Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever get beaten up?

• 27-08-2011 1:06am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭

I never got badly beaten but I got beaten up a couple of times.

Once I was standing outside a pub with a group of friends and I looked around and there was one of them getting his head bounced of a car bonnet by some grey haired guy (twas a family fued thing apparently).

Now yer man was laughing while he was being hammered by this grey haired guy (yeah complete nutcase) but he pushes the grey haired guy off him. So the grey haired guy goes back into the pub.

Anyhoo ten minutes later about 15 big men run out of the pub and start smackin heads. I legged it into a fast food place and get followed in by a bout 4 of them who start beating me up - I hit the floor and adopt the classic foetal position and thankfully the corridor is too narrow for them to get a good swing behind their kicks so I'm doing okay with the whole feotal position thing. Next thing I know I got picked up and flung out the door. I got up and just ran like the clappers.

There was another time but I'm sick of typing so I might do it later.

How about y'all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

another traveller bashing thread. literally

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Some bastad ate my face once, bit my ear off, half my lip and my nose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭ciano1

I love getting beat off! :D;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

another traveller bashing thread. literally

Huh? They weren't Travellers.

Never got hit by a Traveller.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

No.

I never get myself into confrontations when I'm out with friends. I never drink when I'm out either so there's a greater chance that I'll be more aware of my surroundings and the general atmosphere in a crowded area.

I never walk down back allies either out of fear that I might get beaten and mugged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Nothing too bad really, got into a bit of a scuffle with a few drunken Liverpool fans on a ferry one night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

I would've left after the grey haired guy went back into the pub to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Samich wrote: »
    Some bastad ate my face once, bit my ear off, half my lip and my nose.

Was that Hannibal Lectur, by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Yep,a few years back,got jumped on by 5 fella's coked up off their heads outside what was then Eamon Doran's in Temple Bar.

First punch knocked me to the ground,remember trying to cover my head as the boots were coming in and that's about it.Woke up with a Garda standing above telling me not to move and that an ambulance was on the way.

Ended up lucky enough,only got a bad concussion and I couldn't eat solid food for over a month cos my jaw was so sore.

All those years of my brother and my da kicking the shíte out of me paid off I guess!

joshrogan wrote: »
    I would've left after the grey haired guy went back into the pub to be honest.

Well the guy who was getting a hiding off the the grey haired guy was more of an aquaintance than a friend so I had no Idea it was an ongoing thing tbh.

But you're right. Probably would hav ebeen best to leave right then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Redlion

No.

I never get myself into confrontations when I'm out with friends. I never drink when I'm out either so there's a greater chance that I'll be more aware of my surroundings and the general atmosphere in a crowded area.
    Yep,a few years back,got jumped on by 5 fella's coked up off their heads outside what was then Eamon Doran's in Temple Bar.
    Don't need to drink for scum like these to jump ya, even if ya are aware of your surroundings. Generally find it's luck of the draw, wrong place at the wrong time sorta thing.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Some bastard tried to rob my car keys/car about 4 months ago, when i didn't give them up straight away i got a bit of a beating.

They didn't get the keys tho so was all good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

(twas a family fued thing apparently)

(yeah complete nutcase

ten minutes later about 15 big men run out
    4 of them who start beating me up
    sorry, my mistake

anyway, got a black eye once in school, and punched in the back of the head in a club by some guy with 'small-man-syndrome' but was never in a proper fight/ beaten up

Some bastard tried to rob my car keys/car about 4 months ago, when i didn't give them up straight away i got a bit of a beating.

Fair play Sir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

I can run REALLY ****ing fast when I need to, so never too bad. Did get into a wee punch up a few years ago coming home from a gig, some tracksuit wearing prick and his mate decided they wanted my music gear. I think I won because they didn't expect me to fight back, element of surprise and all that.

sorry, my mistake

Seriously, there were no Travellers involved. I'd never even spoke to a traveller until many years later. (If I'm honest I was full of prejudice about Travellers before I got to know some of them many years later in a work/college situation).

I was a young man when that thing happened so wasn't really aware of the history of the people I was hanging around with.

Had a big lump behind my ear from one of the kicks but pretty much got away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭markc1184

1 and a half times. First was in school, by a traveller, ended up with a broken jaw. The half time was outside a club, 3 little scummers jumped me from behind, pulled my top over my head to try and stop me fighting back. They got a few punches in until I got it off. One then ran off, one ran face first into a traffic light pole and the other into my mates size 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

Some a$$hole took a swing and connected with my cheekbone in a club one night, I was in bits, one of the fella's was asking him why he did it and he said he felt like it. Didnt know this guy from adam but what a dick. Had a bruised cheek for a while after. :(

Karona wrote: »
    Some a$$hole took a swing and connected with my cheekbone in a club one night

Random attack bastards.

What's up with that ****?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Fair play Sir.
    You do what ya must!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Many years ago i clobbered someone in a fight that i was dragged into. Unfortunately i got caught by this mongo & a few of his mates walking through his estate (now at the time i didn't know where he lived) but the funny thing is as i was getting kicked & punched from numerous directions i didn't really feel much nor did i have much evidence upon my person suggesting i had been in such an incident. Pure adrenaline does funny things.

