Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

shared petrol expenses

• 27-08-2011 4:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭

i'm starting college shortly and hoping to get students to travel in the car with me to share the expense's.
    what would people think the goin rate would be for travelling up to 35km per day five days a week.
    considering the bus weekly bus pass would be 30quid i'm thinking 15 - 20 quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

tsoparno wrote: »
    i'm starting college shortly and hoping to get students to travel in the car with me to share the expense's.
    what would people think the goin rate would be for travelling up to 35km per day five days a week.
    considering the bus weekly bus pass would be 30quid i'm thinking 15 - 20 quid.

Be VERY careful here with respect to your Insurance.

Whilst there have been several incidences of Insurers lifting the ban on accepting payment during various Transport Disputes/Energy shortages there remains AFAIK a significant issue over that payment principle on an ordinary motor policy.

Check it out first......:)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭CIE

"Quid"...since when was the Punt brought back? The euro is the euro, and that's a derivative of the Deutsche mark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Most if not all insurers have clauses specifically prohibiting carrying passengers for any kind of reward when you have a normal non commercial policy and if found to be carrying passengers particularly after any accident or even after being stopped by the Guards you could find your insurance voided and a charge of driving without insurance brought against you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭tsoparno

i'm aware of all that legal stuff involved but in fairness who's prepaired to ferry someone around for free defo want to be covering petrol expenses anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

i'm aware of all that legal stuff involved but in fairness who's prepaired to ferry someone around for free defo want to be covering petrol expenses anyway
    Even ferrying people around for free is not covered in many policies unless it is in leisure pursuits etc.

"Fairness" is not exactly a concept much favoured by the Motor Insurance Industry.

I have no doubt but in 80% of cases the scenario you describe will proceed just fine.....it's the 20% you have to ask yourself about.

You will need to be VERY certain about the level of friendship you enjoy with your intending passengers/customers,as even a minor incident can swiftly escalate into significant trouble for you.

I'd go so far as to suggest that nothing will happen until something happens....but when something does happen,then it'll happen BIG TIME.

It's all about whether you subscribe to Charley McCreevyism or not.....it's a throw of the Dice !!! :)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

foggy_lad wrote: »
    Even ferrying people around for free is not covered in many policies unless it is in leisure pursuits etc.

i'm willing to chance it, i thought car pooling was supposed to be encourged

AlekSmart wrote: »
    "Fairness" is not exactly a concept much favoured by the Motor Insurance Industry.

I have no doubt but in 80% of cases the scenario you describe will proceed just fine.....it's the 20% you have to ask yourself about.

You will need to be VERY certain about the level of friendship you enjoy with your intending passengers/customers,as even a minor incident can swiftly escalate into significant trouble for you.

I'd go so far as to suggest that nothing will happen until something happens....but when something does happen,then it'll happen BIG TIME.

It's all about whether you subscribe to Charley McCreevyism or not.....it's a throw of the Dice !!! :)

i'd say your bout right with those percentage's and i have seen a friend getting screwed over in the exact situation that i'm describing but i'm still willing to chance it,money's tight and even 1 passenger would make the drive rather than a bus trip more ecomonical for me.
    what's a McCreevyism never heard of it:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

Its an age old practice to offer someone a few quid towards the fuel cost if they are going to the same place. Mates will often chip in towards the petrol money when they go to footy games and the like so its a bit picky to go on about the legal side of it.
    I wouldnt go around offering lifts to someone i dont know just to share the costs, if someone asked me for a lift then id oblige if i could and wouldnt ask for money but wouldnt refuse if they offered either unless they are a friend. My thinking is, im going there anyway so why charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭TheBody

My sister used to give a girl she worked with a lift to work every day. One day she was in a VERY minor accident. She dinged the car infront of her at a round about. It was so minor that the other driver told her to forget it. As the time passed she left her job but a YEAR later, the girl that my sister used to give a lift to sued her for the "injuries" she sustained in the crash. She won too. So in summery, FOR ME I don't do car pooling.

Apart from above, people are unreliable and it can turn out to be a real headache when people are late etc.

Just something to think about.

Hilly Bill wrote: »
    My thinking is, im going there anyway so why charge.

dont agree with this at your paying for the car the upkeep of the car,petrol tax and insurance and someone wants to jump in for free.
    i think people would want to contribute anyway

Its not costing me extra if i pick a mate on the way to college or footy match etc. It would be different if i had to go out of the way.
    Personally i wouldnt go and look for someone to share the petrol costs with. You could have someone else from your area driving to the same place so you could drive this week and someone else the next.
    If in work, college etc someone asks me for a lift home after work id say ye no probs an i would ask them for a few quid to do so as that a bit mean.

