Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Paddy Power Shambles

• 25-08-2011 7:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭

Apologies mods for starting this, none of you were online to check with so I hope its ok.

Basic story is folks is that Paddy Power are screwing myself and a few others over following the Crystal Palace and Crawley match on Tue night last. Some people got paid out and a small few which include myself didnt. What we're looking to try and do is get an answer from them as to why that is and why we have been singled out to have our winnings taken away from us. If anyone here has a Twitter account please get on there and show us some support by tweeting to @paddypower, @AskPaddyPower or @PPOffers.

The full thread is located here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056367125

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Can't really feel sorry for you to be honest, of course if I was in your situation I'd be a bit disappointed! PP made an obvious mistake and are surely covered by their T&Cs, I'm just surprised they paid anybody out in the end!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

You tried to take advantage of a glitch, you were never getting paid. You'se were told in the thread at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Ammmmm tl:dr???

Any chance of a summery?

Degag wrote: »
    Ammmmm tl:dr???

Any chance of a summery?

Site started offering 25/1 and moving upwards on Palace +1 to win, was clearly meant to be 1/25. Site has it clearly stated in t+cs that price mistakes will be reversed. Facebook and twitter crybabies out in force.

bohsman wrote: »
    Site started offering 25/1 and moving upwards on Palace +1 to win, was clearly meant to be 1/25. Site has it clearly stated in t+cs that price mistakes will be reversed. Facebook and twitter crybabies out in force.
    Yeah, i'm reading through a bit of it. It's a relatively common mistake that the bookies make. Would have though most people in that forum would have known that and wouldn't cause such a fuss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Over 800 posts! Fúck that. Betfair FTW anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Gambling is for fools

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,218 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Gambling is for fools

And crazy horses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

You know why you didn't get your money so stop being silly. I'm even surprised they let the people who withdrew keep the money.

Talk to Joe or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

bohsman wrote: »
    You tried to take advantage of a glitch, you were never getting paid. You'se were told in the thread at the time.

Almost all of them did get paid.

Opr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭NoelJ

If you thought they were the actual odds I'd feel sorry for you. But you all knew they weren't and it was a genuine mistake. Its right they didn't pay out.

It'd be interesting to see if you typed in 1000 instead of 100 or something like that and emailed them before the game saying it was a mistake would they cancel it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭highgiant1985

Fully backing the bookies here. It was clearly an error and would never ever likely to have been the right odds you clearly knew this and had back it hoping to exploit it. Tough **** bookies right to not pay out if they wish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

People are completely right and no way he should have expected to get paid from this error. The OP I am sure had no one got paid have been happy to accept that it was and error and move on.

The thing is in this particular case most of the people who placed the bet did actually get paid some to the tune of nearly 3k. Paddy Power also sent this to those customers.
    Dear ____,

As you've no doubt already noticed, we screwed up royally during last night's Crystal Palace v Crawley Town Carling Cup game. We made a huge error with one of our prices and although it's within our rules to claim palpable error and take the money back, we're doing the decent thing and letting you hang on to the cash.

We've written it off, given the staff member involved the obligatory flogging and the upshot of it is the money is all yours to keep. Paddy Power won't be calling around to your house with Dog The Bounty Hunter to reclaim his cash. And just to reassure the more paranoid punters out there, your name hasn't been added to Paddy's list of enemies and you categorically WILL NOT be pursued further should you bet with Paddy Power in future.

Enjoy your winnings and all the best,

The team at Paddy Power

I think the OP has a little right to feel aggrieved given he was the one that alerted people to the rick, although some would argue its some sort of strange justice. I can't imagine many here wouldn't feel the same given PP have happily wrote the debt off for most.

It doesn't seem to have been arbitrarily decided who got to keep the money and seems to be the ones who had already withdrawn before PP noticed the mess and thus they would have had a much harder job trying to get the money back from them.

I did post this very early on in the thread and still wonder if its the case given what has subsequently happened.
    opr wrote: »
    btw Its called palpable error in the industry. You can read more about it here.

http://www.moremoneyreview.com/palpable-error-7227.html

I always thought it was something the industry used as a means of rectifying mistakes and is a generally accepted practice but I am not sure how it holds up in an actual court of law. So if they are still able to rectify the mistake they will use palpable error as a reason but once the money gets into your account I am not so sure how willing they will be to test the palpable error in a court of law to get the money back.

Opr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Lads, ffs the bookies are wrong here for the simple reason that they payed out most people after the mistake, but failed to do so for a small amount of people.

That is obviously the point. If nobody got paid at all, it wouldn't be an issue.

And LMAO off that those feeling aggrieved that the OP tried to pull a fast one on the bookies, PP are pulling fast ones every day of the week and are getting away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭NoelJ

If they paid out some people and admitted their error and wont pay out on others it seems unfair. Good luck to you. Hope it works out well in the end!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,960 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Blatter wrote: »
    Lads, ffs the bookies are wrong here for the simple reason that they payed out most people after the mistake, but failed to do so for a small amount of people.

That is obviously the point. If nobody got paid at all, it wouldn't be an issue.

An LMAO off that those feeling aggrieved that the OP tried to pull a fast one on the bookies, PP are pulling fast ones every day and get away with it.