The one thing i remember & im still proud of to this day is that he refused to fight me one on one which is what one of his scummer mates shouted out. Nah he wouldn't go one on one.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

I actually got battered by travellers. Those dudes know how to throw a punch. Usually in a fight you're so pumped up you dont really feel it but after a few digs I did not want any more of them.

Got jumped in Letterkenny two years ago and got a fairly bad one. Kinda deserved it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

Random attack bastards.

What's up with that ****?

I really don't know... think he just wanted to look tough.

Karona wrote: »
    I really don't know... think he just wanted to look tough.

They're the worst type imo. I mean it's not so bad if you put yourself in the situation but some scummer attacking an innocent bystander is just not on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,476 ✭✭✭Riddle101

This is going to be one of those threads that make me think about never leaving the house again;)

Riddle101 wrote: »
    This is going to be one of those threads that make me think about never leaving the house again;)

I'd say the risk of getting a hiding is pretty small statistcially.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭evry1sm8

What about girls? Any girls out there ever get jumped by other females?
    Im female myself and I never got beaten up, but I did get a slap across the face one time by a crazy girl in an apartment simply because I was sitting next to her BF who was making polite conversation with me and I was replying to be civil.
    Girls can be crazy!
    Obv she got chucked out immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

I only ever got into a fight once and the guy got cancer soon afterwards.

I was henceforth then only ever referred to as 'cancer fist' :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭coronaextra

I never got badly beaten but I got beaten up a couple of times.

Once I was standing outside a pub with a group of friends and I looked around and there was one of them getting his head bounced of a car bonnet by some grey haired guy (twas a family fued thing apparently).

Now yer man was laughing while he was being hammered by this grey haired guy (yeah complete nutcase) but he pushes the grey haired guy off him. So the grey haired guy goes back into the pub.

Anyhoo ten minutes later about 15 big men run out of the pub and start smackin heads. I legged it into a fast food place and get followed in by a bout 4 of them who start beating me up - I hit the floor and adopt the classic foetal position and thankfully the corridor is too narrow for them to get a good swing behind their kicks so I'm doing okay with the whole feotal position thing. Next thing I know I got picked up and flung out the door. I got up and just ran like the clappers.

There was another time but I'm sick of typing so I might do it later.

How about y'all?

:rolleyes: Talking when you should have been listening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

I only ever got into a fight once and the guy got cancer soon afterwards.

I was henceforth then only ever referred to as 'cancer fist' :(
    Are you female or male?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Are you female or male?

I'm female.

I should probably say I was also just referencing another thread in which this story was told and it made me laugh. A lot.

I've never actually been in a fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

Leaving work one night about 5am in the morning (reisidence bar) walking only 400m home three lads decided to kick the crap out of me. 7 bad hits to the face and I went down. that was when they stopped.
    If it happened again I would probably hit the floor after the first one.
    Made sh!te of my face and I was out of work for two weeks after

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

I got drunk one night a few years ago with a few people I really didn't know but it seemed I was really drunk and was told a few day's later that I done nothing and never started a problem with anyone and some person with steel-cap boots kicked my face in and left me with a large scar across my left eye and my jaw was broken clean in two places as well as severe bleeding inside my face.

but the strange thing was I never remembered a single thing and I was told some stranger walked me home and I went to bed and all I remember was ambulance men in my bedroom trying to help me into the ambulance and that was it. I wouldn't mind if I remembered something about what happened but i'm in the dark about it still. strange days huh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

I've never been in a fight. But I have been hit twice.... blocking punches for male friends. They usually end after a girl gets hit in the side of the head.

The first one was to prevent a friend already bleeding from taking another hit. Two groups of people coked up . I've never taken it so I don't know what mind frame your in for **** like this to happen but it wasnt nice and I don't think I'd go near something that would do that to me either. If drink made me aggressive i'd give it up.

The second time we were out in Dorans in Templebar and these business men start on my friend about his shirt. Just telling him it's disgusting.

We stand there saying nothing. The guy just lunges. I jump in.... push him away. He tries to go around me and I move in front of him again. His swing lands on the side of my head.

A few lads I didn't even know start screaming at him for hitting me and chase him down the street. Stupid of me to step in I know. But my friend was so drunk he could barely speak. A punch to the head would have knocked him out completely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Once, me and a mate were just walking over the canal at Suir Rd Luas Stop, and just happens a few lads jsut were just waiting there, so bit of a brawl until a mountain of lads run around, queue me being jumped by 7 ish lads and my mate the same, kicks in the head from a bloke standing on a railing, punches left right and centre, etc... but I'm proud to say I didn't fall to the deck nor did I shed any blood just two dodgy eyes one of which I couldn't see out of for a couple of days and a horrible headache.:cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 248 ✭✭I love Joan Burton

i beat myself off everyday