You could have someone else from your area driving to the same place so you could drive this week and someone else the next.

this would prob be the best outcome

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Squall19

My thinking is, im going there anyway so why charge.

Fine to think like that once, but 5 days a week, 52 weeks a year?

I was giving this lazy 30 year old bastard a lift to work every day for a few weeks and it costs me a lot to run a 2.3 litre turbo petrol car.

I waited to see would he offer me something towards petrol, he didnt so I said to him how about you give me 10 euro a week for the lift, its costing me at least 30 euro to do that journey for the week, so its only fair.

He told he would to **** off and that he would rather walk.

Since then, I wont give anyone a lift unless its family.

They can get up of their lazy arse, learn to drive and buy a car like the rest of ous.

If in work, college etc someone asks me for a lift home after work id say ye no probs an i would ask them for a few quid to do so as that a bit mean.

i would say no probs too,but if its happening five days a week its kinda taking the piss out of it.
    i've had this **** happen to me in work before i'm not putting up with it again

i would say no probs too,but if its happening five days a week its kinda taking the piss out of it.
    i've had this **** happen to me in work before i'm not putting up with it again

The thats fair enough so. The decent ones will offer you a few quid before you ask anyway. If they havent offered or asked you how much you want then dont give them a lift. But make sure you tell them that they are getting a lift at their own risk :).

But make sure you tell them that they are getting a lift at their own risk :).

dont think that would stop them cleaning me out :D

TheBody wrote: »
    My sister used to give a girl she worked with a lift to work every day. One day she was in a VERY minor accident. She dinged the car infront of her at a round about. It was so minor that the other driver told her to forget it. As the time passed she left her job but a YEAR later, the girl that my sister used to give a lift to sued her for the "injuries" she sustained in the crash. She won too. So in summery, FOR ME I don't do car pooling.

Apart from above, people are unreliable and it can turn out to be a real headache when people are late etc.

Just something to think about.

I agree with The Body's evidence here....the Statute of Limitations for Civil Injury claims is now TWO years.

That is a hell of a long time to have such stuff hanging around.

It has been the experience,especially under the old 3 year SoL that claims would drop through the letterbox on or around the 11th Hour.

Without wanting to rain on the OP's parade,I'd need to be very sure of my passengers before embarking on any regular service for them.

As an aside,perhaps the OP could be a bit more specific on the actual situation,City,College,Journey etc,as there may be more options than he/she realizes.

If in Dublin,for example a 5 Day non-consecutive Dublin Bus Student Rambler costs €16.50.

AlekSmart wrote: »
    If in Dublin,for example a 5 Day non-consecutive Dublin Bus Student Rambler costs €16.50.

17km trip each way 30quid for a weekly bus pass.
    one bus only dont have options of other buses or trains travelling from small town to larger town.
    it'll cost me 30 a week in juice for the car anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

Its not costing me extra if i pick a mate on the way to college or footy match etc.
    It is. You will use more fuel.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 23,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

I'm shocked that this is the case with the insurance industry. Surely we should be encouraging car pooling.

The government should bring in legislation to force the insurance industry to cover car pooling.

@ BK
    dont be giving them any excuse's to raise the premiums:)

@ BK
    dont be giving them any excuse's to raise the premiums:)

I think the Insuramce Industry has more than enough excuses to be goin on with......

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/this-woman-drove-a-taxi-and-took-holidays-to-the-us-she-also-claimed-euro31000-in-illness-benefit-2860250.html

This single account contains all the obligatory ingredients for a good payout... :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 23,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

One great thing from Alex's posted article:
    Her case was dismissed after a video tape of her mowing her lawn for 40 minutes was played in court.

So it sounds like DB send out private eye types to find out if people are really disabled or not. That is great work by DB, fair play to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

Work out the distance and get the average price per litre and calculate it. Divide it by two and that's a fair price.

The insurance question is an interesting twist. You can argue that you are not carrying people for reward. They are just chipping in for fuel to fund the journey - not unusual for private use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

BrianD wrote: »
    Work out the distance and get the average price per litre and calculate it. Divide it by two and that's a fair price.

The insurance question is an interesting twist. You can argue that you are not carrying people for reward. They are just chipping in for fuel to fund the journey - not unusual for private use.

The thing is though; is OP offering a regular lift to people travling in about the same direction and getting a few quid to cover the fuel or is OP looking to tout a service and to get a few quid from it. If the latter is the case then it is may begetting too close towards "reward" for the liking of an insurance company.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

http://www.carpool.ie/

I'm sure that'd have a section on insurance and contributions towards petrol etc.

fletch wrote: »
    It is. You will use more fuel.

I'll just make sure they dont weigh much and dont open the window ;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭omah

I see nothing wrong with getting someone to share petrol costs - go for it.