Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fresher's Week 2011!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 bb625

What nights out are organised this year? Still no info from Trinity Ents!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Ash_M

@Thysol

Check out the username.

Bitchez be trollin'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Craguls

bb625 wrote: »
    What nights out are organised this year? Still no info from Trinity Ents!!

They seem to stay the same each year. So it's likely going to be:

Monday Traffic Light Ball Academy
    Tuesday Headphone disco Tripod
    Wednesday Foam Party Purty Kitchen
    Thursday Club Philth UV Rave (Can't remember where this one was though)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭thysol

Ash_M wrote: »
    @Thysol

Check out the username.

Bitchez be trollin'.

Thanks. I was wondering, I only asked for infos, I really couldn't see what I did wrong. By the way, thats another thing I need to improve on, stop worrying so much.:rolleyes:

thysol wrote: »
    Thanks. I was wondering, I only asked for infos, I really couldn't see what I did wrong. By the way, thats another thing I need to improve on, stop worrying so much.:rolleyes:

You'll be fine :) Post count of 4 would suggest whoever that was is just here to annoy people.

Craguls wrote: »
    They seem to stay the same each year. So it's likely going to be:

Monday Traffic Light Ball Academy
    Tuesday Headphone disco Tripod
    Wednesday Foam Party Purty Kitchen
    Thursday Club Philth UV Rave (Can't remember where this one was though)

I thought this year was to be different though, new ents officer and all? I already heard Dandelion pulled out of the Thursday night so they're stuck for club philth. same as last year. Think the Ents Officer would've learned from mistakes last year. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭alxsoky

Hahaha, didn't detect any malice there so breathe, all is well. (:

You'll be fine :) Post count of 4 would suggest whoever that was is just here to annoy people.

I'm so glad I didn't screw up:)......... yet. lol.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Groinshot

I thought this year was to be different though, new ents officer and all? I already heard Dandelion pulled out of the Thursday night so they're stuck for club philth. same as last year. Think the Ents Officer would've learned from mistakes last year. :rolleyes:
    Club Philth isn't ents, it's the Phil

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,373 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

Groinshot wrote: »

It's run in conjunction with ents though.

Groinshot wrote: »

It's actually organised and paid for entirely by Ents, as part of their Freshers' Festival, who give a ticket allocation to the Phil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

The bullsh1t with the academy really pissed me off, hoping COC will have a better handle on things.

What are yous talking about? Is Trinity organising parties for freshers or something?

The bullsh1t with the academy really pissed me off, hoping COC will have a better handle on things.

Ha wouldn't hold your breath, lad hasn't a clue

The Student Union has an Ents or Entertainments Officer. Its there job to organise events for students, aka nights out.

For freshers week there will be a night out every night. They'll be in the SU weekly mailout when you register and they'll have flyers in front square that week too.

Also for this month there is the midnight band, 10 euro for four weeks of free entry to a set of clubs.

Where/when can I pick up one of those bands? I'll be in town this week if they're available now..

Ha wouldn't hold your breath, lad hasn't a clue

Yeah, the fact that he got in on cheap vodka kinda says it all. A mate has a list of nights on that week so I may just forget ents this time, wont be as cheap but it'd be worth it for a better time.

Where/when can I pick up one of those bands? I'll be in town this week if they're available now..

http://www.freshersfestival.ie/ All there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭alxsoky

The Student Union has an Ents or Entertainments Officer. Its there job to organise events for students, aka nights out.

For freshers week there will be a night out every night. They'll be in the SU weekly mailout when you register and they'll have flyers in front square that week too.

So if I don't get my garda age card thing by then, does that mean I get into the clubs? ): I'd rather not bring my passport there. And I read something earlier about a foam party and a rave? Here's to deflowering my rave virginity with suds.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,373 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

What are yous talking about? Is Trinity organising parties for freshers or something?

Yes. During freshers week especially, and throughout the entire year, the an 'ents' officer organises clubnights and entertainment for students. These are usually just events in clubs which you can pay to go to. They're usualy alright, worth going to in first year perhaps before you've gotten the lay of the land.

alxsoky wrote: »
    So if I don't get my garda age card thing by then, does that mean I get into the clubs? ): I'd rather not bring my passport there. And I read something earlier about a foam party and a rave? Here's to deflowering my rave virginity with suds.

Thats the spirit (though the authenticity of the rave as such is questionable).

For freshers, as above, they'll be checking everyone vindictively. You'll have to bring your passport really. A passport isnt much different than a wallet, and I've never lost a wallet. Just keep it in a front pocket and dont take it out once you've gotten in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭gavmcg92

God I remember that! It was Aurthur's day wasn't it? From what I can remember Brandon Flowers was playing there for the event and they were trying to get people out while holding us in a queue. However the Guards came along and shut the place down.

alxsoky wrote: »

What is a foam party? What is a rave? What is a sud? Sorry if these questions are really nooby.
    andrew wrote: »
    Yes. During freshers week especially, and throughout the entire year, the an 'ents' officer organises clubnights and entertainment for students. These are usually just events in clubs which you can pay to go to. They're usualy alright, worth going to in first year perhaps before you've gotten the lay of the land.

What if like in my case you were never in a club before? I'd be really nervous going in there.

Cheers. Are they worth the 10 quid? Never been out in Dublin so haven't a clue what kinda places they are. Also the fact that I won't be up in a going-out capacity til Freshers means I'm missing out a lot of the free nights..

What is a foam party? What is a rave? What is a sud? Sorry if these questions are really nooby.

What if like in my case you were never in a club before? I'd be really nervous going in there.

A foam party is a party in which a machine generates foam (think washing up liquid foam) and sprays it all over partiers. Foam is composed of 'suds.' Out of curiosity, are you Irish? I ask because 'suds' are a fairly common phrase, or so I would've thought.

And if you were never in a club before, then class! Everything will be all new and awesome and junk.

Cheers. Are they worth the 10 quid? Never been out in Dublin so haven't a clue what kinda places they are. Also the fact that I won't be up in a going-out capacity til Freshers means I'm missing out a lot of the free nights..

If you're into mainstream club music and willing to pay full price for drinks, then they're grand. They're pretty popular, albeit average, clubs.

You'll pay a fiver in most places minimum, D2 is normally 8, so if you go out more than twice its worthwhile.

A foam party is a party in which a machine generates foam (think washing up liquid foam) and sprays it all over partiers. Foam is composed of 'suds.' Out of curiosity, are you Irish? I ask because 'suds' are a fairly common phrase, or so I would've thought.

No I come from Germany but I live in Ireland since 1998.
    And if you were never in a club before, then class! Everything will be all new and awesome and junk.

How many non-trinity students will be in the club? Is there also a chance that you get drugs or get beaten up? And another noob question, what do you do in a club besides dancing? I don't want to dance you see.

Edit: lol, a double-posting by a Mod.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Kopf

: - )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 spacedave

http://christwire.org/2011/07/the-dangers-of-drummed-and-based-music/

Basically this describes what goes on in clubs and raves pretty well.