollHammaren is as cuddly as they come.

Other important info for our international Freshers: due to similar recent legislation, you can only buy alcohol from off-licenses before 10pm at night, they can't sell it after that unless they're a licensed premise like a bar or club. So if you're planning to buy drinks for a party, do so before 10pm!

Cuddly bouncers are the new thing this fall. Haha, funny rule. Hey what kind of fruits are good there? Different climate and all that. Heh.
    There was a discussion about it in this thread. The basic points things to know are:

Clubs are in general strict to the extent that you will be ID'd unless you're quite clearly well over 18 (or over 21 if applicable).

Saying that, they're also probably lax enough that you can probably just borrow anyone's ID and you won't be put under too much scrutiny. However they might be a little stricter on Freshers' week considering the greater volumes of underage people.

Just to dampen any high expectations you might have, the club scene in Dublin isn't exactly great, London or Berlin it most certainly isn't. I don't know if you know this already, but under relatively new laws created by one of our particularly dull-witted leaders, all nightclubs close at around 3 or so, and drinks can't be sold past 02:30. They can't even keep dancefloors open later if the bars are closed, which is a real downer if you're going to clubs to see DJs and live-acts rather than just to get drunk.

Interestingly, a lot of the legislation that's stifling Ireland's current night life has its roots in the anti-cultural and racially motivated Dance Hall Act of 1935 that was passed to try and stop jazz, the music that apparently was "borrowed from the language of the savages of Africa" and whose object is to "destroy virtue in the human soul." Seemingly, nothing has changed in the country since then, considering how little progress has been made in bringing Ireland's nightlife into the 21st century, and comparable to other modern European capitals.

That aside, there are a fair few clubs in Dublin, and don't think that the ones that cater to Freshers' week madness are the only ones on show, there are plenty of nights on in town catering to different ages and different types of music, and it's not all "cram as many drunk 18 year olds as we can into our crowded club", which might be the impression you'd get from Freshers' Week.

Well in clubs its more about the crowd than anything, so I guess it wouldn't be too bad as long as you have friends with you. Haha, let's not forget Ibiza! Or St Tropaz. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 WillD

Ah it's grand. I was 17 for the entirety of first year sure! (granted, not the maddest club guy ever, but still). You can still go with people to pubs and ****, so it's not like you can never go out.

Edit: Also, for the 17 year old peeps, your Student I.D. is probably gonna have a yellow band going across it, which is to say that you are 17 (at least at the time of getting it). This only really matters for the Pav. just so y'all know. Might be handy to bring your Garda I.D./Passport/whatever, just in-case.

Lookie what I found!

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056377404

"Every year around Fresher's Week there is a meet-up with people from the forum. Helps the newbies settle in and is a chance for people to get to know others and maybe have a friendly face to say hello to around campus.

Everyone usually meets at the campanile at 7pm and then head to the Pav."

Looks like we're all meeting up after all. (:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭bscm

I hope this thread ends up like the results/CAO countdown thread...

the craic I had on that at 3am :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,373 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

bscm wrote: »
    I hope this thread ends up like the results/CAO countdown thread...

the craic I had on that at 3am :)

I'm sure this will be similar, except that it'll be in real life, with real people, and alcohol, and verbal communication.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

Calvin Harris for Freshers week it looks like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭tomissex

Monday- Calvin Harris plays MadHaus@TheAcademy
    Tuesday- Silent Disco @ Tripod
    Wednesday- Traffic Light Ball @ Howl at the Moon
    Thursday- Club Philth Mardi Gras Rave @ The Purty Kitchen
    Friday- Pav Friday

Wristbands for the Freshers Week Festival can be purchased from the Trinity Ents Facebook page from Monday onwards.