Its nice to see someone finally sees it

there's hope for this forum yet :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Fully backing the bookies here. It was clearly an error and would never ever likely to have been the right odds you clearly knew this and had back it hoping to exploit it. Tough **** bookies right to not pay out if they wish.

Disagree.

If a mistake was made then they are within their rights to refuse payment. However, they can't selectively choose who to pay and who not to based on the size of the bet. Half of the people have their bet honored and the other half don't? screw that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,077 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

Would Paddy have given the money back to punters in the unlikely event that Palace lost 4-2?? I doubt it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

The point to this is obvious. Paddy Power made a mistake, chose to get some good Pr out of it by letting the punters keep the money. But by not letting everyone keep it...probably just for the sake of a couple of grand - peanuts to them, they are opening themselves up to a lot of unnecessary grief.

And seriously, the worst thing about boards.ie is the hypocritical do-gooders. In this case jealous people who wished that they had a chance to get one up on paddy power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,461 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

And LMAO off that those feeling aggrieved that the OP tried to pull a fast one on the bookies, PP are pulling fast ones every day of the week and are getting away with it.

when the only person that makes sense in here is called Blatter you know there is no hope;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭bit of a bogey

NoelJ wrote: »
    If you thought they were the actual odds I'd feel sorry for you. But you all knew they weren't and it was a genuine mistake. Its right they didn't pay out.

It'd be interesting to see if you typed in 1000 instead of 100 or something like that and emailed them before the game saying it was a mistake would they cancel it.

If I had typed in 1000 intead of a 100 and the bet lost, would paddy power return the 900 euro once I explained to them I had made a mistake!

I know the answer so whats the difference!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

L'prof wrote: »
    Can't really feel sorry for you to be honest, of course if I was in your situation I'd be a bit disappointed! PP made an obvious mistake and are surely covered by their T&Cs, I'm just surprised they paid anybody out in the end!

im surprised as well....

just goes to show how much full the coffers of pp and co are...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

But did they not start paying everybody, realise their mistake and then attempted to cancel the payment?

Is it just those who were quick enough to withdraw the winnings that got the cash? Or was it completely random? Or did only those that put a small stake on get paid?

If I had typed in 1000 intead of a 100 and the bet lost, would paddy power return the 900 euro once I explained to them I had made a mistake!

I know the answer so whats the difference!!!

The bets should be paid out at the proper price, 1/25 instead of 25/1 etc so a losing bet would still be a losing bet.

In this case it seems people are begrudging the people that managed to get funds off the site and are now being allowed to keep them. Would youse really be happier if PP held all those people with a negative balance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

I am convinced i only got paid because my withdrawal couldnt be reversed anymore.
    I left €25 in my account which i never saw again after PP tried to clean up the mess.
    They didnt pay anyone out of goodwill, they just couldnt stop transfers for everybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

opr wrote: »

I think the OP has a little right to feel aggrieved given he was the one that alerted people to the rick, although some would argue its some sort of strange justice.

PP have a big internet interest, i seriously doubt that wasnt deliberate and good enough tbh.

Greedy OP should have kept it to himself but wanted to be cool on an internet forum.

brilliant email by PP btw :D

Wait, I thought only the people who got the funds out got to keep. Everyone else got their bets cancelled?

In what way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

RasTa wrote: »
    In what way?

offering odds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

dreamers75 wrote: »
    offering shoite odds*.

FYP

* not including +2's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mezcita

I'm surprised they paid anyone at all on this. Their rules on palpable errors are rock solid and this must have surely cost them a few quid.

But the argument that the OP should get paid (as it was him who tipped the forum off about this) is balls to be honest. Also ridiculous is that PP pull fast ones every day of the week and therefore deserve to get scammed. If people think they are gangsters there are plenty of other bookies to bet with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

If the OP did tip the forum to the mistake why doesn't he set up a paypal account and leave it up for any users that got money from it to give him some "thanks" ;)

Mezcita wrote: »

But the argument that the OP should get paid (as it was him who tipped the forum off about this) is balls to be honest. Also ridiculous is that PP pull fast ones every day of the week and therefore deserve to get scammed.

That's how most posters on the gambling forum think, drool city.

FYP

* not including +2's

Hah speaking of welching, some cheek posting in this thread.

I think this is all wrong and i think i would admit to it even if i was apart of it. I hate how people seem to be taking the moral high ground even when they are obviously wrong. At the same time i've no problem with people who got lucky and got paid, but just admit it - you got lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

ShooterSF wrote: »
    If the OP did tip the forum to the mistake why doesn't he set up a paypal account and leave it up for any users that got money from it to give him some "thanks" ;)

That has been done... sort of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,457 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

OP hasn't a leg to stand on here. He tried to get paid on a mistake and it didn't work. Doesn't matter if others got paid, there must have been a good reason why. And this is from somebody who despises PP and would never bet one cent with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Ok guys, I can't speak from PP's point of view, but as someone that works in the industry all I can say to the OP is you don't have a leg to stand on. Palpable errors happen every single day, and bookies almost never pay out on them. Sure, sometimes you can get lucky, but the whole reason they are in place is to protect against obvious errors.

I haven't even read the other thread but if its a palp then PP have absolutely no reason to pay out. The only reason they would pay out is for marketing reasons... which is something they seem to enjoy doing. This is probably the reason they paid out on some and not others, they were willing to take a small loss for the free marketing, but not pay out on the big winners.